We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing FOOD!”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #21 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Restaurants/Food:

We dined for lunch here - They have a very small vegetarian menu but the food was fantastic. Perhaps they could add a few more options to the menu at some point. The restaurant was beautifully decorated with tasteful furniture. My husband and I were impressed with the taste and freshness of the meal along with it's presentation. We could not find any fault with this cosy place! Highly recommend walking around and taking photos. The grounds are simply breathtaking!

Staff:

The staff are polite and extremely well mannered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poojie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 501 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at La Petite Ferme on our honeymoon and could not have been happier. Excellent service. Lovely rooms, overlooking the vineyards with plunge pool. Managed to eat there for lunch and it was one of the most memorable meals of our lives. Very luxurious pace, with lunch, break to relax in their lawn, back to the table for dessert. A few things to know -- is a little bit out of town, so you'll either need to drive yourself back and forth or get a cab, which I recall being a little pricey. Even if you don't stay here, you absolutely must eat here. In an area full of world class meals, La Petite Ferme stands out. (Note -- stayed there in 2007; writing review very late).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have had lunch here before years ago and decided last minute to spend the night in Franschoek. Manager on reception very helpful and we were very happy with the price for our stay in the Africa Suite. Well appointed room with great walk in shower, comfortable big bed and gas fire ( didn't use that as weather beautiful for late winter, 24 deg)Great setting with beautiful views over the valley. Great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner ( Monneaux) by manager. Breakfast very nice, recommend scrambled eggs with smoked trout. Left with a few lovely bottles of their Syrah, alas no time to stay for the wine tour at 1100........ Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Suites at front of property have lovely views and small individual pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A great meal. A great view and a great value! I can't say enough, how much we enjoyed our meals here. After a nice day touring wine country, this was a perfect stop. Make sure you go out and take pictured of the incredible view! The lamb was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtraveler5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thought we would splash out on a last minute trip to Francshhoek during Bastille Weekend. The accommodation was very cosy with excellent, large and comfortable bed. There is a coffee making 'station' with real coffee and mineral water in the fridge too. The very effective gas fire added to the romance of the evenings with cheese and fizz delivered from the restaurant at short notice. There is a little plunge pool on the terrace in front of the apartment with amazing views over the valley. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my Father's Day treat with the family. The view from all the tables are spectacular. It overlooks the Franschhoek Valley and on a great day like we had, you can see for miles. There is a limited choice of sitting outside, but if you are indoors the majority of large windows open up to give you a feeling of being outside. Small but great menu for both adults and kids. The food was fantastic as was the service. Nice selection of local wines and cheese to finish of the meal. A place you must book at as it is very popular. If you are having lunch, keep the rest of the afternoon open as it is a great place to just sit and take in the view over a glass or two of wine.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Combined 1100am tour and tasting with lunch afterwards.
Personal informative and very honest tour by owner.
Real family business and a lot to be proud of.
Everything flowed beautifully.
No hard sell over wines compared to other larger wineries.
Staff very helpful and lunch excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
12.6 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $194 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing