We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Oortuging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We all need to getaway from the everyday stresses our stay at Akademie (Oortuging) was .. so relaxing and peaceful . We had our privacy , could come and go as we pleased without disturbing any other guests. Breakfast at Akademie was a HUGE affair , the fruit platter and homemade muesli was absolutely divine. The staff are friendly and made us feel right at home , not to mention Hazel who took us thru to our quarter , she was just so friendly and helpful. Anna is one of the little gems of Akadieme and she adds to the homely atmosphere. Thanx once again Arthur and Katherine for your hospitality and generosity. From Nigel & Chantal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
778
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I wish we had spent more than one night in Franschhoek on our recent SA tour just so that we could have had more time at the Akademie. No detail is too small, no comfort forgotten. I probably can't add anything more to the previous rave reviews except to say that the laundry service is fantastic - my husband handed over his dirty washing at 2.00pm and it was back by 6.00pm!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Akademie Street Boutique hotel and guesthouse was the best hotel we stayed at during our South Africa holiday.
Our room was huge and to a very high standard with lots of attention to detail.
Te hotel is very convenient for the centre of town with all the restaurants and shops.
The service was first class and the breakfast was just perfect.
My only issue was that I wished I had booked for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like most previous reviewers, we can only sing the praises of this accommodation.

The guesthouse is ideally located within 10 minute walk to the centre of the main town. The property is tastefully kitted out to provide 1st class comfort levels which you would be hard pressed to better, whilst maintaining character.

Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.

The owners & all the staff were extremely friendly. Special praise to Hazel for her advice and general friendliness throughout our stay.

We would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a touch of class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsglobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but like so many other reviews this place is faultless, the attention to detail is incredible. Arthur, Katherine, Hazel and their staff do an excellent job.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for walking to the shops and restaurants of Franschhoek.
Breakfast is amazing one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Among so many great hotels in the area akademie would be my choice again.
The location is very convenient to drive to the wineries during the day and walk to have dinner in one of downtown amazing restaurants.
Service is unbelievable good as well as deco, breakfast, gardens and so on.
A very friendly Labrador ensures a very welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are since many years regular visitors to Franschhoek. Went in October 2012 for my partners 50 th birthday. Having stayed in many different guest houses and hotels in the valley, we choose Akademie Street based on reviews- I regret we have not stayed there on all our previous visits- what an amazing place- one of the best Boutique Hotels in the world. We stayed in their biggest property which was wonderful, friends from Nairobi stayed in one of the big rooms, very lovely too. Breakfast in the mornings is fantastic, fresh and plentiful, nothing is too much and every little detail thought about. The whole team working there is helpful and can't do enough for you. We had the most amazing birthday breakfast, a home made birthday cake, champagne.... They thought about everything- it was more than we had hoped for for a 50th b'day celebration. I am still often thinking about our lovely stay. If you are looking for a special place- stay there, you will not be disappointed. Katherine and Arthur- many congratulations on your wonderful place, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 10 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#2 of 10 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 10 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#5 of 10 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 10 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing