We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop on our honeymoon”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #16 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

... and it delivered in spades. Absolutely fantastic. Private suite with plunge pool overlooking the vineyards and entirely secluded. Short stroll up to the restaurant for fantastic lunch of which warthog bresaola and kudu steak were the highlights. Truly first class wine and all at a reasonable(ish) price. Cannot recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Only 2 or 3 rooms available. Book well in advance.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for La Petite Ferme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 471 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as a second honeymoon and were really happy with everything. We arrived early for check in and although we had not booked for lunch, they made a table available for us which really shows they care about guests that are staying with them.

Lunch was delicious, my husband had the smoked trout and I had the lamb, both house specials, both divine! The lamb was a bit too large a portion for me but my husband was more than happy to finish it. Breakfast was lovely, delicious smoothie. We had lunch the second day after wine tasting, which was once again divine. We had tea/coffee after lunch in the garden which was truly relaxing.

Wine tour was the most structured, informative and interesting tour I have ever done. It is largely based around the tour itself with some tasting at the end, it really was fantastic.

Accommodation was lovely as expected. We stayed in the Africa suite which had it's own little plunge pool which was perfect, views were fantastic.

Service was excellent, we sadly booked a little late on so we could only stay 2 night, very sad that it couldn't have been longer!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We discovered this wonderful restaurant due to a recommendation of our hosts from DongolaHouse in Constantia and it was really a treasure!

Great views from the pass road over franschhoek valley with all it's vineyards.
Perfect and extraordinary services! We didn't had a reservation, but even that they were fully booked - they find a possiblitiy for us and supports us to have lunch there.

Very high food quality with a great selection of local specialties.

If you're in Franschhoek - make a stop and take in mimimun a glass of wine with a break in the breathtaking garden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Only the sauvignon blanc was really outstanding....The food was ridiculous. We had the lamb, an speciality of the house. Oily and boring. it comes with 3 little babycorn...in the menu 'baby vegetables'...and mash potatoes without any spices. We just come back for the wine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Friederike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Maybe getting a bit big to be able to give that personal attention,felt like that....but on the other hand -they know how to poach an egg ,and the orange juice is freshly squeezed ...
Maybe silly but I just can not stand when I get an egg poached in a form. It says about attention and skill in the kitchen.
Would be even better with WiFi in rooms.

Room Tip: First we had a look at the cottages opposite the street which we would not reccomend.Can be noisy fr...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

La Petite Ferme is a working vinyard on the edge of Franschhoek. It has excellent accommodation and an outstanding restaurant. It is very much an old family establishment run by the John and Mark Dendy Young. We stayed four days and would have been happy to stay much longer. The lodge accommodation consisted of a large room with all the facilities required as well as two comfortably appointed bedrooms. Breakfast set one up for the day. The restaurant is only open for lunch although there are occasional jazz evenings on a Friday. The menu will suit all palates and there is a variety of owner produced wine available. The cap classic was the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but be sure to enquire if any evening functions are scheduled as the jazz ev...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had all eaten here in the past and found everything it's billed up to be. Once again the food was first class. Wonderful flavours and texture. Service as normal attentative without being over intrusive. However, we did have a number of small complaints. Our table was outside under a tree. For the first twenty minutes after we sat down there were a group sat close by having a wine tasting. The leader spoke continuesly in such a loud voice it was difficult for us to hold a conversation. Several people on adjourning tables left there tables to smoke. Unfortunetly they stood downwind from us with the result we were regularly breathing in their smoke. Finally it was school holidays and a number of children were there, not eating but playing all around us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $213 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing