We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property and Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avondrood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Avondrood Guest House in November. It was the last night of our trip to South Africa and we could not have asked for a better way to end it. Avondrood is an incredibly beautiful property, perfectly located just off the main street in the village of Franschoek. The host / co-owner, Justin, is amazing and really added to our experience in Franschoek. The breakfast is fantastic and the rooms are quiet, comfortable, and very well designed. The home and grounds are fantastic. Avondrood is an all around winner!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njkelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 589 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in Avondrood guesthouse for three nights to visit Franschhoek and the surrounding wineries. This guesthouse is a real gem, the host and (co)-owner Justin Mitchell and his team provide an excellent, relaxed and impeccable service. The small guesthouse has a perfect location on a quiet streetright next to the center of Franschhoek. The house has a nice garden and (saltwater) pool. A rich continental and cooked-to-order breakfast with a clear local taste (excellent - control yourself if you plan to have an early lunch) is served in the terrace next to the garden. There is also a very comfortable guest lounge with a fire place and bar (self service, if Justin is not around) and a small but well selected wine list. The room we stayed in (the mountain view) was very comfortable with a large bathroom and a private garden section with a sitting and lounge chair area - really enjoyable and discreet ! Rooms have tea/coffee and a good minibar. Housekeeping was provided twice a day - great ! Justin is very well connected and knowledgeable - he has the rare ability to understand the guests' preferences in planning the day and recommending restaurants - we followed his advice and were very happy indeed.

This is a very special place, great host and a wonderful staff - we loved it and will come back !

Room Tip: Mountain view room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuTaBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I arrived here, expecting a nice guesthouse, but perhaps not much more. This place delivers so much more. The setting is absolutely stunning, with gorgeous gardens and mountain backdrop. Our room was perfect - classy, clean, comfortable. But the main attraction for us here, was the warm South African hospitality, enjoying a quiet drink at the bar in the evening, and a relaxed, friendly breakfast in the morning. Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherFrancis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Justin is really a professional - we felt welcome from the very first second. The Avondrood Guest House is very good located in Franschhoek - Justin gave us very good Restaurant suggestions and the breakfast at his Guest House was just perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Csilla72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review of Avondrood Guesthouse, which is a very special review for us...it is our 50th review after just six months in our care! We are truly flattered by your comments and the comments that have been made by all of our guests.

It makes us very proud to be part of this team, in a very special Guesthouse.

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My partner and I spent four nights at Avondrood and had a wonderful time. The house itself is tastefully decorated in a rustic homely style. It is situated within east walking distance of Franschhoek and the wine tram. Justin and his team create a very relaxed and convivial atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious and set in the garden, so very chilled. We had researched nothing before we arrived. Justin was at hand with recommendations, all of which hit the spot. His team take a genuine interest in all the guests' escapades on the wine route and do their utmost to make sure everything goes perfectly.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us and we do hope that you will return for that special honeymoon or anniversary someday!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Being on the road in SA for the 3rd time, we were really lucky we could stay for a second time in Avondrood Guest House. As other reviews mentioned before us, it's difficult to find a better spot where all things come nicely together. We booked the nice Mountain View room a few months ago and learned about the chance in owner. Looking forward to go back, we were nicely surprised as of our arrival. The new host Justin is making the difference. Justin loves his job and he is doing everything to make your stay comfortable. He and his staff prepare you a great breakfast. The rooms are really clean,the garden is well kept. He knows the town and the area very well and is always ready to respond to our queries. The hospitality and service are just what we were hoping for when travelling around in SA.

Room Tip: The very nice "Mountain view" room with it's private terrace and garden corner. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC_Luzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your return visit to Avondrood! It is most pleasing to hear that our returning guests are enjoying the experience at Avondrood as much as your first visit, if not more by the sounds of it!

We sincerely hope that you will return for visit number three!!!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I returned to the Avondrood Guesthouse for a repeat visit. I did so because I had a great experience during my previous stay and with encouragement from the owner. When I went to book my recent stay I found out the the previous owner was no longer there, but I received a very encouraging welcome from the new owner, Justin Mitchell. I must say that the experience was every bit as good as my previous stay. Justin couldn't do enough to ensure that I had a comfortable stay and a delicious breakfast every morning. He attended to booking restaurant reservations and was always ready to suggest where to go and what to see while I was staying in Franschhoek. The rooms are very well appointed and quite comfortable although I would prefer just a bit more light for the nighttime. The hot tub could be warmer as well. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eitleoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondrood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondrood Guest House

Address: 39 Hugenote Street | Stellenbosch area, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $176 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondrood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm hospitality in this charming 4-star luxury Victorian Cape-Dutch style house built in 1870, facing the breathtaking mountains and located in the village of Franschhoek. In less than 2 minutes walk you’re in the village center of Franschhoek, with all their lovely restaurants and art & craft shops. Justin & Caine, your hosts from the South Africa, will offer you true hospitality and personal service. Beautiful lush 2000 square meter garden with swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Stylish, spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with king size bed (extra length), Wi-Fi, LCD-TV, DVD/CD-player, iPod docking system, alarm clock, radio, minibar. En suite bathrooms with rain shower, Victorian baths and personalized beauty care range. Enjoy home-made pastries and freshly high quality coffee during a leisurely and extensive breakfast on the terrace or indoors. Soak up the sun at the pool, or unwind in one of the cosy corners of the garden. Picnic hampers available on request. Secure off street parking. Children are welcome. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avondrood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing