We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I booked the spa for my bridal party the day before my wedding and it was anything but relaxing. Despite the appointment being booked for weeks, there was absolutely nothing that the staff did to make it feel like a special occasion. On arrival we were simply each whisked away into separate, dark, sterile rooms (NO-ONE even showed us the surrounding areas, we didn't even see a pool). As we were all getting manis and pedis I was expecting something a bit more sociable whereby myself and my bridesmaids could all chat and enjoy the experience together before the big day. The manis and pedis were THE worst I've ever had (and I've been to a lot of spas all over the world) It was so bad that we all had to drop into Clicks straight after and buy nail polish remover and nail polish to redo them (bare in mind this is the night before my wedding!) I could go and on about how the manager and staff just contributed to one stress after another for me but I don't want to waste any more energy on this place. Simply put, it's completely over-priced (and that's for UK prices even), the manager is totally incapable, the staff are not trained properly, the facilities are falsely advertised on the website and overall it was an incredibly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear gabi e,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of Camelot Spa on Tripadvisor.
I will immediately asked the Camelot Spa management to get into contact with you to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 670 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The treatments were very nice and your staff very pleasant, although we experienced the 'detox' hard-sell as a bit of an invasion of our privacy and an intrusion of our anniversary celebration.

I mentioned that we were coming to celebrate and none of the staff acknowledged the occasion and no special arrangements were made, they even forgot about the booked couples room!

Secondly, we were actually very disappointed with the actual facilities. When you look on the website for the spa there is a picture of a pool with loungers around it which give the impression that between treatments you could relax around the pool and on arrival we were only shown this really clinical and boring relax room with no reading material or no outside option and a locked fridge with enticing Vitamin Waters and not at all making the most of the beautiful surroundings of the village of Franschhoek.

Furthermore they advertise that they have a Swiss shower, however this is not in working order and the room in which it is supposed to be is stuffed with all kinds of stuff. The sauna was also not cleaned and we had to wait for it to be cleaned before we could use it.

An other thing is that the spa did not feel well-maintained and/or clean and that the reception staff was not friendly or welcoming. Certainly not in line with being associated with a 5-star hotel next door. And really, a 5-star spa should have a more luxurious option for body wash and shampoo then standard 3-star hotel issue stuff! Really disappointing!

All in all, although the treatments were satisfactory, we won't be visiting this particular Camelot spa ever again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BibiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear BibiSouthAfrica,

thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I will forward your feedback to Camelot Spa management for action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are at this exact moment at the Franschhoek Hotel, in South Africa, have 2 suites prepaid for 2 nights.
Everybody here are very snobbish as if the do you a favor to host you... I have been in hundreds of hotels around the world, one can be snobbish but one has to keep up,to,their snobbishness... Here they don't get even close, it's full of nothing but the nose up ...
Restaurant Le Verger, only one table (us 4) at 8:30 PM, got our food finally served 1 hour 30 minutes after we sat down : food was cold, we have been explained snobbishly if we knew how long it takes to cook frozen fries... This is a supposed FIVE Stars hotel...
We were told that we can buy a voucher in order to get WiFI in our suite for as many devices as we wish, we did so and found out that only one device can use it, we call the front desk they sent someone to say that they don't understand the problem and will get back to us, now nobody answer the phone at this 5 Stars front desk...
Rooms are ok but bathrooms, specially the showers are at the level, of a Holiday Inn in Cedar Rapids, USA...
HORRIBLE... go to the next B&B...

Room Tip: go the next B&B in the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albertTahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear albertTahiti ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am truly sorry that this was your experience. Normally we are known for our warm and friendly staff and I deeply regret that you did not experience this. The instances you mention are defintely not acceptable and I would like you to know that I see this in a very serious light. We have addressed this issue appropriately internally.

Wishing you well in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent 1 night and very happy with our choice. Only disappointment was for the hotel itself in that it was not busier. We had a special rate but the regular rate is very expensive and I am sure that that is the major stumbling block. The hotel itself is lovely and the views out over the Franschhoek Valley are spectacular. Our room was up on the third floor, on a corner and we had an unobstructed view of the mountains. The room has clean lines and nice earthy tones. Understated and lovely thatch if you are on the top floor. Toilet is a bit of a challenge when standing as the roof angle in the loft rooms, ok, maybe TMI :)
The breakfast was exceptional!! Lovely feel. Staff friendly professional but not in your face

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for such a lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely setting and location. Tennis court not swept and broken racket, swimming pool had leaves in the pool and the bottom was dirty. Not what one would expect from a hotel of this standard. Room great but a few things broken and in need of repair. Recently returned to the Uk and stayed for 2 nights. Concierge was helpful and booked a vineyard tasting and restaurants. On 2 occasions when we arrived they didn't have us down as booked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggins L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

* Small room, tidy and clean.
* Nice pool area
* Tenniscourt, but no balls or rackets (broken)
* No internet included, you have to pay extra!!! R30 for 30 min.
* Good food (dinner and breakfast)
Overpriced!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonniebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Bonniebe

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and happy to report that we have replaced the tennis rackets and balls. At the moment we only have complimentary wi-fi in the public areas but this year we will be working on having it available in the bedrooms on a complimentary basis too.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel was everything one would expect from a 5* hotel. All of the staff were extremely courteous and polite, just a little reserved. The setting is breathtaking and our room had a double aspect view of the mountains. Security is obviously a concern and nobody gets past the gate until identities have been checked. Whilst we could not fault anything the atmosphere just felt a little sterile.

Room Tip: Room 26 has the most amazing views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $141 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing