We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #24 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A group of us spent 2 nights at La Fontaine and we had a wonderful time. There were two young babies in our group and we were extremely lucky to be able to stay in Campbell House, which is next door to the main La Fontaine guest house. There are 3 rooms in this house and our group took all of them. We were very comfortable and we didn't need to worry about disturbing other guests if the babies cried. (It's actually quite difficult to find baby friendly guest houses, probably because they have to consider their other guests)
Shirley and Kathie were incredibly friendly and went to great lengths to ensure we had everything we needed. They couldn't have been more accommodating. The bedrooms and bathrooms were large and beautifully furnished. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was delicious, with the best home-made muesli I've ever tasted!
The guest house is a very short walk from the 'centre ' of Franschhoek, so everything is within walking distance.
A really great place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpatriciaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It is difficult to find child-friendly establishments in Franschhoek but we are very fortunate that we have Campbell House which is very user friendly for family groups. We also have the Orange family suite which is in the garden and swimming pool area. I have just made a fresh batch of homemade muesli so you will have to come again! I did send you the recipe which I hope you received! I am looking forward to welcoming you again at La Fontaine. Best wishes, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at La Fontaine with The EXPEDITION Project at the end of May and really enjoyed it. Being located just 1 block off the main road means it's close enough to walk to all of the amazing restaurants, cafes, shops, etc but still quiet. The guesthouse is charming, has lovely sitting / relaxing areas and beautiful views from upstairs.

Of great importance to us was its impressive performance on the "green" side of things. They have a number of initiatives in place including grey water recycling, and measures to improve energy efficiency and water conservation. And they're gone the extra mile to attain certification from a 3rd party in order to prove that they take responsible tourism seriously. Big kudos from us!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are constantly looking for new products and monitoring our "carbon footprint at all times. We regularly remind our staff to use the electrical appliances with care, using them on off-peak periods where possible. If we all do our bit then hopefully we will have a greener planet! Regards, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Superb establishment leading the way in eco-friendly Franschhoek hospitality. In a tourist destination like Franschhoek excellent accommodation choices are over-whelming, however La Fontaine is not only providing wonderful hospitality services but also new age environmentally friendly facilities and practices.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are constantly reviewing methods and using environmently friendly products to decrease our carbon footprint. We have just re-landscaped the garden and swimming pool area contracting an award-winning landscaper who made use of our own home-made compost ;natural, commercial products and planting indigenous and water wise plants Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent our Company's 14th birthday weekend at La Fontaine and it was a wonderful experience. The Guest house is charming with its high ceilings and wooden floors and the warm fire in the lounge. The staff absolutely amazing - friendly and efficient.
I would definately recommend this Guest house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful as they are airconditioned or have a fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelleDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting your company group to celebrate your great achievement. We look forward to hosting your company and/or individuals once again to experience the La Fontaine and Franschhoek experience. Warm wishes, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we did not like the rooms on the swimming pool called garden suite as we felt in a garage and this was noisy. We would have preferred to stay in the main house. the welcome has been less good as in other places we stayed in the region. this is not really a place we would recommend even if situated in the center of this very nice city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologise if you felt that you were not well received when you arrived. We pride ourselves in making guests feel welcome and giving them a home from home experience as you can see in the comments from previous reviews. I have taken note of your comment about one of the garden suites and we are busy putting up pergolas around the patio to make it more private. The garden suites are extremely popular as they all have their own patios opening out into the garden; fireplaces and are spacious and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Fontaine in early May. It is well located on street back from the main street of the magnificent town of Franschhoek. We stayed in the family suite which was excellent and the owners were so friendly and most helpful when it came to local advice. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. The hallmarks of the beautiful valley of Franschhoek are its breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world class cuisine and small village atmosphere. It is no wonder that travellers come back time and again to Franschhoek and to La Fontaine which is situated in the heart of the village. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends once again on your next visit to Franschhoek.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights at La Fontaine Guest House on 4th,5th and 6th of April.2013

We arrived early following our overnight flight from Heathrow and were welcomed by Kathie and her staff. (Kathie had already been advised of our early arrival.) We had a welcoming cup of coffee in the delightful gardens whilst we waited for our bedroom to be ready. Our bedroom was ready as soon as possible. We were in bedroom no.2 . A large room with a large bathroom with free standing bath and twin washbasins. We shared a large balcony with spectacular views of the mountains.

We ate locally at our chosen restaurant.The Grill Room. A 5min. walk from La Fontaine. (This had been per booked by Kathie for us for our first evening). Great food at great prices in a lovely friendly restaurant.

The breakfasts was a buffet. With a plentiful supply of fruits, cereals, toast and juices. This was followed by a cooked breakfast (if one had room for it).

We would love to go back to beautiful Franshhoek and would love to stay again in the peace and tranquility of La Fontaine. A big thank you to Kathie and Shirley for making the start of our South African Holiday unforgettable. We wished we could have stayed longer and we will return again before too long. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room no 2 could not have been any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hourihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We always try our best to prepare the room first when we are pre-warned that the guests are coming off an overnight flight. There is nothing worse than hanging on until 14:00 booking in time when you are tired and need a shower to freshen up! Although La Fontaine is centrally situated, within walking distance to the main restaurants, it is set in a quiet area of the village. Our gardens at the back of the main house are very peaceful. We look forward to welcoming you once again to La Fontaine to recharge your batteries and to enjoy the most beautiful valley in South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
292 reviews
4.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#20 of 64 in Franschhoek
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $132 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing