We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location to visit Franschoek wine region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best location to visit Franschoek wine region”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed three nights and enjoyed the service, hospitality and the perfect location to visit the Franschoek wine region. Excellent restaurant in the place! Interesting wine range and impressing winery.
Jean-Pierre & Anne

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
240
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had our wedding at Holden Manz and stayed on the property for the night and took up the 4 rooms. The property is tastefully and comfortably decorated and just makes you wish you could live in it yourself. Nothing was too much for Collette and the staff and Lameck, the butler was really great! We didn't get to spend too much time just enjoying the guest house as we had the wedding at the restaurant. However, the rooms were made available from 8:30am in the morning for the hair and make up preparations and high tea was also served later, which was a great touch. Lameck even waited up for all the guests to return from the wedding reception, which was lovely.
Breakfast in the morning was ready for us when we woke up and there was absolutely no rush in getting us out as we lingered in the elegant surroundings for quite a while. We would definitely recommend staying at the guest house just for the beautiful artwork and the sheer comfortable and welcoming nature of the surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChihKangH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here in April with my family and have not stopped raving about the place to my friends in Cape Town. The welcome and hospitality was marvellous and we really felt to be part of a family. Every courtesy was extended to us and a slight hiccup with plumbing was sorted out swiftly and efficiently causing my husband no problem whatsoever and I was offered a complimentary massage. The customer service and attention to detail rivals anything I have ever experienced and Collette kindly helped us to organise horse riding and a visit to a chocolatier in Franschoek and had lots of ideas for making our stay fun for all of us. My son had his 13th birthday whilst we stayed here and a splendid picnic was arranged by the river....the spot carefully selected and the table laid out for us. All we had to do was enjoy the peace, the glorious view of the mountains, the dappled sunlight and the delicious food and chilled wine and then rest until we were ready to leave. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and were escorted back to our room where a warm log fire was waiting for us. Exquisite! I think i need to plan my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiojaSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We turned up for lunch,met the wine maker, met the owner, were given a personal tour and then had the best meal of our trip.
Out of all the wine farms we visited in stellenbosch and franschhoek over the 2 week period of our holiday this was the one we will remember. The whole experience was 1st class with the added fantastic bonus of speaking, meeting and given a 1st hand tour and history of where the farm has been and is going -( watch this space). The winemaker and Gerard the convivial (one of two) owner could not have been more friendlier - it was like they had been friends for years.
The food was 1st class with a great menu to choose from and the house wines were amazing. In a really challenging market this is a location which has risen to the challenge and raised the bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was a simply wonderful experience, and one which we will always remember. We travelled as a group of four couples which was perfect, as the property offers only four suites.

The welcome, by the owner and staff was warm and our baggage quickly placed in our wonderful rooms. Of the four rooms, three are on the lower level and one is upstairs. The difference is the ground floor rooms have a balcony, while the upstairs room has the (wonderful) view. Next time, I would take the upstairs room.

We were then treated to a high tea in the elegant 'pavilion' of the guest house. The owner is an architect and art collector and the property contains some fabulous paintings and sculptures. In essence, exquisite taste pervades this property, from the guest rooms to the public spaces.

Now to dinner. What a treat. The staff offered us a bus to get to the restaurant, which is only a ten minute walk through the grape vines. We walked.

We were offered a (free) wine tasting at the cellar/restaurant by John, who was most hospitable.

Dinner followed in an elegant cellar moderne style restaurant, with top class timbers and stone finishes everywhere.and a roaring open fire, which staff tended regularly. Another sign of attention to detail.

The food was winery style, served on slate plates and top class cuisine. Our group offered only superlatives about the food. Most is locally-sourced.

We enjoyed a departing breakfast, ending a nearly four week African trip with the best of memories, with Holden Manz a keynote feature.

Lameck, the butler, is just wonderful, as other reviewers have noted. This wonderful man does everything from managing baggage to adjusting he satellite TV. Nothing was too much trouble.

WiFi was also fast and free.

Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed, including a great fire pace. Pity we had not much time to enjoy it. A complimentary bottle of Holden Manz Rose was waiting for us.

The setting, at the base of the mountains is just superb. The photos are spot on.

This property exhibits the love, care and attention of the owners, and their staff. And it really shows.

Room Tip: The room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Holden Manz in a wonderful retreat in the midst of the wine country. The rooms are large and comfortable each with its own outdoor terrace. The heated floors and fireplace made the rooms comfortable on cool evenings. The oversize shower was a treat. The common areas are spacious with lots of seating and reading material is abundant. Picnic tables are strategically located along the banks of the river that run through the property. Collette, the manager is very helpful and Lembeck, the butler is a darling. There is a spa on the property but due to our short stay we didn't get to sample any of the offerings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful rooms, bright, spacious, High ceilings and beautiful interior design. stunning art in all rooms. butler Lameck is a treasure and would have loved to take him with me as private butler....but hey...there is always hope:-)))
Loved the spa and the sumptuous farmhouse breakfast after!
Being German the English habit to serve afternoon tea ensured me to stay well-rounded and healthy:-) although going through yoga practise every day in the Barefoot Studio overlooking the wineyards which unfortunately gave me cravings for a bottle of the award winning Big G every night....!
So all I can say...a major pleasure to all senses! Go and enjoy!!!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing