We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
443
33
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
33
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artwine tastingbeautiful estatewine estateheaven on earthcape townstunning locationrooms are spaciousbreakfast was deliciousa real treatviews of the mountainsunderfloor heatingamazing placestayed longerstayed for nightshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 490 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

This is out second visit here, first time meeting the owners which was a pleasure. My mother in law and daughter had the suite above the front stairs, amazing room, almost like 2 rooms really as the beds were that far apart with bathroom separating them. Our room was fab too. Breakfast great. Staff great, and it was my birthday the day we were leaving, and I got a lovely feet and leg massage free from them. Truly wonderful place, and amazing staff

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenManz, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear dancehotsalsa,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and do hope we will see you again in the near future. Your support is highly appreciated.

Best Wishes,

Kind Regards

Mari Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Lovely country house set next to the winery’s vineyards about 2kms from Franschhoeck. The public areas of the main house are well decorated and filled with art.

We had the room above the entry of the main house. It is an extremely large suite with a great view of the mountains. Beyond the bathroom was another large bedroom that would be excellent for children.

It was very cold and blustery the day we arrived. The radiant floor heating kept the bedroom warm. But the very large bathroom was very cold because the radiant heating was not working in that area.

The 2 main reasons to stay here are the location in the vineyards and the excellent staff and service particularly in the front of the house (Francois and Eneal). We really enjoyed the breakfasts and afternoon tea. They also offer a free wine tasting at the cellars which is about 400 meters across the vineyards.

One night there was a very loud party with techno music blaring away at Le Franschhoek Hotel which is about 300 meters away up a small hill. The music went on well past 1AM; sleep would not have been possible without ear plugs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BabiBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenManz, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear BabiBagus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Holden Manz Country House. We sincerely hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Mari Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We love this small but beautiful place. Nice suits, great view over gardens and mountains. Friendly and super professional staff. Great art and design. The convenience with a great restaurant and wine tasting on the property but not where you stay is perfect. No need for taxi or driving late. We will come back. Carl and Marie from Cape Town

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 151carlfredriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenManz, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Carl & Marie,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Mari Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Great property, well located to visit the vineyards. The house is full of Art works and has a cozy feel to it. Breakfast is excellent, the rooms well equipped and nicely furnished. Service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcV2661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear Marc V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for us. We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back here soon.

Best wishes,

Mari Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Holden Manz is the perfect place to stay in Franschhoek. The location in the valley is perfect - the mountains provide a glorious backdrop to the vineyard. The wines produced are among the best we tasted (and the tasting itself was the most fun - get food to go with it and make sure you try the figs). The restaurant is wonderful, with stunning views to match the excellent food. The country house itself is beautiful, with outstanding art from the owners' collection filling the walls. It's almost worth going in winter simply so that you can enjoy a glass of wine by the fire in your room, though you'll want to come out of the room for the delicious breakfast and restorative tea in the afternoon. And, above all, staff and owners were incredibly welcoming and friendly - unobtrusive but always there, with nothing too much trouble and a huge amount of advice about the region.

Recommended unreservedly and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank breezewilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear breezewilliam,

Thank you so much for this heartwarming review. It was wonderful having you visit us and we do hope that we will be so honored to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Mari Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews