We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$186
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$137
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $488/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$261
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$456
$379
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $436/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$260
$221
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
1,233
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,233
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithought of everythingthe main housefruit platterguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barlittle extrassouth africahis team
Filter
Updating list...
1,116 - 1,121 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We were delighted to stay at Akademie Street for two nights. My husband and I were very impressed with the charm of our accomodation and the hospitality of Arthur and Katharine.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnow2pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We recently had our semi-annual visit to Akademie Street for a short "wine vacation". As always Akademie Street delivers to the nth degree. Everything is done with the utmost of personal touch and care, and no request is too great or too small. Katherine and Arthur have both become old dear friends and arriving here is like coming home; albeit with far more luxury! Breakfast is always delicious, and Katherine's "cheese demonstration" is to be savored for the descriptions she provides, the care she takes in choosing the selection, and (not least) for the taste. The grounds continue to be beautifully maintained, and they have added a lovely and tastefully designed swimming pool behind the main house; this in addition to the private splash pools that three of the existing "cottages" have for private use. They are also adding two new suites in the main house. This is the only place we stay in Franschhoek and plan our vacations around availability here. Once you have sampled the best why bother going anywhere else?

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisztinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at Akademie. Our three children slept in the 2 bedroom cottage and my husband and I stayed in a smaller cottage. Both cottages are gorgeous with private pools, beautiful gardens, and fountains. Katherine and Arthur gave us fantastic recommendations and advice. The breakfasts were very fresh and delicious. Every morning was a made-to-order breakfast with fresh fruits, local cheeses, breads, hot croissants, and fresh-squeezed juices. During the day, we drove around Franschhoek and Stellanbosch and in the evening we walked down to the village of Franschhoek and had amazing dinners and wines. There are so many great restaurants that we did not get to try. Our last night we had an amazing meal at Rueben's. This is a delightful area of South Africa to visit and Akademie Guest House is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed at Akademie for 2 nights whilst following the British Lions Rugby tour. This was our first visit to the winelands despite having previously visited Cape Town 4 times so we were excited. The drive from Cape Town is easy and takes you past a couple of really good places to stop. As soon as you arrive in Franschoek you feel more relaxed than the hustle and bustle of Cape Town. Akademie is one block back from the main street and is set in beautifully secluded gardens. We had booked the Utsig accommodation but as they were quiet were upgraded to the Gelatenheid suite which is huge. Larger than our house in London we were spoilt for space. A large terrace wraps around the first floor and there is a lovely outside bath. Inside there is another good bathroom with freestanding bath and the largest bed you have seen. You also have your own large private courtyard with a lovely pool that was too cold to use in the middle of June. Having settled in we went for a stroll one of the many excellent local restaurants and had a high quality meal at Reubens. Arthur, the owner had given us a list of places to try and as he used to Le Quartier Francais we knew he would give a good recommendation. Breakfast was very nice - loads of fresh fruit and whatever cooked items you want. We were sad to leave and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSaraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

A fantastic Guest House. We stayed in GELATENHEID for the 3 nights of our stay in Franschhoek and have to say it is one of the nicest places we've stayed in the whole world, let alone South Africa (where to be honest the standards are generally high). Our hosts were extremely hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for either them or their team.
The property is stunning, the gardens beautiful and the location a perfect 10 minute stroll to the excellent restaurants and bars in the village centre. Only slight criticism is that the water in the swimming pool was very cold, but apparently the new pool (which was being dug when we were there) will have some form of solar heating to take the chill off which will be great.
In fact we loved the place so much that we're planning to return this November.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonWindsor_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews