We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect meal at DISH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The perfect meal at DISH”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

OK, it is not in town and you have to drive a few minutes but it's worth it. We had a set menu as part of a package deal and sometimes this option is not to everyone's satisfaction. But in this case everything was perfect. The selection of the courses was great and complimented each other and all 5 courses were absolutely fantastic. Perfect in size and flavor. The butternut soup was a dream and the beef fillet was the best I had in a very long time (and I eat a lot of fillets). Even the apple torte tartin which sounded like nothing special was outstanding. Just a pity that the restaurant was so empty. It deserves a lot more food lovers

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JogM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    195
    110
    65
    32
See reviews for
114
342
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for two nights. We did get a complementary half bottle of fizz, which was lovely. The hotel is nice but location is poor as it's too far out of town to walk and there is no complementary car offered. They do have a local driver that does the run for 100r which was fine.
Check in was poor, they couldn't find our reservation which seems to be a regular thing as we hard another couple being told the same later that day. There were four people working most times at reception, way to many.
Breakfast was tasty but dinner was only ok. The hotel don't deal with cash, never had change so it's hard to tip or pay with cash. The staff were very friendly and nice.
The pool area was not well kept but looked lovely in the morning but unfortunately after lunch the area could be cleaned up with fresh towels etc.
There is wifi but only at the end of the lounge/bar area not all over the bar or hotel. Which was a little annoying.
Our room was nice but as there was a thatched roof and carpet we found afew bugs in the room. The carpet could have been cleaned a little bit better.

All in all we had a an average stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Staff were courteous, helpful and very professional. A special mention must go to Andrew the concierge who gave us excellent advice on vineyards to visit and the best roads to choose.
Food was of a very good standard and the grounds were immaculate.
Rooms were very nice with plenty of space.
We were originally given rooms 1 and 15 but there was noise from the kitchen and we asked for a move. This was done with no fuss.
The hotel had lovely features including a thatched roof and exposed beams. The public areas were beautifully appointed with very comfortable sofas and chairs.
There is a courtesy taxi service to the town.
All in all a very nice experience in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is hidden in Franschhoek, and gives one a sense of peaceful and serenity. This is a good hotel and serves great breakfast. The hotel is well maintained. While breakfast is excellent, dining falls short and can be improved. Ample parking and a good spa complete the offerings. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Globegourmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I am attending a wedding in the area. I am here with my 6 year old and 8 year old boys. I got a room with a loft: a double bed for me & 2 single beds for my boys. It was perfect!! Got back to our room on the 1st night and there was milk & cookies waiting for them next to their beds. The kids were super excited! Very clean rooms & comfortable beds... I would totally recommend this hotel for couples or families with kids.... Cosy is the first word that comes to mind when you get here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Rooms were clean, breakfast and dinner was nice, but this was definitely not a five star hotel, however staff was rude, and unaccommodating. At the price you're paying there allot of other place in Franschhoek I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louannmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

this hotel is approx 5min drive out of franschhoek in beautiful surrounds, the distance away actually helps it feel chilled and 'away from it all'.
we had room 16 which was a standard room but loads of character with double height ceiling and thatched roof detail on the inside. it was large, peaceful.
breakfast was good, service helpful but with occasional slowness and mistakes but always a smile, everything was clean, so all the basics are here.
just needs some tightening up as these things weren't so good; at swimming pool dirty glasses and plates etc from the day before still hanging about and hadn't been cleared, there is a relentless jazz covers Cd playing in the lounges etc which drives you a bit mad after a while (!), and internet connection is really terrible AND you have to pay for this which feels very old fashioned it should be standard these days.
but a lovely hotel overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing