We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific start to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Akademie Street in the beautiful town of Franschoek was the first stop on our honeymoon along the Garden Route. We stayed for two nights in the Vreugde room with its own secluded verandah, garden and pool. From the time we arrived in the hotel to the time we left we felt spoilt by the brilliant customer service. The breakfasts each morning outside in the garden was a definite highlight with a platter of fresh fruit, homemade muesli and smoothies together with a cooked breakfast. Two restaurants I can recommend for dinner was Reubens and The Tasting Room - rather pricey but well worth the experience.

I couldn't recommend a visit to Franschoek enough especially with a stay in Akademie Street.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank TanyaWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our second visit to Akademie Street was even better than the first - if that is possible. The staff are as friendly and caring as ever, the accommodation as peaceful and welcoming as ever. What continues to impress is their desire to constantly improve - this year espresso coffee machines have been added to the cottages, and a newspaper of your choice is outside your cottage when you get up. What will they think of next? We're going to find out as we are now booking up our third trip! Thanks Arthur, Katherine, Hazel and the team for making our stay in Franschhoek wonderful again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartthefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

great location, charming owners, cosy room with little plunge pool that got afternoon sun. The best breakfast on out trip, especially the local sausages. Lovely dog (even if you don't like dogs!) It was the perfect base.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilycompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed and yet again it was a truely wonderful experience. Katherine and Arthur, along with their team, make you feel like you are guests in their home, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. We stayed in Uitsig which is large, beautiful, comfortable,clean,equiped with everything you would need for your stay, making it feel like home, but a much better version.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank LS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Everything has already been said. The attention to detail is remarkable. Nothing is too much trouble for Katherine and Arthur and their staff. As a Coeliac travelling can be difficult but they sent not only a list of local restaurants but had contacted them to see who could provide gluten free. They went out of their way to accommodate at breakfast too, which was just delicious. It is a haven of peace and tranquility and we won't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dollybarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We were here 2 nights during the final part of our 4 week trip thru SA.
Used the Lodge "Vreugde" and from there toured around in the area before our final stay in Cape Town. Very pleasant hosts. Only suggestion for improvemant relates to our big suitcases for which there is ample space available and its contents cannot be stored in the closets.....but that was often the case in the lodges we stayed at in SA

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had two nights in the wonderful Uitsig suite, and we should have stayed longer. Franschhoek is lovely. Everything has been said in the previous reviews, service is great, breakfasts are amazing, Complimentary minibar and laundry is a great touch and very welcome. And of course the lovely Anna, she is an absolute delight, and obviously loves being the centre of attention! Akademie will be our only choice of accommodation when we return to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollinsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $326 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing