We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avondrood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It doesn't get better than this!!! We stayed at Avondrood at the beginning of July and let me tell you, what a special treat it was!!! The new owners have done an incredible job at putting their special finishing touches into it, and Justin and his team go out of their way to make you feel like superstars! The rooms are clean, and beautifully decorated, there is a gorgeous old fireplace in the main lounge where you can sit on comfy couches and enjoy a glass of delicious wine, and the breakfasts are to die for!! There are beautiful gardens to relax in, a swimming pool, and even a piping hot jacuzzi (in July) to enjoy! And it was well used. Justin knows how to do little special touches to give it the wow factor! Well done guys!
I cannot rate this place more highly. Do yourself a favour.....book it!

Room Tip: Family suite upstairs if you are a family of 4 is a little haven, but all the rooms are lovely!! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 589 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend and I needed a place to stay for the Franschhoek Bastille Day celebration and happened upon this place. We booked it in a very spur of the moment decision, but I cannot stress enough how happy I am that we did. When we arrived, we were not only blown away by the quality of the guest house and our own personal room, but by the hospitality. Justin, one of the owners, was so friendly and accommodating right from the start, inviting us to join him in the lounge for a drink before we went out to dinner. The three of us ended up talking for over an hour and Justin seemed genuinely interested in getting to know us.
The following morning, we were floored by the delicious breakfast. Not only was there a huge quantity of food, but the quality was incredible. I especially enjoyed the chef's personal recipe of rooibos iced tea (you have to try it!). Once again that evening, we met Justin for a drink in the lounge, but this time the other owner, Caine, was also there. The two of them together are HILARIOUS. Seriously, they are practically polar opposites and together make the perfect team. I sound like a broken record, but I really need to reiterate how hospitable they both were and how truly enjoyable it was to get to know each of them.
No matter who you are, if you plan on going to South Africa you HAVE to stay at this place. Like seriously, plan an entire trip to Franschhoek just to stay at Avondrood (don't get me wrong, the wineries aren't bad either). Though many people think of B&B's as something for couples, my friend and I are both 21-year-old girls that loved the experience and cannot keep telling our friends to stay here. I could actually write so much more great things, but I am going to cut myself off before a break my keyboard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drouinrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We sincerely hope that we can host you again before you return home!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As many of the previous reviews have mentioned, the room quality and service of this guest house is outstanding, but for us it was also the location that made it such a pleasure to stay.
It is in the centre of the beautiful town of Franschhoek and walking distance to some of South Africa's finest restaurant's. The view of the maintains from the property is breath taking yet you are only a 2 minute walk to Franschhoek's main street.
I would highly recommend this property for a luxury break-away as it is an ideal base to explore Franschhoek and the rest of the wine lands.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and we were fortunate enough the see a few others and they all seemed beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel19491955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Yes, each room has its own decor theme such as Old Village, Sea, Winelands, Safari and Mountain View!

We would love to have you try all of them in the near future!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Franschhoek during the Bastille festival and parking was a mess.
Arriving at Avondrood what a relief ,not on the main street,secure parking and walking distance from the centre of town.
Arrive two hours earlier and everything was all ready in place.
Personal touch nice and cosy and could not ask for more friendly people.

Room Tip: "Winelands room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and are so happy that you enjoyed the Bastille Festival weekend with us! Did you know that Franschhoek holds a festival every month of the year? We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of hosting you for the next one, which is the Winter Wine Festival, held in August at the Motor Museum!

Kind regards,
Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Avondrood in late June, just after the new owner took over. On our arrival, we enjoyed a lovely glass of wine by the cosy fire as Justin chatted to us about what they have done recently with Avondrood. They have a beautiful new bar which is fully stocked. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are very luxurious with satellite tv, ipod docking stations, well stocked bar fridge. The bathroom had a ball & claw bath & a beautiful large shower. Luxury at its finest. Justin actually took the time to show us around and each room has been decorated differently. It gives it such a quaint & cosy atmosphere, not like you're staying at a hotel.

We have a 2 year old daughter and they accommodated us wonderfully. They have lovely plastic cups and plates for kids (as each time we go to a restaurant, I'm really hoping another glass isn't smashed on the floor), they kept asking if we needed anything for her (which alot of guesthouses seem to forget that children have different needs to adults!), and a lovely range of child friendly DVD's. They even offer to organise a babysitter if you so require. Justin wasn't phased by a toddler running around, which helped us to relax too.

We were served a lovely continental breakfast in the morning with fresh croissants, and the option of a hot breakfast after this. Once we had checked out of our room, we weren't rushed out of there.

Really, nothing was too much for Justin and his team. This was truly hospitality at it's finest.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Avondrood in early July for 2 nights in the family suite upstairs. Having stayed in Franschhoek a few times before, we know the area is famous for quality accommodation and Avondrood certainly did not disappoint. Justin and his team have apparently just taken over ownership and they really do make you feel at home. They have revonated the downstairs communal area and it really is superb. The bar has been done really well and they have have a very large open fireplace which is a great way to unwind at the end of the day. The accommodation is great with very comfortable beds and the rooms are large and very clean. Breakfast was served downstairs and it really was beautiful. Not sure where they get their bacon from, but you must try their bacon on toast!! The gardens are absolutely fantastic and we really can't wait to visit again in the summer and spend sometime around the pool. All in all a really fantastic property. Everything works well and Justin and his team couldn't be more helpful. Do yourself a favour and just book!!

Room Tip: Have a drink at the bar and enjoy the open fireplace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maka2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We certainly look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My mom and I stayed at Avondrood for 2 nights in July and were very sad to leave this beautiful home-away-from-home. The new owner Justin was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. As we were his first guests since taking over the establishment, on arrival he spoiled us with a lovely bubbly and friendly chat by fireplace.

Walking into the main area in the evenings was always so welcoming. The fire would be going and the ambience was just gorgeously inviting. Justin also graciously upgraded us to a beautifully decorated superior room.

What makes this place so great is the culmination of all the tinier details and the amazing people. The linen and bedding smelt fresh and clean, which is a big concern of mine when going away. The rooms were spotless and with large comfortable beds. When returning from a cold winters night out, the turn down service had us returning to a lovely warmed room and a chocolate next to our bed. The beautifully manicured gardens were immaculate and the lounging area was always inviting, warm and homely. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh and hearty.

This review of Avondrood sounds too good to be true, but let me reassure it is not. Avondrood is top class and I just cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character and are absolutely stunning. You can't go wrong with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondroodguesthouse, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review! This really goes a long way in motivating our team! We certainly hope that we'll have the opportunity of hosting you again soon!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondrood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondrood Guest House

Address: 39 Hugenote Street | Stellenbosch area, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $176 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondrood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm hospitality in this charming 4-star luxury Victorian Cape-Dutch style house built in 1870, facing the breathtaking mountains and located in the village of Franschhoek. In less than 2 minutes walk you’re in the village center of Franschhoek, with all their lovely restaurants and art & craft shops. Justin & Caine, your hosts from the South Africa, will offer you true hospitality and personal service. Beautiful lush 2000 square meter garden with swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Stylish, spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with king size bed (extra length), Wi-Fi, LCD-TV, DVD/CD-player, iPod docking system, alarm clock, radio, minibar. En suite bathrooms with rain shower, Victorian baths and personalized beauty care range. Enjoy home-made pastries and freshly high quality coffee during a leisurely and extensive breakfast on the terrace or indoors. Soak up the sun at the pool, or unwind in one of the cosy corners of the garden. Picnic hampers available on request. Secure off street parking. Children are welcome. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avondrood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing