We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Holden Manz. The house is beautiful and filled with some stunning art work that we loved. All the things that make an excellent hotel were there - beautiful bathrooms with nice accessories, the most comfortable beds and bedding, exquisitely decorated rooms in the house, and peaceful outside spaces. The ability to walk around the estate and the vines against the backdrop of the mountains is very special. The service is exceptional - efficient, friendly and attentive. This is a very special place. Only two recommendations for total perfection - better jam at breakfast and butter not in plastic packs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
239
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A magnificent 2 night stay was like being personal guests of the owner/hosts, being made so welcome and part of the 'Holden Manz family' from the outset. And what a great place it is, beautiful location, stunning scenery, stylish interiors and oozing warmth, charm and finesse.

The bedrooms were spacious and delightfully cool and airy despite being one of the hottest days of the year, and the huge ensuite shower and deep bath were also fully enjoyed. There was everything one could want from hairdryer, safe, magazines, very comfy bed and quality linens, fluffy towels and interesting art, different in each room - though an international adapter would always be helpful. The 'Africology' bath and shower goods were also really special - great smelling and lovely to use.

Breakfast sadly lacked the romance of rosebuds on the plate shown in the owners photos, and could have been a little quicker on the delivery, but I guess the heat slows everything down. The butter would have been nicer in something other than small individual plastic servings, and the sugar as lumps or cubes rather than in paper pouches, but these are minor details that can be overlooked by simply checking out the stunning views of the surrounding grounds!

Didn't personally try the spa, but imagine it would be upto the same high standards and quality.

Did try the pool, early morning and in the evening, which was a thorough joy, with amazing views over the beautiful roofs to the mountains. Also explored the vineyard with a few walks round the perimeter, passing the picnic benches along the river, which all looked inviting if on a longer stay.

Certainly seemed like paradise to me. Look forward to a revisit!

Room Tip: There's only 5 rooms, our group had rooms 1-3, all wonderfully spacious, comfortable and ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungBuccaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Owning a guesthouse myself, I was critical from the start. I was pleasantly surprised with the security of the estate. We were taken to a wonderful suite, and the house and facilities are 5 star. We then took a stroll next to the river and through the vineyards, to the cellar and restaurant. Its was a great experience. We met the friendly owners and also made use of the on-site SPA, for a massage - thank you. Willem

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmyStoltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Since long time I did not encounter such a good price quality experience. The place is perfect we enjoy it a lot and for sure we will go back. I believe that even the pickiest person will not have anything to comment to this place. The food, services and place just excellent! Congratulation!

Room Tip: Any room that you chose is just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 96Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lucky enough to be back here for the third time in as many years. No exaggeration to say the whole team welcomed me like one of the family and delighted to find the inimitable Lameck still working his magic at the front of house.

Some decorative changes to the guest rooms and main living areas which leave this place as close to perfect as it can be.

If you can drag yourself away from the manor house then the estate restaurant (Franschhoek Kitchen) is at the peak of the Western Cape's offering. The Holden Manz art collection (exhibited both in the manor house and in a boutique gallery in the centre of town) showcases the very best of contemporary SA talent. A trip to the gallery is a perfect way to get a little culture between wine tasting and gastronomy! Migo's passion for his artists and their works is self evident and infectious, it's difficult not to be moved by this place and you'll come away feeling a little more stylish and knowledgeable than when you went in.

My favourite spot in the Southern Hemisphere! Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a beautiful wine estate and such warm friendly staff. Collette van der Merwe was very helpful in making arrangements. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Oliphant Suite which was just magnificent. Peaceful, comfortable and spacious all at one go.

I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and Collette helped to arrange a very good babysitter that evening. Lameck our butler was very good and was promptly attentive. They arranged high tea upon our arrival and as I had to drive to Cape Town for a function, I unfortunately missed the wine dinner there on the Estate which I am sure would have been just perfect.

The next morning we had a sumptuous breakfast with delicious fruit and a beautiful spread -- and then went into Franschhoek, a beautiful little town with wineries and chocolate making, Franschhoek Car Museum, and lunch at Haute Cabriere. This is really such a special place. If you love peace and tranquility, and you want to get away for an excursion outside the hustle and bustle of Cape Town (about 45 minutes drive from Cape Town) this is the place to be.

Room Tip: The Oliphant Mountain Suite is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAppleNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had never heard of this hotel and were extremely pleased. They were welcoming, hospitable and we had lovely accommodations. Nothing was too much trouble! We also enjoyed being out of the hustle and bustle of the town. Lameck was beyond fantastic!
The restaurant was excellent and their Big G red was truly wonderful.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Summerhill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing