We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly peaceful, stunning estate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #6 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just two nights at the end of our Cape Town journey. A magnificent house, set beneath the Franschhoek mountain range, rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated- as is the whole estate.

Complimentary bottle of Holden Manz wine in our room for arrival- nice touch.

Lameck is extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble. He seemed to be the point of call for everything, from booking taxis, serving the delicious breakfast to even lighting up our own bedroom log fire on a stormy evening for our return back from a restaurant. I did wonder if he ever slept!

Restaurant is breathtaking, food outstanding, the restaurant a bit quiet I hope it gets busier because the chef is very talented indeed. Wines are delicious, especially the Big G - we made sure to bring a few bottles home!

Would certainly recommend and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 443 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a charming place. First, the building: the common dining areas (indoors and out) are lovely. The rooms are located down a little walkway, past pools full of big fish. The backyard has little tables at which to enjoy the bottle of wine you'll find in your room when you arrive. The pool is small and a little cool, but that was perfect after a long, hot, sunny day. You can even walk around the grounds, through the peach trees, and see some tiny monkeys.

The room reminded us of some of the B&Bs we've stayed at in France...the "Fransch" part of Franschhoek really came out here. It was also very large...the bathroom alone was bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in. There was a fireplace, a sitting area, a nice big patio where you can have a drink, a big shower AND huge bathtub, dual sinks...the place was beautiful and big to boot.

As far as service, we never wanted for anything. Lameck takes care of whatever you need, and there's always someone around to answer any questions or make recommendations.

We ate dinner at Franschhoek Kitchen on the other side of the farm, which was fantastic. My wife and I agreed that the filet was one of the best steaks we'd ever eaten, and we've tried A LOT of really good steak.

While it's a little outside of the town of Franschhoek, we never minded. This is a special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have just returned to Europe having spent two months in the Western Cape. The highlight of our visit was undoubtedly the Holden Manz Wine Estate in Franschhoek. The five star guest house is stunning, decorated with taste by owner Migo Manz (who also has the Holden Manz Collection Gallery in town). The rooms are welcoming and luxurious. Franschhoek is of course well known for its restaurants and our vote goes to Maryna Frederiksen at the Franschhoek Kitchen on the Estate. Her cuisine is varied and delicious, with fabulous views over the vineyards and the mountains. And the Big G red wine is one of the best we found in the Cape. So do not miss Holden Manz - you will not regret it! (-;

Room Tip: Choose the Oliphant Suite (named after the elephants who used to come across Franschhoek Pass) - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iggybarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay in an exquisite home-feeling-style with warm welcoming, staff tending to every detail to make our holiday experience very special. Wish we could have stayed on for a much longer time.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabystrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it felt very special indeed! Decorated to perfection with interesting art pieces, beautiful rooms and gardens. You get high tea every day between 3 and 5pm and a great breakfast, both served by Lameck who looks after you wonderfully. We enjoyed just chilling out in a very luxurious house and being looked after. We even had a fire in our room in the evenings which was fun. You can walk around the grounds and vineyard and we did wine tasting where John explained all the different wines to us and how the wine-making process works. The restaurant was also excellent. All in all - looked after well and made very welcome by the owners - definitely stay here if you visit Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a beautiful and well keept wineyard. Migo and his staff are tentative and very friendly but respectful for your privacy. Everything is handled in a way that is effective and never intensive. The ever present and softspoken lamenk is always there to make sure that you what you need. Breakfast is great. Rooms are beautiful and all the art that surounds you is week choosen to add to the enviroment around! The wine tasting with John was highly informative and fun. The restaurant is top level in the area and ambitious. Love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippoglossus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Definitely a getaway for anyone who needs one. Beautiful area with mountain ranges, vineyards outstretched and greenery everywhere. We received warm welcomes from Diandri and Lameck! The wine tasting before dinner was just the right way to start our evening. Cold weather, a glass of Big G and crackling fireplaces... Dinner was exceptional with friendly service and extraordinary food(thanks Kobie, your team and kitchen!). After a peaceful night's rest we had to indulge in a Hot Stone Massage, what a way to end our stay! Many thanks to everyone who made our stay memorable! Teri + Daniel [yes, Teri's already planning her wedding! :) ]

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
11.9 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $209 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing