We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Must in Franschhoek!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed June 14, 2009

If your going to Franschoek then there is only on place to stay... Le Franschoek. Everything about the place was amzing, from the finish of the hotels rooms, the stunning views and the service from the staff. We only spent 2 nights here but we wished we could have spent 2 weeks!!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Standards80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 667 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

The rooms were wonderful and the backdrop of the mountains is just stunning. The room was clean and everything worked well. The restaurant in the hotel also had stunning views of the valley although we didn't eat there. I can't really comment on service too much as we didn't ask them for much during our 2-day stay although I will say they didn't know how to work the heat (it was cold when we went) and they forgot to book us for massages. They were able to make dinner reservations no problem though (again, it was low season so this shouldn't have been hard anyway).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I was very happy with my room here - it was spacious and very comfortable and everything worked in it. Also had a balcony with a superb view.
The terrace of the hotel is also really nice for enjoying drinks outside, with great views.
The drawback of the place is that the staff are very slow (eg drinks took ages, breakfast was very disorganised, with long delays for tables to be cleared etc). There are lots of staff but most of them are ineffectual.
The other thing I disliked was the loud music played outside at the Orchard restaurant, which is audible on the balconies of the rooms at that end of the hotel. So you can't just enjoy the view in peace, you have to hear loud cheesy pop music. It is a strange decision to play it - surely the lovely setting is atmosphere enough!
We did eat at the Orchard Restaurant one night and the food was good (though there are better places in downtown Franschhoek eg Le Bon Vivant), and the music wasn't too distracting (we asked for a quiet table)
The hotel could be great if a decent manager came in, but at the moment it definitely isn't there yet. Still, I would stay there again as overall I liked the setting and the rooms.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RoseIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

stayed there for just one night during our honeynoon. I have to say, it was a fantastic spot. Very clean and airy and very plush. Would loved to have stayed there for longer, the pool is fab and the atmosphere is calm and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We booked a 2 storey chalet as there we're 2 adults and 2 small children. Although nicely decorated in concept (modern with whites and greys) the finishings were hardly 5-star. Especially the bathrooms as I would expect a 5 star hotel to have better fittings and better quality tiling. The food was of a good standard and the general service was fine. However babysitting was a strange concept to the hotel (not what I would expect of this star grading) and we were eventually given one of the off duty receptionist trainees to babysit (at an exorbitant hourly fee). The hotel was quite grande throughout but we both feel that the reception area could be a bit nicer as the reception desk was shabby and pokey. Other than that not bad but expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethJDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The hotel is located in the heart of the winelands and offers great views on this lovely region (though less lovely than those @ La Petite Ferme) as well as a good base to visit it. The chalets are spacious and agreeable, the decoration, sober and minimal. Though the staff is friendly and outgoing, doing their best, the management is pretty poor and we have been on the receiving end of substandard service, not acceptable in general, but even less when the hotel charges 250 pounds per night, which is very high in South Africa.
Our phone was broken which means we could not communicate at all with the reception, order in, book Spa treatments, basically ask any questions which was annoying and despite staying there 5 nights and chasing the personnel, the problem was left unsolved and nobody cared really. Also service is very slow, you kind of need to know one hour in advance that you will need to eat because this is how long it takes to get a greek salad. The handle of the balcony door was broken and we could not close it...it took them 2 hours to fix this and us to ask 2 times as we were supposed to go out and could not wait some more. Etc, etc. This is basically junior management.
The Spa is very good - I had treatments everyday and the personnel is very skilled.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My husband & I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Le Franschhoek hotel this weekend. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! We spent all weekend in the hotel grounds, at the pool or at the Le Verger restaurant for dinners both evenings. We felt it unnecessary to go out to the town as the restaurants were stunning and offered something to suit everyone. The staff are exceptionally friendly. We will definitly be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $136 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing