We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, spacious, well-equipped and an easy walk to town”
Review of Sunny Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Lane
Ranked #37 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Sunny lane is excellent value. We stayed for three nights in the larger cottage in May 2012, and found it wonderfully spacious, warm and clean. The underfloor heating worked a treat and the cotton sheets and good mattress were great. The bathroom is huge and lovely. Several books and brochures about the attractions of the town helped us select restaurants we wanted to try. Tucked back a bit from the bustle of the main road, the cottages are an easy and pleasant walk past beautifully maintained homes and gardens to the centre of the village.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Sunny Lane, the charlet was very clean and everything that you would need in a self-catering charlet. The small kitchen has all the necessary for you to prepare a meal. The location is also very close to town and we walked to the shops and restaurants! We also had a lovely braai and we will definitely be coming back to Sunny Lane.

Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in Feb2011 and had a most wonderful stay. The location is easy to find, has plenty of parking and is within easy and safe walking distance to food and shops. Many wineries are within biking, driving or even walking distance. We're from the US and the owner was very helpful in advance via email and allowed us to pay once we were there instead of ahead of time. We never actually met the owner during our stay, but the house cleaner was around and we were able to arrange for payment easily. The town is very charming and if we get the chance we will definitely be back and stay at Sunny Lane! Having a small kitchen with all the amenities we needed was a great way to make our vacation affordable. We stayed in the smaller room I believe but still had plenty of space. There's a lovely private porch area in the garden that is peaceful and a beautiful place for breakfast. The pool was a nice treat as well. It really was a perfect place to stay for us. We were amazed at the quality of the experience for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissatruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We spent three nights at Sunny Lane in Franschhoek in the heart of South Africa's Western Cape wine country. It's on a quiet residential street within a 10 minute walk of food, coffee, wine, groceries and craft/fashion shops. The sitting room/kitchen and bedroom were large, airy, clean and well-furnished. The mattress was delightfully firm. The swimming pool was just beyond the vine-covered porch with its reading chairs. We wanted self-catering and everything we needed was there. Lots of hot water in the shower. It's all set in a garden. We'll stay there again if we return to South African wine country.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We booked both units at Sunny Lane so that we could holiday with my son, daughter-in-law and young granddaughter (18 months old). It was an excellent choice.
Having both units meant that three generations were not on top of each other and able to e.g. eat at different times.
Barbara Hawthorn, the owner, was most helpful in finding a cot that we could borrow, making sure that we had everything we needed for a peaceful stay, answering questions about this and that and generally being caring without being oppressive.
Sunny Lane, is well situated near in Franschhoek, near the village centre. It is well maintained and equipt, cleaned daily with clean towels and the beds chqanged frequently. We had almost exclusive use of the clean family swimming pool.
All round excellent value for money we will be booking to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyandkevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed here on recommendation of some friends, and they were right! The town itself is much commented on, and we were not surprised to enjoy the food, the scenery & the nearby golf. (On a practical note, La Laundry in the Pic-n-Pay parking lot is a good place to get holiday laundry done) There are lot of self-catering places around, but Sunny Lane offers the best balance of charm and convenience. We had the larger of the 2 units, with separate lounge-kitchen and a shady veranda. The decor was modern African and nicely done. There was tons of storage space for luggage, et al. The pool was cold but refreshing. The owners were there if you needed them. It was the cheapest place we stayed in our two-week trip, yet it's the one we'll remember most fondly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroad164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed with Sunny Lane for 2 days and that was well enough. The owner wasn't even there when we arrived so the maid let us in. When she did arrive home, she wasn't the least interested in us and didn't even bother to come in with us to make sure everything was ok. The room was fine, but the bathroom was a different story - it was old, it smelt and there were always flies sitting on the toilet seat which didn't make me want to use it. The power went off for 2 hours every night and since it's self catering, we had our own food there obivously but at no stage were we offered any type of help to try and keep the food cold. The last night we went out for a meal and by the time we came back, the owner still hadn't tried to be in contact with us to collect the money we owed them for our 2 night stay - I had to go and try and find them myself to ask them if they did really want us to pay?!? We were leaving early the next day and we could have just left without paying because they paid no attention to us what so ever. It was cheap and the location was great, but nothing else and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone nor will I be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Nickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxs, owner at Sunny Lane, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2009

I am sorry that I was not available at the time to meet and greet the guests - I usually do make a point of making contact with our guests after they have arrived, but I also am sensitive to giving people the space they want.
With regard to the electricity, unfortunately at that time in South Africa, everyone was experiencing "rolling black outs" due to a national electricty crisis. We would lose power every second day for two hours. I dispute the fact that this would have happened "every day" while these guests were with us. Because everyone was similarly afflicted - restaurants included - it would have been difficult to offer to "keep food cold".
Finally, I am pleased that the guest found the room "fine", but am sorry she found the toilet "smelly and old". Sunny Lane has been operating for seven years, and during this time, we have frequently upgraged and repainted (most recently we painted our suites in Sept 2008). I take cleanliness very seriously, and am happy to refer you to other reviews on other websites which comment on our cleanliness. Unlike most self-catering establishments, our suites are serviced on a daily basis during the week. Flies are also an issue in the heat of summer in Franschhoek, and one can only do one's best to control them, which we do.
Sunny Lane offers very affordable, neat and clean accommodation, and I invite you to come and try it for yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#50 of 64 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage
Laurel Cottage
#53 of 64 in Franschhoek
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lane

Address: 30 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $43 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Lane consists of two elegant self-catering studios situated in the heart of Franschhoek, South Africa. Affordably priced, Sunny Lane has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the "food and wine capital" of South Africa. In winter, underfloor heating will keep you warm while you can cool down in our beautiful swimming pool in summer. The studios are fully equipped and also have satellite television and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Lane Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing