We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
443
33
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
33
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artwine tastingbeautiful estatewine estateheaven on earthcape townstunning locationrooms are spaciousbreakfast was deliciousa real treatviews of the mountainsunderfloor heatingamazing placestayed longerstayed for nightshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 490 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Owning a guesthouse myself, I was critical from the start. I was pleasantly surprised with the security of the estate. We were taken to a wonderful suite, and the house and facilities are 5 star. We then took a stroll next to the river and through the vineyards, to the cellar and restaurant. Its was a great experience. We met the friendly owners and also made use of the on-site SPA, for a massage - thank you. Willem

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmyStoltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Since long time I did not encounter such a good price quality experience. The place is perfect we enjoy it a lot and for sure we will go back. I believe that even the pickiest person will not have anything to comment to this place. The food, services and place just excellent! Congratulation!

Room Tip: Any room that you chose is just perfect
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 96Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lucky enough to be back here for the third time in as many years. No exaggeration to say the whole team welcomed me like one of the family and delighted to find the inimitable Lameck still working his magic at the front of house.

Some decorative changes to the guest rooms and main living areas which leave this place as close to perfect as it can be.

If you can drag yourself away from the manor house then the estate restaurant (Franschhoek Kitchen) is at the peak of the Western Cape's offering. The Holden Manz art collection (exhibited both in the manor house and in a boutique gallery in the centre of town) showcases the very best of contemporary SA talent. A trip to the gallery is a perfect way to get a little culture between wine tasting and gastronomy! Migo's passion for his artists and their works is self evident and infectious, it's difficult not to be moved by this place and you'll come away feeling a little more stylish and knowledgeable than when you went in.

My favourite spot in the Southern Hemisphere! Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a beautiful wine estate and such warm friendly staff. Collette van der Merwe was very helpful in making arrangements. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Oliphant Suite which was just magnificent. Peaceful, comfortable and spacious all at one go.

I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and Collette helped to arrange a very good babysitter that evening. Lameck our butler was very good and was promptly attentive. They arranged high tea upon our arrival and as I had to drive to Cape Town for a function, I unfortunately missed the wine dinner there on the Estate which I am sure would have been just perfect.

The next morning we had a sumptuous breakfast with delicious fruit and a beautiful spread -- and then went into Franschhoek, a beautiful little town with wineries and chocolate making, Franschhoek Car Museum, and lunch at Haute Cabriere. This is really such a special place. If you love peace and tranquility, and you want to get away for an excursion outside the hustle and bustle of Cape Town (about 45 minutes drive from Cape Town) this is the place to be.

Room Tip: The Oliphant Mountain Suite is magnificent!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAppleNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had never heard of this hotel and were extremely pleased. They were welcoming, hospitable and we had lovely accommodations. Nothing was too much trouble! We also enjoyed being out of the hustle and bustle of the town. Lameck was beyond fantastic!
The restaurant was excellent and their Big G red was truly wonderful.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Summerhill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews