We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation, we stayed in the Gelatenheid guest house. It definitely, did not disappoint. The upstairs bedroom loft was huge, absolutely beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The views from the balcony were stunning and the location is perfect, just a short stroll to the Main Street of Franschoek.

The service was also exceptional and the breakfast delicious.

I would absolutely recommend this guest house to anyone wanting to stay in Franschoek.

I want to go back to Franschoek just to stay at the Akademie again!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

After a lengthy holiday to South Africa we ended our trip in the Cape wine lands. After some consideration we decided to stay in Franschhoek at Akademie. Upon arrival we were given information covering anything you may need to know about the guesthouse, the local village and surrounding wine lands. Our room 'Uitsig' was generous in size with a balcony overlooking the mountains and a bathroom that has heated flooring (pleasant surprise in the colder months). The rooms are designed in such a way that you could spend a very relaxing day in house without having to move, the rooms are stocked with tea and coffee (mini coffee machine with Illy coffee), snacks, wine & beer - not to mention the use of a mobile phone (free of charge) incase you might need to. The breakfast, which is prepared daily by the friendly staff, is made from local seasonal ingredients which consists of a fresh fruit platter, yoghurt and muesli followed by a hot breakfast (any way you like) - most flexible and delicious breakfast we've had in a long time. The hosts and all the staff we met were friendly and super interesting to talk to. Thank you for making our last days in South Africa so pleasant, you have managed to put an extra special touch on your service and accommodation which is unlike anywhere else we've ever stayed. We will return and will certainly recommend Akademie to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went there for the weekend, beautiful experience. Service was exceptional
and the best breakfast ever. You just feel most welcome from the minute you arrive until you leave. I would highly recommend the hotel.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanTomlin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Super weekend stay. Even with rainy weather, plenty of very close restaurants. Very much enjoyed the Gelatenheid guesthouse. Lots of privacy, but with discreet service, including laundry.
Only regret not being able to use the private pool due to cold weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hello hazel: Thank you for your cooperation and assistance during our stay at the cottage. It was a beautiful experience and it was better than a hotel stay. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. I have rated your facility as excellent. It is a very beautiful place and I have provided a very positive feed back to JACADA travel, Head of Africa Operations- Samantha Kelly. I will be coming back and recommending your hotel to others.

Thank you.

Chandra, Roopa and Neha.

Room Tip: our cottage was very clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I can write as many compliments as I can since everything was superb at Akademie Street. From the arrival to the departure it was one big feeling of being the most wanted guest. We stayed in the nice house oortuiging which was even larger than we thought it would be seeing it on several websites. The privacy in this house is fantastic, you have your home away from home and in the morning a fantastic breakfast is served in the main house. Katerine and Arthur are great hosts but every single staff member contributes to the fantastic feeling our stay leaves behind. I highly recommend staying here. It is more than worth the price you pay for it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved to stay in oortuiging, we were with two adults and a child and this was the best solution f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladolcevitaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Akademie for three nights. The hotel/guesthouse was chosen do to its high praises and it managed to surpass our expectations. We stayed in one of two rooms in the main house. Each room has a private garden area, our enormous, bright bathroom with heated-floors led to our garden which contained a soothing fountain. Our room also had a lovely sitting area, complimentary mini-bar and snacks, king size bed with heated blankets. After a day out on the town we came home and snuggled up to a movie we took out of the small communal, but well curated DVD collection.
Every morning the breakfast service was impeccable. In fact the entire staff was extremely accommodating and helpful in planning a self-driven wine route. Arthur helped us one night get a reservation at Ryan's Kitchen, which was our best meal in Franschhoek.
We would certainly come back, perhaps in the summer to see the plants in full bloom and use the well designed pools. You can't go wrong with this place if you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious, yet unassuming place to stay in Franschhoek and I would recommend it as a destination if you are in the Cape Town area in fact.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $375 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing