We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destressing post wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Having had our daughters wedding at another venue in Franschhoek and the family off our hands we decided to destress by staying at the Franschhoek hotel and spa - recommended by the grooms family who had stayed here pre-wedding.
Well - everything was perfect for us with a good inclusive dinner package (we had eaten out for a week) a nice quiet suite overlooking the vineyards and almost solitude as the hotel was very quiet in early March. Fantastic mountain views.
We picked this hotel as it was away from the town and we hate traffic noise (not much anyway in the area). It only took a few minutes to drive anywhere and our day trips ranged out to the other side of Stellenbosch - about a 25 minute drive.
Restaurant dining was good although the very friendly service could have been a little quicker, the food was excellent. Room service was also spot on with a quoted time of 40 minutes being met on schedule. The breakfast buffet was also well laid out offering excellent choices for either light or full on breakfast dining.
Our only concern is that we would have loved a swim in the pool but it was freezing.
We will certainly return to the area but at the top end of the market you are spoilt for choice of accommodation so your options are huge.

Room Tip: In known quiet periods it pays to either ring up or visit your final choices of hotel and negotiate...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Plato52,

I am so glad that you managed to destress, even during a wedding which we all know can defintely add to the stress levels! Thank you for the great report and I hope that we will see you soon.
Happy Travels,
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 667 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a fabulous couple of nights staying here in early February. Lovely spacious comfortable room, superb views of mountains all round, and nice food. Our only gripe (and yes, it's a minor one if you have a car) was with our travel agents brochure which described this as "only a short walk from the heart of the village". We clocked the distance as being exactly 2 miles to the beginning of the village, and it was at least another 1/4 mile to "the heart" ; and it's certainly not a road you'd want to walk down at night. So please don't imagine that you'll be walking into Franschhoek from this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Chris S,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you considered your stay a fabulous one at Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa! You are right in terms of the distance to the village. It is inconvenient to walk back from town after dinner in the dark.
We have listened to our guests feedback now offer 3 complimentary return shuttles to and from the village daily in our brand new luxury vehicles.

Happy travels and hope to see you soon!
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Went for treatment at Camelot spa. Wonderful ambiance, beautiful treatment rooms, great therapist. Slightly more expesnive than other spas but I believe it to be worth the extra cost. Agree with other reviewers they need to be careful not to try and sell you a product every time.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear LondonWordCupFan,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the award winning Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa. We were voted The Top Hotel in Africa in the 2010 Conde Nast Readers Travelers Choice award and our staff live the philosophy that we assist our guests in creating memories.
Thank you for such positive feedback! We will do our best to keep it up and expand upon it.

Happy Travels
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stay for 2 nights in February was not impressed with Reception or its rushed booking in. We were having a standard room that this what we had - bathroom needed work done to it and as for the blinds - they need to be replaced. We used Le Verger restaurant for our meals good food and service pity the gas heaters were not working at the rear of the restaurant.
Excellent location for investigating Frnschhoek.

Room Tip: Make certain you have a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fansKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear fansKent ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am glad that you liked our location. Our corner of the valley truly is spectacular.
I am sorry that your room and check in experience was not fantastic. Please be assured that we will work on those concerns to esnure that they are eliminated in future.
I hope that we can welcome you back in future to le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa.

Happy Travels!
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Having just stayed at Franschhoek Country House & Villas the look and feel of this place was vastly better. Our guest manager who checked us in was fantastic and went out of his way to make us feel at home.

For a 4* star venue this place was exceptionally good. The rooms were spacious and clean with superb views.

The only downsides were:

1) No stocked mini-bar. You have to request that is replenished before you check-in. Strange.
2) Communal areas on ground floor need renovating or some warmth added. It is clinical white but not in a good way. An 80s way. The breakfast room is like eating at a hospital and is too white first thing in the morning.

Still that said...we are going back this weekend and getting a better room. We enjoyed it.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Anthony W,

Thank you for posting your review. We have now added a bit of warmth to our lounge and bar area. In terms of La Pavillion where breakfast is served: after your feedback I have taken a long and hard look at the venue and although I used to like it I must say that I now agree with you.
It is very stark for the early morning. Therefore we have decided to bring in some other tones on the walls to make it a bit more welcoming. I shall post photos as soon it is done and would love your feedback, or better yet drive out for a lovely High Tea and see it in person.
Thank you for assisting us in creating better experiences.

Happy Travels
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Le Franschhoek exceeeded all of my expectations beginning with the efficient check-in, and the beautiful villa with Christmas cookies and gifts, sweets, and DVD's for our children. Our villa was immaculate and came with a kitchen and two bedrooms and two balconies. The best part was waking up in the morning to the most magnificent view of the wine country and the walk in the fresh air. Our waiter Julian, at Dish was patient and detailed -- food was magnificent. All of the staff called us by name and the GM of the hotel even came out to greet us and make sure we were well looked after. All in all, it was a very quaint, comfortable, and personal experience. It's luxury and hospitality done the more traditional and old-fashioned way, in keeping with the wine country and the area. We also went to the nearby Haute Cabriere for lunch and the Franschhoek Motor Museum -- which was lovely. I'm so glad we decided to take a few days to stay out in Franscchoek -- well worth the trip if you have a couple extra days to spend in Cape Town.

Room Tip: The villas are superb and a perfect choice when you have a larger group of people or a family...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonWorldCupFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear LondonWorldCup,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Le Franschhoek experience.
I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in future.

Best wishes for 2012 and happy travels!
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spent 2 nights at Le Franschhoek Hotel, and the moment we left, we wanted to go back. It has everything. Being close to Franschhoek for it's restaurants, shopping and vineyards, to a swimming pool, sunning deck and private eating in the orchard. The place really leaves you with a "Wow!".

Not often is a place as good as the pictures on the website. Check out the toilets (off the bar are) I was so stunned, I too a picture!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordUlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear UlliDurbs

We are so glad that you liked the hotel. I must say that this is the first time that a friend of Le Franschhoek posted a photo of our cloakrooms :)
You should have turned around I am sure we could have given you a nice extension rate :)

Happy travels and hurry back!
Eben Lassen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $136 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing