We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, sunny stay”
Review of Sunny Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Lane
Ranked #37 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I tried to book a stay at Sunny Lane in December two years ago, but the establishment was fully booked at the time. We're so glad we booked early enough this time round, as Sunny Lane really was the ideal place to stay in Franschhoek.

We chose the smaller of the two apartments because we knew we'd spend most of our time out and about, but it was actually perfect for a couple. The space is small, but because it's been well laid out, it doesn't feel cramped. The large patio space and French doors that open out from the apartment also make the space feel bigger.

The furnishings are tasteful and the kitchenette had everything we needed (from a toaster to wine glasses, and even citronella candles for keeping the mosquitoes away). The room also had an ironing board and iron, as well as select DSTV channels on the TV and a standing fan. Barbara had kindly supplied a file with information on Franschhoek, as well as brochures on attractions in the area.

We had access to the lovely swimming pool (such a bonus in the hot weather!) and enjoyed the company of the most charming black and white cat, Popcorn.

Barbara was friendly and helpful, but was also careful to give all her guests plenty of privacy and space (there was a family occupying the larger apartment while we were there too).

Sunny Lane is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants in town, and we'd really recommend it for anyone looking to stay in Franschhoek. Clean, great value for money and very pretty too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spent a very pleasant 3 nights in Sunny Lane in December 2013 in the smaller of the two self catering rooms. It was simply equipped with everything I needed. Loved the small patio overlooking the garden and the company provided by the family cat. Barbara was friendly and helpful. 2 min walk to the centre of the village. Good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We choose one of the most dreadful weekend weather wise to go away for a weekend but the minute we arrived at Sunny Lane felt at home! We had a most comfortable stay with cosy under floor heating in the bedroom, comfy bed, hotel package DSTV in the lounge where my husband could enjoy watching sport and every other amenity to think of to make one's stay comfortable and relaxing - even a coffee machine! The location is wonderful, almost in the centre of Town and one can walk around to browse the shops, restaurants, pubs etc and you are also surrounded by all the wonderful wine farms in Franschhoek. I told the host, Barbara, that we will defnitely be back to enjoy the outdoors area, ie. pool, garden etc with the rest of my family. Thank you Sunny Lane for recharging our batteries!! Anita Jenkinson

Room Tip: The larger unit has a separate lounge which is great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Highly recommended! Perfect accommodation, a culinary feast on your doorstep or if you want to, you can cook at home! Short pleasant walk to shops & restaurants. Underfloor heating in winter is great! Lovely little cottage and friendly cats! Will definitely book again at Sunny Lane next time we treat ourselves to a break in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505lynda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a little gem to find in wonderful Franschhoek - a charming little apartment in a beautiful situation, just a few minutes walk from the main street, well equipped and a swimming pool too. A perfect base for exploring the fabulous Western Cape and the winelands in particular. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully will be back. Enjoyed the company of the friendly cat.

Mike & Maggie, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Book early. We got the feeling that Sunny Lane has a number of regular customers.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghScotsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sunny Lane was a lovely well situated appartment in Franschhoek. Barbara was a very discreet but friendly owner, and being on holiday on my own, I felt safe, secure and very happy there. I had the larger of the two appartments which was huge for one person and had everything I needed, but the crowning glory was the lovely patio just outside, with the vine-covered pergola.
I would happily recommend, and go back myself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Perfect little studio apartment, extremely well equipped and two blocks from the main street. Barbara & co were available nearby if we had any questions but were otherwise discreet (which is fine – it’s an apartment, not a hotel!) They supplied us with a little braai on request and it was nice to self cater for a few days after 2 weeks of indulgence, we also used the little swimming pool & loungers which was great. The price was very fair, especially for Franschhoek and we would definitely recommend Sunny Lane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#50 of 64 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage
Laurel Cottage
#53 of 64 in Franschhoek
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lane

Address: 30 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $43 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Lane consists of two elegant self-catering studios situated in the heart of Franschhoek, South Africa. Affordably priced, Sunny Lane has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the "food and wine capital" of South Africa. In winter, underfloor heating will keep you warm while you can cool down in our beautiful swimming pool in summer. The studios are fully equipped and also have satellite television and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Lane Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing