We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #23 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in their family suite for just one night.

The location is great. It is only about a block behind the main street, so walking distance to restaurants, shops, and a Pick-n-pay market.

The guest house itself was very quiet and peaceful. The place had a rustic charm to it.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They had complimentary port wine in the room, the owner said it is very good port wine. I don't think I had ever drank port before, but I loved it, and helped myself to a few shots.

The owner recommended a couple of restaurants to us, and gave us the restaurant menus to choose from, we picked Le Bon Vivant, which was just around the corner from the guest house.

We enjoyed many, many fine meals during our visit in South Africa, Le Bon Vivant is just about my favorite of them all. Highly, highly recommend Le Bon Vivant, and their huge sampler dessert is a must.

When we checked out the next day, the Owner recommended for us to take R62 to Knysna instead of the N2. She even gave us a print out of the directions. That was an awesome tip. Definitely take the R62 to Knysna if time allows.

We enjoyed our stay here, and enjoyed visiting the town of Franschhoek.

We drove the Franschhoek pass, and the Helshoogte pass to Stellenbosch. Gorgeous views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are very fortunate to have lived in the beautiful valley of Franschhoek for +- 28yrs and our knowledge of the area is extensive. The locals know best!! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Franschhoek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

On arrival we were shown immediately to our spacious room upstairs with a lovely view towards the snow capped mountains. We joined my brother Dickin's family and after a 5 minute walk to "The French Connection" restaurant, we celebrated Dickin and his wife Sally's 60th Wedding Invitation in style. (So convenient having first class restaurants so close to La Gratitude) After a superb meal with appropriate legendary wines, we wandered back to the Guest House to have a final cup of tea before retiring to out well-appointed room. The huge bathroom with modern shower and antique bath and plenty of hot water, plus a courtesy tasty white Muscadel with an enormous comfortable bed assured us of immediate sleep with no need to see TV or listen to the radio. Lovely curtains covering the huge windows and the tastefully furnished room with old wooden floors made one reluctant to leave.
Breakfast was a joy, with cheerful Shirley making sure that everyone was content. In spite of our large party seated at one long table, the assortment of cereals, our poached,fried,scrambled eggs and the variety of omelets accompanied by home made bread, butter and jams just confirmed the careful thought that went into making all visitors highly satisfied and ready for a day of glorious sight seeing. We would highly recommend La Gratitude as the perfect place to stay,whether it be for business, holiday or both!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are large but cozy, and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful, from the heart review. La Fontaine, Franschhoek (not La Gratitude) is where you stayed with your family to celebrate a wonderful achievement. Nonetheless you have shown your gratitude by finding the time to write your review!! We look forward to welcoming your family once again for the next big celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location makes for easy access however I am disappointed with the quality of the towels etc. and the cleanliness. I think other properties would offer a higher standard for this rate. Staff is pleasant. Breakfast was ok. Furnishings are a little threadbare.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 share a nice balcony from which you can see the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and we have taken note of your comments. We would like to point out the following. The SA Grading Council assesses each establishment on an annual basis, applying criteria of a very high level. If your concerns are indeed correct then the grading council certainly would not have given us our 4-star status in their recent assessment. According to our in-house stats we have, on an annual basis, a 25% guest return and referral rate. The question is, would they return or refer La Fontaine Guest House if they were not satisfied with what we have to offer?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A group of us spent 2 nights at La Fontaine and we had a wonderful time. There were two young babies in our group and we were extremely lucky to be able to stay in Campbell House, which is next door to the main La Fontaine guest house. There are 3 rooms in this house and our group took all of them. We were very comfortable and we didn't need to worry about disturbing other guests if the babies cried. (It's actually quite difficult to find baby friendly guest houses, probably because they have to consider their other guests)
Shirley and Kathie were incredibly friendly and went to great lengths to ensure we had everything we needed. They couldn't have been more accommodating. The bedrooms and bathrooms were large and beautifully furnished. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was delicious, with the best home-made muesli I've ever tasted!
The guest house is a very short walk from the 'centre ' of Franschhoek, so everything is within walking distance.
A really great place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpatriciaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It is difficult to find child-friendly establishments in Franschhoek but we are very fortunate that we have Campbell House which is very user friendly for family groups. We also have the Orange family suite which is in the garden and swimming pool area. I have just made a fresh batch of homemade muesli so you will have to come again! I did send you the recipe which I hope you received! I am looking forward to welcoming you again at La Fontaine. Best wishes, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at La Fontaine with The EXPEDITION Project at the end of May and really enjoyed it. Being located just 1 block off the main road means it's close enough to walk to all of the amazing restaurants, cafes, shops, etc but still quiet. The guesthouse is charming, has lovely sitting / relaxing areas and beautiful views from upstairs.

Of great importance to us was its impressive performance on the "green" side of things. They have a number of initiatives in place including grey water recycling, and measures to improve energy efficiency and water conservation. And they're gone the extra mile to attain certification from a 3rd party in order to prove that they take responsible tourism seriously. Big kudos from us!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are constantly looking for new products and monitoring our "carbon footprint at all times. We regularly remind our staff to use the electrical appliances with care, using them on off-peak periods where possible. If we all do our bit then hopefully we will have a greener planet! Regards, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Superb establishment leading the way in eco-friendly Franschhoek hospitality. In a tourist destination like Franschhoek excellent accommodation choices are over-whelming, however La Fontaine is not only providing wonderful hospitality services but also new age environmentally friendly facilities and practices.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are constantly reviewing methods and using environmently friendly products to decrease our carbon footprint. We have just re-landscaped the garden and swimming pool area contracting an award-winning landscaper who made use of our own home-made compost ;natural, commercial products and planting indigenous and water wise plants Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent our Company's 14th birthday weekend at La Fontaine and it was a wonderful experience. The Guest house is charming with its high ceilings and wooden floors and the warm fire in the lounge. The staff absolutely amazing - friendly and efficient.
I would definately recommend this Guest house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful as they are airconditioned or have a fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelleDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting your company group to celebrate your great achievement. We look forward to hosting your company and/or individuals once again to experience the La Fontaine and Franschhoek experience. Warm wishes, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#22 of 64 in Franschhoek
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 64 in Franschhoek
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $146 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing