We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bland Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Bland Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

A special place which we had to ourselves for our two day stay and so were pampered.

Stunning setting,a great sense of space in the public rooms.Breakfast and tea good in terms of variety and presentation.Main meals taken elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldD225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
236
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Holden Manz is a really outstanding find which I would recommend to anyone. I went as part of a group of unusually demanding hotel guests, and everyone was delighted by Holden Manz.

The guest house is absolutely stunning. It is set in its own vineyards with a swimming pool overlooking the trees which grow along a small stream, and a beautiful lake. All of this is surrounded by the mountains in one of the most dramatic parts of the Franschhoek valley. The house itself is immaculate. One of the owners also owns an art gallery, and the house is decorated with immaculate and personal taste which sets it apart from bland hotel décor.

The staff who look after you on a day to day basis are extremely nice, and go out of their way to help, as do the owners. The staff and owners gave excellent restaurant tips, and were very helpful in making bookings. The breakfast and afternoon tea (a meal in itself) were delicious. There is also a restaurant on the estate, a short walk from the house, which we liked very much.

I left Holden Manz finding it impossible to believe that there is a better place to stay in Franschhoek. I will definitely go back when I am next in the Cape. I think that for most European readers the description of Holden Manz as a ‘guesthouse’ radically undersells the place, which is preferable to most 5* hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMI64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at Holden Manz Guest House in December 2011 to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday. The team at Holden Manz looked after us very well and ensured that this special occasion was one to remember. We were greeted with enthusiasm and made to feel at home in their wonderful house, set on a wine estate with a super restaurant and spa. They organised and provided a fabulous picnic that we enjoyed beside the river in the vineyard. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, providing information and recommendations about things to see and do in the area. A great place to stay and highly recommended for a relaxing break in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HESM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Having spent a few days at the HMGHouse was a superb experience. The atmosphere, the service, the restaurant (outside lounge and fireplace, food was excellent), the surroundings were over the top. Next time coming to Franschoek I wont look for accommodation other than the HMGH.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliansanchezegea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

dears,

We understand accommodation choice abound in franschoek and it might be difficult to chose from, but if you'd like to stay in a wine estate with lovely people whom try their best to please you, i would sincerely recommend Holden Manz.

the interior is amazing, especially if you fancy art like we do. One of the owners has an art gallery and the art in the wine estate mansion shows elegance and class.

the owners themselves are very warm and hospitable. it feels almost like arriving at home in SA. the welcome tea is really nice.

and very important to us: they left you absolutely free in your handlings. no fuzz whatsoever. no push towards tasting or buying their wine, which we personally find very important and again shows their elegance and tactfullness.

great place truly.

Fabrice Janssen & Carmen De Geeter

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabrice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Still sitting in these elegant surroundings and sad that it's all over.
To conclude, it is simply breathtaking. No exaggeration needed. Highest recommendation from our side!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benschmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voerendaal (NL)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had five great days! A very familiar and relaxing place to stay. Excellent service. A place better than home ...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuusQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing