We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place overlooking Winelands”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #16 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2011

It's a beautiful place on the way to Franschoek pass, restaurant and rooms are overlooking the Valley. People with more expertise should praise wine, I'll praise the rooms. We stayed in the new house and had the Verandah Suite - terrific!

The Room was big and nice, bathroom too. But the outstanding thing was the Veranda with a huge fireplace outdoor. We spent the whole night there and definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed one night only at this delightfully sited hotel but had a very poor meal and received poor attention to complaints. When the country has so many great places to stay at, why risk a poor experience? Clearly they have too much business.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenways11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We spent 5 nights at La Petite Ferme in February 2011. Our overwhelming impression was that the establishment is poorly managed, which is a pity given its commanding views over the valley.

Illustrations of poor management were:

- We were not advised that the rooms we had booked had been downgraded.

- the price quoted when we booked was 30% higher than the rack rate when we arrived. It was not pointed out to us and we found out by chance. We were told it was an error due to the down-grading of the rooms. However when we left there was still an attempt to charge the higher rate for one of the nights.

- We stayed in a Lakeside Lodge overlooking the trout lake. In an apartment for 4 people we found 2 dinner plates and 3 side plates.

- On the verandah – for 4 people we found a table with 3 (rather tatty) wooden chairs and only 2 deckchairs.

- There are wonderful views but these were substantially obscured by a large un-pruned shrub.

- There was a persistent problem in supplying coffee at breakfast and on one occasion there was no coffee dispenser between 9.07 and 9.19, much to the frustration of waiting guests. Why not have 2 dispensers?

- Best not to have breakfast alongside the kitchen because breakfast time seemed to be when cutlery was washed and stored with much clattering and chatting from the staff.

- The website does not explain that the lakeside apartments are some 500 metres away across a main road. The access road has a steep ascent (perhaps 1 in 4 in places) which infirm people would not be able to climb. This would mean using a car to drive to and from breakfast. This is not explained on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I visited the restaurant mid way through a wine tour and loved it! I currently live in Dubai and the standard of food at this resturant with the freshness and flavours easily matches our best restaurants at a 3rd of the price.

I had the soup for starters and the lamb for main course. The lamb was so tender and melted in the mouth. The views over the hillside were a perfect setting to enjoy the meal.

The service was ok if not a bit on the slow side for taking orders and bringing the bill etc.. but other then that we left happy customers and would defo visit this restaurant again

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catchy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages for a few nights and had a great stay. The cottage was very wel kept with a fully stocked and impressive kitchen. The bedrooms were very nicely decorated and we also had our own sitting area. Outside on the verandah we had the most incredible view over the valley, we also had our own private pool and great lounging area. The cottage was very spacious and very well kept. We went on a cellar tour with John and were given plenty of wine to sample. The lunch was fantastic and the service was great. Breakfast was also included and was very good. We would recommend staying in the cottages as they are very spacious and set slightly away from the main building surrounded by the vineyards, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We had great expections which were unfortunately not met.
We stayed in the cottages VISTA and CHAMPAGNE for a number of days which definitely need a good portion of repair and refurbishment inside and outside. The pools which look so lovely on the photos in the internet have not been properly cleaned for some time.
The staff at breakfast is unfriendly (arrogant) and very slow.
Friday night is very noisy indeed. Reason is a special event held at the hotel with life music. You either go there and participate or you stay in your cottage with no chance to find a rest. If you dine in town you have no chance to find a parking place in darkness after your return although you are a resident.
The sunloungers and the umbrella on the private terrace are shabby and very dirty and certainly not inviting. We did not use them.
Certainly not a place to recommend. A typical example where promises in the internet are not adhered to.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssenbachBayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in one of La Petite Ferme's Grand Provence Suites as part of a 2 week trip to the Western Cape. Loved every minute, especially the Friday night live band dinner on the verandah (which was clearly a bit of a locals' institution). The food wasn't brilliant but it was more about the sociable atmos and dancing than anything else. Ability to sunbathe next to the plunge pool with our feet in he vines after a hard morning's wine tasting was another highlight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XavierMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $263 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing