We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional guesthouse”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the most exceptional guesthouse you are likely to find. The room, the owner, the staff, the breakfasts were all second to none. Excellent location which made exploring Franschhoek on foot easy. Try and stay there if you can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
857
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had an amazing stay here in May, unfortunately its was only for one night.

We stayed in the Uitsig room which was very spacious and light. The small touches like a free mini bar, including champagne and locally sourced toiletries really set this place apart from other hotels.

The service from Hazel and her team is just incredible. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, you instantly feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. Anna is especially friendly!

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone, it puts a lot of 5 star hotels to shame. We will be back!

Also recommend Le Bon Vivant for dinner, amazing food and wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we just came back from South Africa and stayed at Akademie for our final two nights. It was a great, relaxing way to end our trip. The rooms were cozy and the staff was very friendly. Akademie is perfectly located, a short walk to some of the best restaurants in the winelands. If you are looking for a great place to unwind, this is the place for you. Thank you Hazel, for taking care of us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 584Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Came here on the first leg of our honeymoon, and it was really great. The breakfasts were top notch, the rooms were very up-to-date, clean, and tastefully decorated, and the staff was really nice and helpful. They also have a small parking area, and are a short 2-3 block walk from most of the restaurants in town.

We stayed in May, which is technically "off-season" and we would recommend this time of year! The weather was in the 70s and 80s during the day, some of the trees were changing colors, and the views from our 2nd story room was the perfect touch to a perfect stay!

Would highly recommend for honeymoons - you will not be disappointed with this accommodation (combined with an awesome time in Franschhoek)!

Room Tip: The second story room has great views. Be careful not to walk around naked without drawing the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In traveling to Capetown, it took us almost 48 hours and we wanted a place to relax and unwind to get us ready for our South African adventure. If you want such a place, look no further. Very nice, clean, modern, and well appointed rooms, atrium like bathroom/shower with glass ceilings open to the stars, interior courtyards with soothing fountains and a lap pool, restaurants and shops within a short walk away, and a very friendly staff and a fantastic host. All of this in a residential setting in wine country. What more can I say!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlton96816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon here, and could have stayed forever.

We were in the big house (the one in the main photo you see, with the private pool) and everything about it was just perfect. The decor was gorgeous - super stylish but still very, very comfortable. Every room had wonderful art on the walls, it could be (and probably has been) on the front cover of an interior design magazine.

The upstairs was just incredible. A huge open loft space, with that enormous bed and free-standing bath. We spent a couple of really lovely evenings up there, eating chocolate, drinking wine and watching movies. It was total bliss.

Even though it was the end of the summer (we went early May), it was still gorgeous and sunny and although a bit too cool to use the pool, we did have an outdoor bath complete with glasses of red wine. The whole space is so tranquil, I can't think of any spa that even comes close to the peace and relaxation I felt here.

Cathy, the owner, is just delightful and makes you feel so welcome. We went over to the main house every morning for the most amazing breakfast spread - home made granola, a fruit platter, cooked English breakfast if you wanted it, cereals... We were totally spoiled. And everyone treats you like family. Hazel and all the staff were so lovely... They even sent back the iPod I left there (all the way back to UK). Incredibly kind.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. And for the money I think it's astonishing value. A really, really special place and we cannot wait to come back.

p.s. Fell head over heels in love with Anna, the hotel's dog. She came and sat with us most days as we read the papers in the sun. Heavenly.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and book the main house. The outdoor bath and HUGE upstairs loft are well worth it. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Uitsig room (amazing), overlooking the little courtyard with ancient wine and a lovely view of the mountains. The sense of art appreciation and love of books was felt in this warmhearted place. It is really rich in atmosphere, luxury, peace and privacy and a perfect setting for the wine lands. Everything was perfect, breakfast was excellent. Katherine, Arthur and Hazel (and the dog Anna) were such great hosts. We will definitely be back when we visit Franschhoek again.

Room Tip: Uitsig room is very comfortable and gives a lot of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UllS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing