We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
443
33
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
33
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artwine tastingbeautiful estatewine estateheaven on earthstunning locationcape townrooms are spaciousbreakfast was deliciousviews of the mountainsa real treatunderfloor heatingamazing placestayed longerstayed for nightshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 490 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

There's no better feeling on a trip than the one you get when you finally arrive at your chosen accommodation, knowing in an instant that this is exactly the right place for you. It's mostly relief, mixed with (if I'm honest!) a little smugness at how well you chose. That's exactly how we felt pulling up to Holden Manz Wine Estate. The location is stunning and combined with the warm welcome we received, we knew this would be a very special experience. The house itself is so beautifully and tastefully decorated. You feel priviledged to have the chance to enjoy it and yet feel absolutely at home. Being able to wander so close to the vineyards was a real treat and we were lucky that harvest had just begun so we were able to learn more about the whole process - facinating! Special thanks to Colette, Daniel and, of course, Lameck, for ensuring our stay was so memorable. If you're reading these reviews then you're already considering a stay here. My advice? Book your room now before someone else snaps it up! you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was our first visit to this wonderful estate, but hopefully not the last. I can only echo other ratings: The estate is beautiful, all rooms have great art work to view (visit also the Holden Manz Gallery in Franschhoek). The service was impeccable, and the hosts very friendly and welcoming. Lovely breakfast on the veranda and afternoon high tea. The restaurant is a relaxing ten minutes walk away through the vineyards. Food was excellent, so was the wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I loved everything about this place. It felt like home not a hotel but with service! Nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending Holden manz and the restaurant was superb as is their wine - love big g

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jywq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wine tasting was very nice, the building is very special. One can see the wine barrels. Mostly red wines, very good quality. The restaurant is upstairs from the winery, quite a large room, beautifully decorated with open kitchen. There is a large balcony but unfortuatley we couldn't dine outside as it was too windy. Good food, but not fine dining.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

our first visit to this beautiful estate but certainly wont be our last. Beautiful house and rooms with great art work to view. Very comfortable beds with lovely linen and rooms very tastefully decorated. Nice bathroom as well. Lameck was wonderful , service excellent with nothing too much trouble. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Lovely breakfast and afternoon teas. Unfortunately did not get to try the restaurant but will do so on our return. We have purchased some wine to try at home and remember our wonderful time at Holden Manz

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews