We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #23 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent the last night of a two week trip at La Fontaine & it provided a fitting end to a wonderful holiday. We had seen La Fontaine on a third party website, but booked with them directly as we had a few specific requests and we couldn't have been met with a better service and their rates were extremely competetive. We were travelling as two families and needed suites and baby-sitting facilities, of which both were provided with no fuss. The suites were garden rooms which provided quite a lot of privacy and were very well layed out so we had our own outside space as well as the communal pool. The babysitter "Genie" was wonderful with the kids and we felt very confident leaving them with her whilst we were out in town for dinner (a very short stroll away). Breakfast was very good, fruit, muesli & cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses as well as a cooked option. Kathie, the owner, was extremely helpful and hospitable and we will definitely stay there when in Franschhoek again - it worked so well for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsdijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 354 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent the last 6 nights of our month tour of SA here and it went straight to the top of our list! Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, and a great area to visit. Our room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom. Many lovely restaurants on the high street in Franschhoek to experience and Dawn or Kathie will make any bookings for you. La Fontaine is in easy walking distance of the main street, but a quiet and peaceful location. Plus Franschhoek has many beautiful wineries to visit. Franschhoek and La Fontaine as a must to visit and stay! We will defineatley stay there again when we return to SA.

Room Tip: The front 2 upstairs room in the main house share a balcony which is nice for an sundowner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyLefkas_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in ~Franschhoek at La Fontaine. The welcome was good, the room was spacious, clean and very well equiped. Kathie the owner was very friendly and helpful as was her assistant Dawn. The breakfast were wonderful, everything you could think of on the cold buffet and then a cooked option.The pool was large and clean and surrounded by sunbeds and sun chairs and security was very good. Would we stay there again? Most definately.

Room Tip: The Stables in the garden was huge, 2 bedrooms, 3 wash basins, huge shower room and seperate toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was our second stop on a months motoring holiday celebrating our Golden Wedding and what a delightful find it was. A lovely building in a charming town, located a short distance from the High Street with its Shops and excellent Restraunts. We were made most welcome by Dawn who arranged for us to eat and be collected by a delightful nearby Restraunt. The Guest House rooms are large, very comfortable, wooden floors everywhere and lovely furniture. There is a very nice Guest Lounge with complimentary Sherry or Port and a delightful balcony to relax on and enjoy the evening sun. The breakfast was excellent, we stayed two nights and wished it had been longer to enjoy the comfortable and relaxing atmosphere of the Guest House and Town - we look forward to returning to this lovely area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We just spent one night at LaFontaine but it was a great experience. The owner and staff are very helpful. The family room we stayed in was very nicely decorated, very cosy. it was very welcoming to our children. The breakfast was very nice as well. We had it outside in the lovely garden. We really recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBouville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I absolutely loved this place! Wanted to stay longer than we did. If ever I come back, which I hope, that will be the place I will be staying at. Sooo much nicer than a 5-star hotel. Lovely (very British) bedroom with a working fireplace and complimentary port. So nice getting back a chilly evening to sit down at the fireplace, enjoy a glass of port and (in my case) the company of the housecat, who favoured me with sleeping in my bed. I loved it! Waking up in the morning, the cat still sleeping on the bed, I lighted the fire and enjoyed the waking up before going out into a lavender field with a background of ragged mountains. Cat by the pool. Lovely staff, wonderful stay and just opposite the guesthouse a really good restaurant, Le Gourmet!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

La Fontaine was okay -- definitely comfortable and well-located but nothing to rave about. The swimming pool was pleasant. The bathroom was spacious and had a great skylight, which let in tons of light. The skylight in the bedroom, however, was covered by a shade which was broken and would not retract, which made the room quite dark. It would have been good to open the bedroom curtains to let in some light, but our room directly adjoined the breakfast patio, so that would have meant no privacy at all. The best part was the location. It's within easy walking distance of some pretty great restaurants, including The Tasting Room at le Quartier Francais and Reuben's.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Fontaine. We will certainly attend to the catch on the ceiling skylight so that one can let in more light. We are looking at ideas to make the Lavender room's patio more private and have asked our son who is a qualified landscaper for his advice. He gained wonderful experience having studied at Longwood gardens, Pennsylvania USA. Regards, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
206 reviews
4.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 64 in Franschhoek
315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $146 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing