We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #22 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This a great guest house very well situated in a quiet road just behind the main street. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, beautiful and comfortable with character. Breakfast is fresh, plentiful, with plenty of choice, and simply delicious. Wish I could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Franschhoek with its peaceful and stunningly beautiful surroundings is definitely a place to linger and enjoy everything that it has to offer - magnificant views; olde worlde atmosphere; award winning restaurants and wines. The overall experience makes travellers want to return again and again! We look forward to your next visit and a longer stay at La Fontaine. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    89
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
186
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a wonderful location. Right in the centre of Franschoek with excellent service. Owners are so friendly, just wish we could stay longer. We will return, and recommend to all friends visiting this area.

Room Tip: We had the lemon suite overlooking the garden. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review. Franschhoek is a destination where one day is not enough to explore the surrounding area with its magnificant mountain views, scenic drives; energetic walk into the Mont Rochelle nature reserve; taste great wines and dine at the many restaurants which serve world class meals. Lemon garden suite has a charm of its own and I enjoy creating the interiors of each room to make them as individualistic as possible. Please stay longer on your next visit to La Fontaine and Franschhoek - you will not regret it! Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I may have reviewed La Fontaine before as this was our 4th visit!
It is a such lovely place to stay, the accommodation and hospitality is first class . All the staff are friendly and very nice, (but special thanks to Kathy and Dawn ) Breakfast is delicious too.
I really cannot praise La Fontaine enough and look forward to a 5th visit next year!

Room Tip: We love one of the outdoor suites, near the pool, called Vine.....everything you need and the bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamond1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying with us on your 4th visit to La Fontaine! We eagerly await your 5th visit and many more thereafter. All the garden suites have a charm of their own! We look forward to your next visit to renew the friendship we have built up over the years. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at La Fontaine, Kathie was incredibly helpful, especially with the safe keeping of my husbands bike, as we were en route to cycle the Argus in Cape Town and we didn't want to leave the bike in the car, Kathie gave us a downstairs room to store it in at no extra charge. she also assisted us in booking restaurant reservations, and generally our stay was incredibly enjoyable. Our room (5) was clean and very comfortable, and I would highly recommend this guest house for a convenient place to stay in Franschoek

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This B&B was recommended by friends and was a great place to stay and was very convenient and close to all the restaurants and bars etc. The owners were great and very helpful and service minded! They helped us with booking restaurants etc and places to visit. Good Breakfast served outside which was delightful. Spacious, beautiful rooms although some of the wood work could do with a bit of a paint also the grout in the shower was mildew which only takes a toothbrush and and a bit of bleach to get rid of. Would certainly stay again though. Definately recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowersNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly busy with maintenance and are at present busy with paint work inside and outside. I am very strict with my staff as regards to the appearance of the bathrooms and showers and I will certainly check where the toothbrush can be used with extra elbow grease!! There is a new product on the market which we hope to use on all our showers which is mildew resistance. Thank you for staying at La Fontaine and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Franschhoek. Kathie (Manager/Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well run guest house in great location. Kathie and Dawn are excellent hostesses.Just 2 minor criticisms from our point of view. The area round the pool was a bit limited and it was occassionally impossible to get a lounger. We thought the balcony off bedroom 5 would at the most be shared with the other front room [room 4 I think] but it was available for the rest of the guest house which diminished the privacy of our room. Not only that but there were a couple of occassions when after being used by other guests a mess was left which we had to clear up before having a cup of tea on the balcony in the morning.

Room Tip: Front rooms in the main building have wonderful views but see the proviso above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are well aware that the swimming pool area is a little cramped but we have already planned in winter to remove the "island" flower bed to provide more space for pool loungers. Regards the clearing of the upstairs balcony I have reminded the staff to go upstairs first thing in the morning to remove any dirty glasses etc. which were left there the night before and possibly used after the staff had left at 20:00 in the evening. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Fontaine. Regards, Kathie (Owner/Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Kathie is a great host, full of energy and always wanting to help out with anything you need. The guest house is quite big, spanning three buildings with secure gated parking available.

We stayed in the former stables building, In a family suite that spanned three rooms - main bedroom, single bedroom, and a massive bathroom. The rooms were comfortable... However, it was very noisy when it was windy at night and in the mornings with people walking outside the door, as the doors are very thin!! So if you're looking for a lie in, I wouldn't recommend the stable, but a room in the main house.

Breakfast was OK - we had better in other B&Bs on our journey, but it was sufficient.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and bringing to our notice your concerns. We are constantly removing branches of the pomegranate that hang over the roof in Stables as the fruit grow at an alarming rate and can cause a noise on the roof. Regarding the noise factor of the people walking past we have stopped staff from unnecessarily walking past this room. We have also taken note on your comment on the breakfasts. Many thanks, Kathie (Ownner/Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#21 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#19 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing