We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best accommodation we have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Chiswick, West London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best accommodation we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was our second visit to Akademie Street and this time we stayed in Vreugde (previoulsy in Uitsig). Our second visit was even better than the first time we stayed and we personally preferred Vreugde where you trade some inside space for a lovely private garden with a plunge pool. It being our second time in Franschhoek we spent a fair bit of our time relaxing in Vreugde which was a little oasis.

The breakfasts are to die for!

We also noticed some improvements that had been made from our last visit which was less than 12 months before which indicated to us that the owners are constantly investing in the quality of the accommodation. This is the only place I have stayed where expectations are exceeded and the attention to giving the guests what they want and more stands out a mile.

The owners are also such nice people that you can't help feel at home when you are there. They are a mine of information on what there is to do locally whether it be wine tasting venues, walks or restaurants.

We aim to go back there again in the next 18 months or so which is very unusual for us as we hardly ever go anywhere twice, let alone three times!

This is the best accommodation we have ever stayed at and will take some beating.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

The biggest room we have ever stayed in any where in our world travels - (request Uitsig). It had every luxuary one could possibly have. The breakfast was way beyond expectations esp. the fruit platter with home-made muesli was outstanding. Arthur and Katherine were the perfect hosts and gave us excellent restaurant recomendations - all within walking distance for dinners (and we felt totally safe walking around the streets at night). For lunches we travelled to Moreson (awsome risoto), Tekara and Terroir (on Kleine Zalze). A visit to the car museum is a treat (at Le Ormarins). Akademie St will always be our first choice in Franshoek.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

This place has to be experienced to believe how fantastic it is. The owners are accomplished hoteliers and it shines through in service, cleanliness, facilities, breakfast, hospitality; and most importantly - their personal touch. Without hesitation, this place deserves to be on the Franschhoek map for domestic and international visitors.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAEDLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

Lovely stay....delicious breakfast, hospitable hosts, friendly and helpful staff, great location for the amazing restaurants in the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

We were amazed with Akademie Street! The atmosphere was so peaceful and warm and the service was just perfect. We felt like we had the best of both worlds, our room was beautiful and really had the feel of a luxury hotel room, but in such a lovely guesthouse setting with truly personalized service. Arthur and Katherine really took the time to welcome us and took an interest in our trip. They even helped us pick the most scenic driving route to our next stop. Our only regret was not having more time to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan17240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

A Superb Guesthouse where we we looked after by Kathy & Arthur is style.
So very clean with friendly staff, and a breakfast that keeps you going for the day.
We look forward to coming back again but this time formuch longer.
Thank you Akedemie Boutique Hotel & Guesthouse

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barkerpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellenbosch
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

What a beautiful place. What a privilege to have stayed in this beautiful old cottage.Everything was perfect. Katherine and Arthur received us with open arms and treated us with such warmth.
Loved the fact that we had our own little garden and swimming pool.
Left with the fondest memories.
Thank you so much

Regards Karen

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalupawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing