We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #19 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
2 reviews
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are staying here on honeymoon. Such a beautiful setting. Kind helpful people at the front desk. The owner is friendly and took us on a cellar tour which was very informative. They have award winning wines. Highly recommend the lodges on the hill. We stayed at Micky Finn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyladyBistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    121
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
283
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night in "Maison" which is one of their cheaper options. Perhaps a little rustic round the edges, Maison was very comfortable and has a loveley view across the valley. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent. Maison sleeps 2 couples comfortably and there are two single beds in a mezzanine area suitable for a couple of children. There's a plunge pool outside. The cottage is equipped for self catering. My only negative is that the outside of the main restaurant/accom building looks a bit untidy when you drive in which doesn't bother me too much but might affect those looking for a location for a special celebration.

Room Tip: Maison was quiet - and seemed to be well away from other accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaverickMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place I have to say, just annoys me now.

I originally booked one night here for my birthday last year because I wanted that truly special view and somewhere out in the country. I got there only to find out they had given the room to someone else (I had paid the deposit and I was not checking in late!). They had no other accommodation to give me and only made a feeble attempt to help us find something else (a place in town which was a bit rundown and with no view at all which was very disappointing given that I had traveled far to be there and was so excited for the experience on my birthday).

The lady in charge was not even apologetic and did not seem to care about the mix up at all. Later when we got home we did complain and our deposit was refunded rather quickly (I will give the owner credit for that at least). We also got a voucher. We ended up using it later that year (when I had gotten over being so angry about what had happened) and the views were indeed amazing. However, the friends with us had room issues that time around. Everything else seemed fine though so I thought I would give them another chance.

Now in trying to book with them again the other day (for my sister's visit) because I wanted the view more than I cared about service, I had such unfriendly and unhelpful assistance that I changed my mind right then and there and decided that no matter how nice the view, I will never EVER go back to La Petite Ferme again. Seriously. They need to learn what customer service means! I am not a picky person by nature......you have to be seriously rude or callous to get that statement from me. So there it is.

I hope they get their act together in the future. It is rather a shame to lose out on that view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopelessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

To have a wine tasting tour of a vineyard with the guy responsible for winning this vineyard all it's awards was the icing on the cake for this amazing place. The food is to die for breakfast, but especially lunch (but dont forget to book as it is very popular). The wines are divine and the accomodation is honeymoon/trip of a lifetime standard. There's a few little bits I would have changed but it wouldn't stop me going again. Transport too / from village could have been provided for before/after dinner in town but apart from that I would deffo recommend to everyone I know. It was magical! Thanks Mark for a wonderful tour, you inspired us.

Room Tip: We had a suite looking over the vineyards with private pool. I swear this view could not be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linzijoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked late for lunch and had to sit in the garden - what a chore!
They set up a table on an elevated terrace overlooking the dramatic lawn slope and facing the valley and mountain backdrop. Gently shaded from the sun and on a beautiful spring day - where else could you want to be
The food was fantastic, we took the recommended options and wines and were not disappointed
After lunch we slept it off in the sun before heading back to Cape Town
Other places in Franschoek may have more impressive credentials, but at lunchtime you would not want to miss La Petite Ferme

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldDownHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from Cape Town. While I was there I went to La Petite Ferme in Franschhoek, approximately 35Km from Cape Town. This restaurant belongs to a Wine Estate and is nestled between beautiful landscapes.
The food menu is small but very selected and there are daily Specials. I had the Chicken Liver Pâté to start with and it was amazing. My main course was the rib eye steak which I enjoyed very much. The wine list is extensive and each wine was available by the glass as well.
The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. I very much enjoyed my meal and I definitely will be back the next time I'm in South Africa.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Close to the beautiful village of Franschhoek sits "La petite ferme", a fantastic hotel and restaurant. I visited in August 2012 (winter time) and I was delighted with the place, the panoramic view over the valley with majestic mountains on the back. Food and wine are esquisite and the service is perfect...with a great smile on each face. I will specifically recommend to try the stuffed aubergine with lamb and a glass of the great shiraz produced locally, and to finish tatste the home made Malva pudding,,,

If you are around Cape Town, don't miss a visit to Franschhoek and the "Petite ferme".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Property: La Petite Ferme
Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing