We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avondrood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I took a chance on Avondrood based on online reviews. Wow, what a great choice! Justin was an exceptional host. He made some great recommendations for wineries, restaurants and activities (we had to get one day of hiking in to burn off all the calories we were consuming every day!). We had a couple chilly nights and a nice hot jacuzzi was the perfect end to the day. There was also a pool if you happen to visit in the middle of summer. The beds were comfortable (as noted by my wife, who is extraordinarily picky with such things). Our room had a free-standing tub (also tested with good reviews by my wife) and a rainfall shower-head in the shower. The room had plenty of space for my wife to strew her clothes everywhere ... just like at home. The guest-house is just a few minute walk to the center of town, which is perfect if you wanted to go heavy on the wine with dinner since you won't need to drive back. There is a large common room with a big fireplace. Since the weather was a bit chilly, Justin kept a fire going while guests were in the common room. It also had a nice self-service bar, but Justin was always around for sundowners. In addition to serving you, will provide recommendations from the bar's wine fridge. There was also a nice big TV above the bar that would be perfect for watching sports (or, my wife wants to add, BBC period dramas). Breakfast was a selection of yogurt, juice, fruit, cheeses and meats to start. You also had eggs cooked-to-order, bacon, tomatoes and a few other hot dishes to chose from. I think Justin's previous experience with Americans has taught him how to cook thin strips of crispy bacon - the only place in South Africa I've had proper "American-style" bacon. It's the little things ... In short, we had a great time and will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It's so good to hear that memories are being made with us! We sincerely hope that we can host you and your family again someday!

Kind regards,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
377
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Everything about our stay at Avondrood was exceptional. Our booking experience, the hospitality, the location, the accommodations, the garden and the breakfast were second to none. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robjo_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Avondrood Guesthouse! We sincerely hope that you will return for a longer visit next time!

Kind regards,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Franschhoek is a beautiful town. Just one street really, with world standard restaurants, high end shops and delightful galleries. The Avondrood is perfectly in tune with its surroundings. The rooms are large and comfortable - with nice little touches such as fresh lavender, magazines and maps of the local area. Service is impeccable - interested and caring without being intrusive. Breakfast, taken family style with fellow guests, is of the highest quality. I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere so welcoming and relaxing. Truly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay in Avondrood Guesthouse was everything we could wish for. Justin made us feel at home right from the moment we arrived. The room we were in (Winelands room) was very spacious with a nice bath and rain shower, but also a very comfortable bed, 2 cupboards and a minifridge. The pool and jacuzzi were great, the honesty bar offered us every drink you can think of and as the guesthouse is located on walking distance from many nice restarants, it is the perfect place to stay when you are in Franschhoek. Worth a stay of minimum 2 nights!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Avondrood Guest House is a wonderful part of a wonderful village. Justin and his staff were fantastic hosts--attentive and helpful but never overly intrusive, and our rooms (we had a suite with views of the valley) were fantastic. Four things remain in my mind: the inn's overall high quality, Justin's great recommendation to drive out through the Franschhoek Pass (an amazing experience), the kitchen staff giving me a wrapped pastry at checkout (yum!), and Justin taking the time to come out to the car two days later to chat when we stopped by to pick up a camera charger we had left behind. If we ever visit Franschhoek again, we'll stay at Avondrood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What an awesome weekend away. Beautiful accommodation in a breathtaking setting. Not only is Avondrood spotlessly clean but the attention to detail is something that one does not get to experience very often and the breakfast is a real treat. As for the manager, Justin, well if you have never been made to feel like a VIP here is your chance.

Room Tip: Theres a room for couples and families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! This is what keeps us striving towards perfection! We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of hosting you again soon!

Kind regards,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sth africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great location, beautiful setting, fantastic room and facilities. What truly sets Avondrood apart is the exceptional service and attention to detail. The management (Justin) was attentive, friendly and has a great knowledge of local attractions. Love that the guesthouse is in walking distance to the village but really no need to leave the guesthouse with an ambient guests room with a roaring open fire, cosy sofas and fully stocked bar. Bliss! We had a relaxing weekend retreat.
We would recommend this guesthouse highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Winelands room which was above our expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4lucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Avondrood Guesthouse! It sums up everything that we are trying to achieve here and more! This is what gets us excited about the coming season!

We hope that we can host you again soon!

Kind regards,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondrood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondrood Guest House

Property: Avondrood Guest House
Address: 39 Huguenot Street | Franschhoek, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondrood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm hospitality in this charming 4-star luxury Victorian Cape-Dutch style house built in 1870, facing the breathtaking mountains and located in the village of Franschhoek. In less than 2 minutes walk you’re in the village center of Franschhoek, with all their lovely restaurants and art & craft shops. Justin & Caine, your hosts from the South Africa, will offer you true hospitality and personal service. Beautiful lush 2000 square meter garden with swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Stylish, spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with king size bed (extra length), Wi-Fi, LCD-TV, DVD/CD-player, iPod docking system, alarm clock, radio, minibar. En suite bathrooms with rain shower, Victorian baths and personalized beauty care range. Enjoy home-made pastries and freshly high quality coffee during a leisurely and extensive breakfast on the terrace or indoors. Soak up the sun at the pool, or unwind in one of the cosy corners of the garden. Picnic hampers available on request. Secure off street parking. Children are welcome. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avondrood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing