We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific end to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our last three nights of our South African adventure was spent at the Akademie. Our expectations were high based on all the previous positive views for this establishment. However, there is always the concern whether it will live up to the hype. Well My concerns were unfounded and my high expectations were exceeded. As soon as you arrive you are put at ease. You are given a detailed tour of the establishment and explained fully about all the things we should know and more, but in a very relaxed manner. We stayed in the spacious and wonderful Gelatenheid Cottage. It had two floors, wonderful balcony and veranda. Plenty of outside seats to relax in, our own swimming pool surrounded by lovely flowers. The bed on the second floor was enormous but very comfortable. the cottage included a kitchen, with free drinks and nibbles. A lounge with Tv, DVD Player and downstairs toilet. The bedroom also had a lounge with TV and a shower and a toilet. There was also an outside bath, but we did not use it.
Breakfast was either taken outside in the coutyard or in the main house. They were very good indeed including a fantastic homemade Museli (I don't normally like Museli!). Above all Arthur and the rest of his staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were also very genuine, for instance when we arrived I was suffering with a bad dose of heartburn and indigestion, nothing to do with the hotel I must add. They were very concerned they gave me advice on what to take and eat and by the next day I was fine. When I arrived back home in England they sent me an email, asking me about my health and whether I was fully recovered. Thanks to everyone at the Akademie, I will be back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedwood_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

A jem - we stayed on the recommendation of Audley Travel and I can honestly say it was the most lovely, relaxing and comfortable of all the accommodation we experienced on our three week trip. From the moment we were welcomed by both Hazel and Katherine, we were made to feel special. Nothing is too much trouble and they will advise and go that extra mile for even the simplest of requests. Breakfast is wonderful, whether taken in the dining room - a million miles removed from an hotel atmosphere -or in the lovely courtyard. Everything sparkles amidst the family pictures and the rich colours of the décor and the staff are delightful. We have never slept in such an enormous bed and the linen was heaven! To have free laundry and mini-bar was a bonus but what sets them apart is their attention to detail; they seem to have thought of everything one could possibly need, and richly deserve every accolade.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved this Guesthouse, in fact we could not think of anything that they could do better. Katherine & Arthur were so friendly, it was as if we were guests in their own home. Hazel seem to really want us to enjoy our stay and arranged the perfect wine tour with guide for us. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was beautifully decorated, huge with a balcony and with everything you could possibly want, it was more like a little studio flat with hidden kitchen. The Guesthouse is very close to the restaurants & shops, but far enough away for peace & quiet. The Guesthouse,the gardens & the pool area were absolutely beautiful. Perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne346834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

You will love everything about this marvellous Guest House, the experience was flawless and the warm hospitality of Hazel, Arthur and Catherine exceeded all expectations.

It is not a hotel, more a home and a place where you're welcomed warmly by the owners. The breakfast is indescribable, best we've ever tasted.

Our room was piece of art, well decorated, maintained with lots of amenities so you feel like home.

Franschoek is a paradise and this 5 stars guest house is an ideal spot for couples on honeymoon/ get-away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohIbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

To be honnest, we didn't fall in love with Franschhoek itself, but we loved our stay in the Akademie Street Boutique Hotel. The hotel is perfectly located so that you can do almost everything on foot, but is yet just enough on the outskirts of town to be calm and cosy. The service is impecable, and the owners as well as staff are kind as can be, always there to point out something or somewhere to go depending on your desires. Their restaurant recommandations were just perfect! We might not have fallen for Franchhoek, but we certainly will never forget our gourmet experiences at "Le Quartier Francais", "Tokara", and Bread and Wine".
Breakfast was delicious, and the private pool was the icing on the cake after a long walk and a lot of wine tasting.
I just hope we can stay there again in a near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edouard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our first visit to Franschhoek and we loved staying at the Akademie Street Boutique Hotel. Excellent location )you can easily walk to most places), superb accommodation, great breakfast and very good recommendations for restaurants. We will stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261SandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wonderful guest house, where nothing is too much. Great rooms, location and service very convienient for the great town of Franschoek and its great restaurants, and the breakfast in the hotel (outside if you want) is awesome. Recommended to all!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Strathmore26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $318 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing