We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
308
227
125
74
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
227
125
74
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdish restaurantlovely hotelthatched roofbeautiful settingfine diningcape townunderfloor heatingmain buildingviews of the mountainsminute drivelounge areastayed here for two nightsmini barlovely rooma lovely staywine tourwine country
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 773 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Beautiful hotel with excellent facilities.
Was a tad sceptical prior to arrival because of reviews here, but totally unfounded. Of the six places we stayed in south africa, this was the best. It says 5 star, and I'd say it was.
The room was spacious, well furnished, very comfortable with clean and elegant ensuite. Thatched roof was unusual but cool touch. Didn't leak and didn't make it dusty or anything.

We ate in their fine dining restaurant and I'd say pound for pound, its probably the best meal I've had in ages. Superb.
The dining room was pretty quiet, but that's hardly the chef's fault.

The hotel is out of the village, but they'll shuttle you in and out of town no probs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hendrys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This was the last hotel of six that we stayed at during a three-week holiday in South Africa. All of our hotels had been 4 or 5 star and the Le Franschhoek, although graded 5 star, didn't really meet the grade consistently and fell short of the level of quality of the other five hotels - including the four star ones. One of the main drawbacks is the quality of rooms. The first room (number 3) we were allocated was, at best, only 4 star quality: it was on the small side, but, more significantly, it lacked features and fittings that one would expect of a five star hotel room. For example, although room service meals were available there was no table at which to eat - not even a coffee table - and only one chair. There were no coat hooks on the walls or backs of doors (apart from one for bathrobes in the bathroom) so that when we came in from shopping in the rain there was nowhere to hang our dripping wet coats. This was also the only of our 5 star hotels that didn't provide free wireless internet access. Compared with the Twelve Apostles hotel in Cape Town - which we had just come from, and which represents the height of luxury and quality and offers guests every convenience and facility they could possibly want - this was way below par in terms of room quality. We were moved to a larger room (54) which had its own patio/balcony area and which represented what we consider the minimum five star standard (having a coffee table and two easy chairs; twin washbasins; a decent sized floor area) but there was still no dining table and chairs, nor any wall hooks, and certainly none of the fittings and furnishings that reflect consideration for guests' needs - the detail that marks out in a class of their own hotels like the Twelve Apostles.
Whilst some individual members of staff were excellent in the service they provided, this level of service and a feel for what guests want and expect of 5 star hotels was lacking in many. Having said this, we didn't find any problems of attitude - all staff were helpful and courteous, it was just that some of them just didn't 'get it'. This, of course, is a recruitment and training-related problem. Similarly, despite her courteous and pleasant demeanour, the concierge didn't really seem to appreciate the kinds of roles that a five-star concierge is expected to undertake, such as finding out specific information requested by guests. (We asked if she could find out if a specific Champions League match was being televised, and, if so, on what channel, and her response was simply to suggest that we drop into the bar and see if it was on the TV there.) She seemed to see her role as simply arranging bookings for trips and other things - and her young male sidekick was next to useless.
On the plus side, we thought the breakfast was very good, offering a wide range of foods - and, at my request, the cooks happily made me porridge to my specification. Yet, even here, much was more 4 than 5 star standard; cooked breakfasts weren't cooked to order, but were left standing in heated, covered dishes - although omelettes and eggs were cooked to specification. Breakfast food we found generally very good, and room service food was equally good, delivered quickly, and delivered hot, by a very pleasant and professional waitress. Customer service was also very good. Our complaints were dealt with effectively and efficiently and we were compensated with complimentary drinks/bottle of wine and a personal letter of apology from the manager. The under-managers seemed very efficient, competent and on-the-ball, and well trained. Nevertheless, there's still something missing; it still doesn't come up to scratch and we almost certainly would not stay there again. What it boils down to is that our stay was most satisfactory, but not exceptional, and five star should, in our view, be exceptional. That's what you pay for, and in all the other hotels we stayed in, that's what we got.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smitherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We chose to get married at a wine farm and after viewing numerous farms we fell in love with Le Franschhoek. The views were spectacular, the food was fantastic (we had lunch to sample the food) and the hotel was just beautfiful.

We stayed in the 2 bed self catering chalets, and they were better than expected. Very spacious, clean and with all the mod cons. Room service could be ordered if need be. I had to call reception a number of times and they were always very effecient, even though it was for odd request ei a glass of milk, a safety pin etc.

As a wedding location we stuck gold. It was well managed and almost everything went to plan. One of the canapes I had ordered was not served but as no one ate (due to the 40 degree temp) it was not serious.

We had dinner both nights in the 2 different restaurants and the fab was fantastic. There were a few issues with the payments due to it being a wedding but it was quickly sorted.

Breakfast was lovely with a very wide range of choice.

I have to agree the concierge was a waste of space but overall my stay was excellent and nothing is every perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmumto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during a 2 week holiday in the Western Cape. Following days in Cape Town and Hermanus it was the undoubted accommodation highlight of our trip.

We had read some dissappointing reviews and arrived with some concerns as a result. It was difficult to believe that we were staying in the same hotel. We arrived in the late afternoon. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient and we were shown directly to our room. We did notice welcome drinks awaiting the arrival of other guests during our stay. I suppose that a very minor quibble would be that it would be nice for all guests to be shown this courtesy as we were not.

Our room (21) was delightful. A high thatched roof ceiling, enormous bed and wonderful views over the pool to the mountains in the background. The turndown service could not be faulted and plenty of drinking water is now provided.

We took advantage of the offer to be booked into the hotel's 'fine dining' restaurant and had no regrets. Fine dining is available by the bucket load in Franschoek and this was probably the best restaurant we sampled during our week in the town. The service was impeccable, the advice on wine knowledgeable and entertaining, and the food absolutely delicious. Fine dining yes, nouvelle cuisine most definitely not.

The hotel was quite quiet during our stay so we had no problems with a lack of sunbeds around the pool. Service in the public areas was always very attentive and - when any problems did occur - they were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner.

The spa was also beautifully appointed and the therapists friendly and very competent.

In summary, we found the hotel to be well run, the service friendly and attentive and the building and its surroundings utterly enchanting.

One final recommendation. Try a tasting menu at Rust en Vrede wine cellars near Stellenbosch. Get the hotel to arrange transport as we did as you will not want to miss the food and wine pairings. Sensational!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RichardM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at Le Franschoek at the beginning of March and had low expectations given the previous reviews...however we had a really pleasant stay...

We arrived an hour earlier than the 2pm check in time, but were showed to the lounge and ordered a delicious lunch and drinks until our room was available.

Our room (14) was spacious and so too the bathroom, the hotel also supplied a cot for our 9 month old baby. Ok the carpets could do with replacing...but hey it was going to stop me enjoying my holiday! Room service and the laundry service were excellent, we even used the taxi service although it was very over priced! 200 rand to get into 3km into Franschoek!

We found the majority of staff to be very attentive, the manager in the lounge was superb and definitely kept his staff on their toes. We only came across two staff in the lounge who couldn't have improved their service.

We even booked a babysitter who was lovely and enjoyed a night out and even a night in the restaurant too.

We even used the spa and had massages and the staff there were great.

We didn't really do breakfast so couldn't comment, but the food in the lounge was lovely. All reception staff were very helpful and attentive and we didn't find them aloof or rude at all...and we were made very welcome even though we had a baby and this isn't really a child venue, although they did go out of their way to make it as child friendly as possible.

The pool however is disappointing, it was very cold even though it was in the 30's! and there are hardly any loungers..this is one area that could be vastly improved.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loopy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews