We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #25 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A little oasis in Franschhoek”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in February 2014. A party of 4 we were in the adjoining property, which far from being a dissapointment was really peaceful and we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast is very good, the only downside is the tables are much too small for 4 people, However this pales into insignificance when taking the benefits of La Fontaine as a whole. Stopping over in Franchhoek? , then do consider La Fontaine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi seasoned travellers! Thank you so much for your review. We do agree that the tables are a bit small for 4 people but as we serve breakfast outside under the vine covered pergola, the space is slightly limited as most of the guests want to enjoy the sunshine and do not want to sit in the breakfast room where there is ample space. Our breakfast is freshly prepared each morning and the cooked breakfast is prepared on request ensuring that the high quality of our breakfast is maintained. We hope that you will come back to this beautiful town of Franschhoek and invite your friends and family to experience our little "oasis" Warm regards, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    90
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
190
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Kathy, Dawn, Richard and team were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them.Being here for 6 nights we tried many restaurants but it was extremely busy over Valentines day and Kathy and dawn tried many restaurants to get us in, they did. Stayed in the stables which was like having your own little house and garden, a very large bathroom and a little sitting room. Extremely comfy beds and great quality bed linen. We sat in the garden outside the room and watched the birds come down and drink the sugar water which was put out for them daily. Adjacent to the stables is the house which you could use. A very large kitchen with fridge and honesty bar or put your own drinks in. Breakfast on the terrace was faultless. Help yourself to fruits,cereal,continental and then you could have a cooked breakfast. Brilliant location down a peacefully pretty street.
We have travelled around the world and kevin and I would say this is the best hospitality we have ever had. A big big thank you to you all and keep up the good work. September looks promising.

Room Tip: Stables for complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and I must admit I was sad to see you leave but we are looking forward to welcoming you at La Fontaine again, hopefully in September. The sugar birds are still in the garden which has kept many a visitor enthralled!! Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Well located guesthouse in town. Easy walk to restaurants. Somewhat dated establishment with rooms spread over different buildings. Large rooms with good beds and bedrooms. Free parking and (weak) wifi. Good breakfast served inside (dark) or pretty garden. Can recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. The buildings are historical, with the main house being built in 1926 and was used as a girls' boarding house and the Victorian section built in 1895 each with their own charm. There are not many of these buildings left so we must treasure them. Free Wifi is available throughout the property and sometimes the signal is weaker at certain times of the day but this, I think is experienced all over the country!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Once again back at La Fontaine. The service and the good people running La Fountaine Guest House made us come back. The hostess also helped us to book dinners in town as that can be a problem especially during the high season.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Stayed both on the second floor and downstairs close to the pool. Both rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalle_villanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It is such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and to see familiar faces. Even though you have returned to us once more, we will always ensure that you get the same friendly, helpful service which you deserve. Until next time! Warm wishes, Kathie and the La Fontaine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I loved this B&B. The proprietor was VERY friendly and extraordinarily accommodating. My schedule was very inconvenient for them but she made it work and cooked me a breakfast to go to boot! The room was very nice and very clean and there are all sort of little bits and bobs to explore around the house. I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in SA wine country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to make you feel completely at home and relaxed. One guest wrote "if hospitality is an art, then you all definitely are great artists!" - a great compliment to my team. We hope that you will return to La Fontaine with friends and family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Fontaine for just one night on our trip from Cape Town down to PE. On arrival we found they had a problem with the room. But there was no issue and no fuss as we headed out for lunch. When we came back, all was sorted and we had a nice garden suite room overlooking the pool area. La Fontaine is great value for money and a really welcoming atmosphere, with very friendly staff. It's close to the town centre and they even went our of their way to find us a restaurant for New Year's Eve. Parking is a challenge though, but just takes a little care. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart_Goble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Stuart
It was quite a challenge to find a restaurant on New Year's Eve! My advice to anyone staying in Franschhoek over Christmas and New Year is to ask us to pre-book restaurants. Fortunately we were able to sort out the burst geyser quickly with no damage to the ceiling and the carpeting in your room! Good wishes for 2014 may it be a good year for you. Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is truly one of the most beautiful places we have been to in South Africa. The houses and the decor and all the small things they have done is just making everything so comfortable and relaxing. The staff is extremely helpful. The place is quiet. They have all kinds of stuff to make your stay perfect like a honesty bar, pool, chess game, television, reading spots etc. This is the perfect place to bring a girlfriend or your family if you need to disconnect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We at La Fontaine strive to create a "home from home" atmosphere but on a professional basis. Although our positioning is within a short walking distance to the town, it is extremely quiet and we have created gardens which attract the sugar birds and sometimes the neighbours cats!! We look forward to welcoming you back to La Fontaine on your next visit to South Africa. Best wishes for 2014. Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 63 in Franschhoek
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing