We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wine Country Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We only had the pleasure of staying one night, and what a wonderful place to stay. The reviews don't really do it justice, but it's hard to describe perfection. We arrived to Arthur's smiling face and warm spirit. He advised us not to give up our lunch at Le Petit Ferme, and are we glad we didn't. The rest of that one night stay continued to be as good, ending up the next morning with an incredible breakfast in the library. Our stay in Franschhoek, was really highlighted by this place, we can't recommend it higher, and can't wait to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
783
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We needed a couple of nights in wine country to relax between safari and Cape Town...and this was a perfect choice. Breakfast in the courtyard is about as good as it gets. The few that went wine tasting had a wonderful day while those who stayed behind were quite glad to relax by the dip pool and read a book in the beautiful gardens. Friendly staff, easy walk to town, impeccably clean and well decorated rooms, all adds up to a great experience.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here along with two friends for two nights in April on the recommendation of our travel company. Everything was perfect and our hosts were so helpful and could not do enough for us. Our accommodation in the main house, Twyfeling, was very spacious and our bathroom was delightful. We enjoyed having the delicious breakfasts, with fresh fruit platters and smoothies, under the vine-covered patio near the pool.

We appreciated being able to walk into Franschhoek day or night. It is a very interesting place to stroll around, with a lot of cafes, restaurants and interesting gift shops.

Our laundry was done within the day with no charge and was returned to our room all ironed, which was very welcome after over two weeks of travelling through South Africa.

We look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After our amazing Macatoo experience, we headed to Cape Town for a week, spending the first few days in Franschhoek in the Cape winelands.

We found the wonderful Akadamie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House on www.tripadvisor.com and they luckily found room for us. We stayed in the charming Vreugde ("joy") suite, with it's HUGE Cali King sized bed, glorious bathroom and our own private garden, plunge pool and patio.

All of the different Akadamie Street Guest Houses join through winding pathways and meet at the beautiful site of Twyfeling - the Cape Dutch main home where breakfasts are served under a vine-covered patio by your hosts.

The staff at this family owned and run boutique hotel were absolutely first class, as is the hotel. Your nightly rate includes the contents of the posh mini bar and all the yummy snacks in your room, as well as a breakfast that will make your eyes boggle - it was truly glorious.

The hotel has a friendly dog, Anna, who put us very much in mind of our lovely Archie. Anna will happily befriend you and she's lovely, but I'm sure that if you're not a dog person, the staff would be very helpful in that respect.

Akadamie Street is two blocks back from the main street, and it's VERY walkable. Franschhoek is very safe to walk around, day or night, and it's incredibly beautiful. It reminded us a lot of Hahndorf in South Australia - friendly, pretty and lots of cafes, restaurants and lovely little gifty shops stocking lots of pretty things you don't need, but really want.

I can't say enough good things about this glorious place, it really is top notch. And it's got FREE WIFI, just like all the nicest places - yay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank livingitlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Simply fantastic location and absolutely warm feeling that is a perfect setting for the wine lands. The breakfast was the best breakfast I had in South Africa. The winery and dinner recommendations were also very good. Kathy was a very gracious host, but Sara, resident therapy dog, made my stay.

Great for couples, groups, families...little big for solos and only an idiot comes to the wine lands for business, but the wifi and space in the rooms can accommodate it.

Thanks, John

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPmiami313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Akadmie Street on the recommendation of the travel company who organised our recent holiday in South Africa. Although we only had a two night stay there, everything was perfect, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Centrally located in a quiet street and few minutes walk to the main street where there are a plethora of shops and eateries.The staff were warm and welcoming and Anna the house dog also greeted us warmly! Our cottage, we were told, was the smallest accomodation they had to offer! To us it was palatial! Our own private grounds, small pool, sunbeds, veranda, easy chairs, settee..the list goes on and on. Our room was large and airy and had the biggest bed I've ever seen.....a well stocked fridge, all without charge, and a well equiped kitchen area should we have wanted to boil an egg! Our laundry was all done swiftly, and again, with no charge. Breakfasts were excellent and all delivered personally to our table, no buffet style breakfast here! The fresh fruit platters and smoothies were amazing. At the end of our stay we we were asked to fill in a form that requested ideas for how Akademie could be improved. We left it blank as in our opinion it is just perfect. We only have one small complaint......we didnt stay long enough! A truly special place and perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Our room was a small cottage with its own private entrance from the road with off road parking avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent our last 3 days in South Africa and our time at the Akademie Street Hotel was the highlight. We were a family of 4 and they could not have been more accommodating or helpful during our stay. The house is charming and you could not have wanted for anything while there. Breakfast in the courtyard was so wonderful, fresh and a great way to start the day. Franschhoek itself is a quaint town and well situated. Without question, I would recommend and will plan to return for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing