We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Sunny Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Lane
Ranked #36 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Had the smaller apartment for 2 nights & really enjoyed our stay. Weather was very good so weren't in the apartment much, but slept well! Enjoyed relaxing round the pool after a day out & about.

Short walk to the main road with excellent cafés and restaurants.

Would definitely stay again & recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiverseTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
62
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I tried to book a stay at Sunny Lane in December two years ago, but the establishment was fully booked at the time. We're so glad we booked early enough this time round, as Sunny Lane really was the ideal place to stay in Franschhoek.

We chose the smaller of the two apartments because we knew we'd spend most of our time out and about, but it was actually perfect for a couple. The space is small, but because it's been well laid out, it doesn't feel cramped. The large patio space and French doors that open out from the apartment also make the space feel bigger.

The furnishings are tasteful and the kitchenette had everything we needed (from a toaster to wine glasses, and even citronella candles for keeping the mosquitoes away). The room also had an ironing board and iron, as well as select DSTV channels on the TV and a standing fan. Barbara had kindly supplied a file with information on Franschhoek, as well as brochures on attractions in the area.

We had access to the lovely swimming pool (such a bonus in the hot weather!) and enjoyed the company of the most charming black and white cat, Popcorn.

Barbara was friendly and helpful, but was also careful to give all her guests plenty of privacy and space (there was a family occupying the larger apartment while we were there too).

Sunny Lane is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants in town, and we'd really recommend it for anyone looking to stay in Franschhoek. Clean, great value for money and very pretty too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spent a very pleasant 3 nights in Sunny Lane in December 2013 in the smaller of the two self catering rooms. It was simply equipped with everything I needed. Loved the small patio overlooking the garden and the company provided by the family cat. Barbara was friendly and helpful. 2 min walk to the centre of the village. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We choose one of the most dreadful weekend weather wise to go away for a weekend but the minute we arrived at Sunny Lane felt at home! We had a most comfortable stay with cosy under floor heating in the bedroom, comfy bed, hotel package DSTV in the lounge where my husband could enjoy watching sport and every other amenity to think of to make one's stay comfortable and relaxing - even a coffee machine! The location is wonderful, almost in the centre of Town and one can walk around to browse the shops, restaurants, pubs etc and you are also surrounded by all the wonderful wine farms in Franschhoek. I told the host, Barbara, that we will defnitely be back to enjoy the outdoors area, ie. pool, garden etc with the rest of my family. Thank you Sunny Lane for recharging our batteries!! Anita Jenkinson

Room Tip: The larger unit has a separate lounge which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Highly recommended! Perfect accommodation, a culinary feast on your doorstep or if you want to, you can cook at home! Short pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Underfloor heating in winter is great! Lovely little cottage and friendly cats! Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time we treat ourselves to a break in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505lynda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a little gem to find in wonderful Franschhoek - a charming little apartment in a beautiful situation, just a few minutes walk from the main street, well equipped and a swimming pool too. A perfect base for exploring the fabulous Western Cape and the winelands in particular. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully will be back. Enjoyed the company of the friendly cat.

Mike & Maggie, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Book early. We got the feeling that Sunny Lane has a number of regular customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghScotsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sunny Lane was a lovely well situated appartment in Franschhoek. Barbara was a very discreet but friendly owner, and being on holiday on my own, I felt safe, secure and very happy there. I had the larger of the two appartments which was huge for one person and had everything I needed, but the crowning glory was the lovely patio just outside, with the vine-covered pergola.
I would happily recommend, and go back myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#27 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#21 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lane

Property: Sunny Lane
Address: 30 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Lane consists of two elegant self-catering studios situated in the heart of Franschhoek, South Africa. Affordably priced, Sunny Lane has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the "food and wine capital" of South Africa. In winter, underfloor heating will keep you warm while you can cool down in our beautiful swimming pool in summer. The studios are fully equipped and also have satellite television and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Lane Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing