We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,287 results
Traveler rating
1,247
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithought of everythingthe main housefruit platterguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barsouth africalittle extrashis team
Filter
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 1,287 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Certainly not the cheapest place in town, but if you can afford to treat yourself - this is THE place to be in Franschhoek.

Sumptuously comfortable, supremely helpful and friendly owners and staff, superb location in easy walking distance of the main street's restaurants and bars.

It's wonderful. If it's within your budget, don't waste time looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twojackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here with my wife on our honeymoon earlier this month - Franschoek is stunning and the Akademie Guesthouse is amazing. Arthur and the family went out of their way to help us - their lovely staff even got me a doctor's appointment at short notice. The breakfast was excellent - large selection of homemade preserves, bread, etc. The room and grounds were beautiful but it's really the homely feel and outstanding service that make us want to come back. We're already talking about returning next year, and spending more time in Franschoek, at the Akademie Street!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rish123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Akademie Street Guest House is like a haven in an already exquisite part of the country, Franschhoek.
Katherine and Arthur have done an amazing job in building and decorating the spacious and wonderful rooms. You feel like you are at home, with the family library books, personal touches, complete with house dog!
Breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshest fruit salad and the best of everything.
What a wonderful place to enjoy and to relax in complete tranquility!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquibcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

we have just returned from South Africa and the Akademie Street was our last stop. My husband and i were in the gelantheid house - it was superb. You have your own garden and pool to just chill in , whilst aveiling yourself of the range of free beverages. katherine and her staff are so helpful, they discussed restaurants with us and booked our wine tour. The breakfasts were top class. I would recommend this beautiful setting to one and all

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Akademie Street Guest House for four nights starting October 10th in the Oortuiging house. Arthur, Katherine, Hazel and Raphael are clearly on a mission to make you a happy and returning customer! And so are the other members of the team that you may see less, but who are certainly working as hard. Everything is top quality, starting with their website: Easy booking, clear and relevant information including availability per date. Once you are there, there is luxury in a casual setting to ensure your comfort: Complimentary mini bar and snacks, espresso machine (with milk in the fridge, enjoy a nice caffe latte!), heated towel rack, gas fire place, very good wireless Internet connection. Breakfast is an activity in itself with full service, including cold and hot meal. Hazel will gladly recommend and book restaurants for you. Should you mention that you are planning to drive to a specific place, Arthur will quickly prepare directions, and suggest restaurants and places of interests. What a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeChayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews