We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that's it”
Review of Sunny Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunny Lane
Ranked #36 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed with Sunny Lane for 2 days and that was well enough. The owner wasn't even there when we arrived so the maid let us in. When she did arrive home, she wasn't the least interested in us and didn't even bother to come in with us to make sure everything was ok. The room was fine, but the bathroom was a different story - it was old, it smelt and there were always flies sitting on the toilet seat which didn't make me want to use it. The power went off for 2 hours every night and since it's self catering, we had our own food there obivously but at no stage were we offered any type of help to try and keep the food cold. The last night we went out for a meal and by the time we came back, the owner still hadn't tried to be in contact with us to collect the money we owed them for our 2 night stay - I had to go and try and find them myself to ask them if they did really want us to pay?!? We were leaving early the next day and we could have just left without paying because they paid no attention to us what so ever. It was cheap and the location was great, but nothing else and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone nor will I be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Nickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxs, owner at Sunny Lane, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2009

I am sorry that I was not available at the time to meet and greet the guests - I usually do make a point of making contact with our guests after they have arrived, but I also am sensitive to giving people the space they want.
With regard to the electricity, unfortunately at that time in South Africa, everyone was experiencing "rolling black outs" due to a national electricty crisis. We would lose power every second day for two hours. I dispute the fact that this would have happened "every day" while these guests were with us. Because everyone was similarly afflicted - restaurants included - it would have been difficult to offer to "keep food cold".
Finally, I am pleased that the guest found the room "fine", but am sorry she found the toilet "smelly and old". Sunny Lane has been operating for seven years, and during this time, we have frequently upgraged and repainted (most recently we painted our suites in Sept 2008). I take cleanliness very seriously, and am happy to refer you to other reviews on other websites which comment on our cleanliness. Unlike most self-catering establishments, our suites are serviced on a daily basis during the week. Flies are also an issue in the heat of summer in Franschhoek, and one can only do one's best to control them, which we do.
Sunny Lane offers very affordable, neat and clean accommodation, and I invite you to come and try it for yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2006

We stayed here for two nights in May 2006. We stayed in the larger of the two units. The unit was larger than what we expected with an all in one lounge, dining room and kitchen - all of which was very well equipped. The bedroom was large with windows on every wall! The bathroom had a bath and a large shower. Outside there was a pool, however, it could have done with a bit of clean but we were there at the end of their 'season' so it was a bit cold to go for a swim anyway.

The location is excellent as it's just off the main street where all the restaurants and shops area. There is off road parking outside the house.

The only downside to this property is that owners, whose house is attached to the unit, own a dog who likes to bark at night - together with a few other dogs in the neighbourhood so we found ourselves woken up both nights by the barking. Other than that though, it's an ideal location, very good value for money and if you ask for the larger unit I'm sure there'll be more than enough room for you (and there's a bed settee in the lounge if you need an extra bed).

Franschoek is a lovely town in itself and well worth a visit.

5  Thank Bintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxs, owner at Sunny Lane, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2009

Fortunately, the owners of the dogs next door have moved away, and taken their dogs with them. Our Labrador now sleeps inside at night and this seems to have solved the barking problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 50svenjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hute90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank tinane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 88hartmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jojo05rtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#49 of 65 in Franschhoek
53 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 65 in Franschhoek
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lane

Address: 30 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $51 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Lane consists of two elegant self-catering studios situated in the heart of Franschhoek, South Africa. Affordably priced, Sunny Lane has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the "food and wine capital" of South Africa. Air-conditioning in both studios will keep you warm in winter and cool in summer. You can also cool down in our beautiful swimming pool in summer. The studios are fully equipped and also have satellite television and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunny Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Lane Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing