We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Accommodation in a Beautiful Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #21 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation in a Beautiful Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Fontaine in early May. It is well located on street back from the main street of the magnificent town of Franschhoek. We stayed in the family suite which was excellent and the owners were so friendly and most helpful when it came to local advice. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The hallmarks of the beautiful valley of Franschhoek are its breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world class cuisine and small village atmosphere. It is no wonder that travellers come back time and again to Franschhoek and to La Fontaine which is situated in the heart of the village. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends once again on your next visit to Franschhoek.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    89
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
186
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights at La Fontaine Guest House on 4th,5th and 6th of April.2013

We arrived early following our overnight flight from Heathrow and were welcomed by Kathie and her staff. (Kathie had already been advised of our early arrival.) We had a welcoming cup of coffee in the delightful gardens whilst we waited for our bedroom to be ready. Our bedroom was ready as soon as possible. We were in bedroom no.2 . A large room with a large bathroom with free standing bath and twin washbasins. We shared a large balcony with spectacular views of the mountains.

We ate locally at our chosen restaurant.The Grill Room. A 5min. walk from La Fontaine. (This had been per booked by Kathie for us for our first evening). Great food at great prices in a lovely friendly restaurant.

The breakfasts was a buffet. With a plentiful supply of fruits, cereals, toast and juices. This was followed by a cooked breakfast (if one had room for it).

We would love to go back to beautiful Franshhoek and would love to stay again in the peace and tranquility of La Fontaine. A big thank you to Kathie and Shirley for making the start of our South African Holiday unforgettable. We wished we could have stayed longer and we will return again before too long. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room no 2 could not have been any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hourihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always try our best to prepare the room first when we are pre-warned that the guests are coming off an overnight flight. There is nothing worse than hanging on until 14:00 booking in time when you are tired and need a shower to freshen up! Although La Fontaine is centrally situated, within walking distance to the main restaurants, it is set in a quiet area of the village. Our gardens at the back of the main house are very peaceful. We look forward to welcoming you once again to La Fontaine to recharge your batteries and to enjoy the most beautiful valley in South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A really nice place to stay. Very central so you can walk to most restaurants. And take the tram to many of the wine tasting places. Lovely beautiful rooms. Our bathroom was probably bigger than the sleeping room with beautiful windows in two directions. (The bathroom a bit cold as could be expected in an old house in May) And such friendly and helpful host and staff making us feel like family for two days. On top of all that a really good breakfast including great cheese. Very good value. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We take great care in providing a fresh, substantial breakfast and all the products used are sourced locally. My assistant manager is a trained chef and she makes sure that the presentation of the food on the buffet table is very appealing to the eye and taste buds! We look forward to welcoming you again to La Fontaine on your next visit to Franschhoek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this Guest house which is one street up from the main street in Franschoek. I walked to and from town everyday and only needed to get into a car to go wine tasting.

Beautiful, homely and extremely friendly staff! Loved every minute at La Fontaine Guest House and in gorgeous Franschoek, especially the wines!

I will definitely be back there soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but are upstairs and you might need help with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our location is such a plus factor as we are close to the restaurants and shops and you can enjoy our finest Franschhoek wines on offer and not have to drive a car. Warm greetings, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night stay, with our kids in an adjoining room. It was perfect, and Kathie and her staff made us feel very welcome and our 2 girls enjoyed the pool (although a little chilly at this time of year!) as well as making new friends their own age. Kathie also provided useful tips on getting to route 62 (we even saw baboons on the Franschhoek pass!). Highly recommend La Fontaine as the ideal base from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbadsailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write a review. I have a vivid memory of the 4 newly made friends, holding hands, hopping and skipping out our front door to go out together for dinner. I am sure they will keep up with their friendship. Looking forward to hosting you again if you visit our beautiful valley again. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived in Franschhoek excited about our two night family stay and La Fontaine did not disappoint.
Kathie was extremely welcoming and helped make bookings in local restaurants etc..
We stayed in Orange, which was beautiful and decorated to a high spec, very clean and well equipped- complimentary port was a bonus!
Our 6 and 9 year old daughters loved it and made friends wiht other similar aged children.
The pool was lovely - although cold (this didnt bother the girls) and the breakfast was fabulous!
we would definitely recommend staying here and would love to stay here again; the location was perfect for exploring Franschhoek.

Room Tip: had wifi access which was useful, no fitness suite so unable to rate this element
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairH669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We do pride ourselves in offering a great breakfast as everything is freshly prepared; we make our own muesli and buy fresh bread everyday at a local bakery. Our cooked breakfast is only made to order; freshly cooked and make use of free range eggs bought from a local farmer. I hope that your little girls will keep up their newly found friends. Hugs to your extremely well mannered children and we look forward to seeing you again. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in March. We had a double and a twin room, both spacious and beautiful decorated. Good breakfast, you can have both a cooked breakfast and the buffet. Cheese-selection (local cheeses) is very good! It is possible to have breakfast outside i the garden. The owner is very helpful and service-minded, helped us with restaurant-booking on a busy Friday-night, and also offered help and recommendations on wine-tastings. There is also a small swimming-pool. Old and charming building from early 1900. Very good location in the middle of Franschhoek. I really liked this guesthouse, it has got athmosphere, would absolutely stay there again if I go back to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremly positive review - much appreciated! My assistant Dawn is a trained chef so she ensures that the staff keep to her high standards on the cooking and presentation of the breakfast. Our location to the main street is such a plus factor as the restaurants, and some wineries are within close walking distance from La Fontaine. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Franschhoek. Warm greetings, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#19 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#18 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing