We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
443
33
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
33
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artwine tastingbeautiful estatewine estateheaven on earthstunning locationcape townrooms are spaciousbreakfast was deliciousviews of the mountainsa real treatunderfloor heatingamazing placestayed longerstayed for nightshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 490 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We turned up for lunch,met the wine maker, met the owner, were given a personal tour and then had the best meal of our trip.
Out of all the wine farms we visited in stellenbosch and franschhoek over the 2 week period of our holiday this was the one we will remember. The whole experience was 1st class with the added fantastic bonus of speaking, meeting and given a 1st hand tour and history of where the farm has been and is going -( watch this space). The winemaker and Gerard the convivial (one of two) owner could not have been more friendlier - it was like they had been friends for years.
The food was 1st class with a great menu to choose from and the house wines were amazing. In a really challenging market this is a location which has risen to the challenge and raised the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was a simply wonderful experience, and one which we will always remember. We travelled as a group of four couples which was perfect, as the property offers only four suites.

The welcome, by the owner and staff was warm and our baggage quickly placed in our wonderful rooms. Of the four rooms, three are on the lower level and one is upstairs. The difference is the ground floor rooms have a balcony, while the upstairs room has the (wonderful) view. Next time, I would take the upstairs room.

We were then treated to a high tea in the elegant 'pavilion' of the guest house. The owner is an architect and art collector and the property contains some fabulous paintings and sculptures. In essence, exquisite taste pervades this property, from the guest rooms to the public spaces.

Now to dinner. What a treat. The staff offered us a bus to get to the restaurant, which is only a ten minute walk through the grape vines. We walked.

We were offered a (free) wine tasting at the cellar/restaurant by John, who was most hospitable.

Dinner followed in an elegant cellar moderne style restaurant, with top class timbers and stone finishes everywhere.and a roaring open fire, which staff tended regularly. Another sign of attention to detail.

The food was winery style, served on slate plates and top class cuisine. Our group offered only superlatives about the food. Most is locally-sourced.

We enjoyed a departing breakfast, ending a nearly four week African trip with the best of memories, with Holden Manz a keynote feature.

Lameck, the butler, is just wonderful, as other reviewers have noted. This wonderful man does everything from managing baggage to adjusting he satellite TV. Nothing was too much trouble.

WiFi was also fast and free.

Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed, including a great fire pace. Pity we had not much time to enjoy it. A complimentary bottle of Holden Manz Rose was waiting for us.

The setting, at the base of the mountains is just superb. The photos are spot on.

This property exhibits the love, care and attention of the owners, and their staff. And it really shows.

Room Tip: The room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Holden Manz in a wonderful retreat in the midst of the wine country. The rooms are large and comfortable each with its own outdoor terrace. The heated floors and fireplace made the rooms comfortable on cool evenings. The oversize shower was a treat. The common areas are spacious with lots of seating and reading material is abundant. Picnic tables are strategically located along the banks of the river that run through the property. Collette, the manager is very helpful and Lembeck, the butler is a darling. There is a spa on the property but due to our short stay we didn't get to sample any of the offerings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wonderful rooms, bright, spacious, High ceilings and beautiful interior design. stunning art in all rooms. butler Lameck is a treasure and would have loved to take him with me as private butler....but hey...there is always hope:-)))
Loved the spa and the sumptuous farmhouse breakfast after!
Being German the English habit to serve afternoon tea ensured me to stay well-rounded and healthy:-) although going through yoga practise every day in the Barefoot Studio overlooking the wineyards which unfortunately gave me cravings for a bottle of the award winning Big G every night....!
So all I can say...a major pleasure to all senses! Go and enjoy!!!

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Holden Manz. We found it idyllic and a true home away from home. The setting is truly beautiful, peaceful and relaxing but what makes the stay truly special is the time and trouble taken by Collette (office manager) and Lamek (house keeper), the 2 members of staff who looked after us during our stay. They were amazing and made our stay even more special. Collette was always on hand with great restaurant recommendations, making bookings and arranging taxis’ if necessary. She also went out of her way to show us around the estate and pointed out a fabulous spot on the estate, next to the river, where weather permitting; you could enjoy a picnic provided by their kitchens. (Unfortunately their restaurant was closed at the time of our visit but their menu looked amazing). Lamek was truly outstanding always making sure we had everything we needed from breakfast through to afternoon tea and beyond. He always had our fire burning in our room as well as in the main lounge when we returned from an evening out. Nothing was too much trouble. In fact all the staff we met on the estate were friendly and liked to stop for a quick chat. The hotel is spotless, has great toiletries and linen we can honestly say we had a great stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews