We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed by Hazel, we knew we were somewhere very special indeed. We stayed in Vreugde and loved the private garden with plunge pool, and the wonderful breakfasts taken in the dappled shade of the courtyard will never be forgotten. The staff were superb - nothing was too much trouble, and Katherine and Arthur are a fascinating source of information, and were also able to book us into every restaurant we requested. This has to be the best place to stay in Franschhoek ,and probably in the whole of South Africa!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well, what shall I say? We stayed at Akademie street for the second time within two years, and I am happy to confirm that it has even further improved. Catherine, Hazel and Arthur are so nice people and always have time for a chat. All the house is lovely decorated and full of lovely little details. it's like staying home away from home.
the breakfast is fabulous and you will hardly fine any better in the world. Try the Omelette with sweet fresh tomatoes. Mmmmh.
With all the good reviews it is mandatory to book well in advance to avoid disappointent. (6+ Months)

Room Tip: Ask for the "pool room" which has a very large bathroom all surrounded by glass into a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosi-Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying in Akademie Street was a joy. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like family, yet treated to five star professional service. The staff cannot do more for you. Little touches like no charges for the minibar or laundry made the stay extra special. Breakfast was served in the central peaceful courtyard, the food was fantastic - a platter of fruit, homemade granola, rich preserves followed by hot food cooked to order. Our room was pool-free but large and spacious and flooded with light, plus we had access to the lovely pool in the courtyard. We were able to walk to several wineries from this location which was great. There is also now a "wine tram" in town that takes people around the wineries all day at a reasonable cost. Stay here, you won't be dissappointed. Amazing value and wonderful people.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was translated as "the view", it was really lovely, great balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay here on the recommendation of some local friends and we haven't been disappointed. We booked one of the b & b suites in the main house - Twyling A - which is very comfortable, with a brand new bathroom set in a conservatory added to the bedroom area. Hazel and the staff couldn't do enough for us with lots of help and suggestions of where to go locally. There are lots of inclusions: free wifi; laundry (what a bonus when travelling!); a bottle of bubbly; soft drinks; chocolates etc
We had breakfast in the courtyard area outside our room and both Hazel & Katherine were very attentive and professional in their hosting & anticipating guests likes $ dislikes.
We were slightly concerned that there didn't seem to be any off-street parking but were assured that the street is safe enough not to worry.
We would thoroughly recommend this boutique hotel to travellers seeking excellent quality and comfort.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Akadamie for 4 nights and wished it had been more. A really special place right in the heart of Franchhoek. We stayed in Outseig which was a lovely room , surrounded by windows so really light. The family were great with such good knowledge on the reaurants and wineries and the staff were so friendly . The breakfast was amongst the best . Definitely a place on our list to return to - thank you to everyone for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We loved staying here for 2 nights. Can't think of anything that could have made it better. Everyone was extremely helpful and spot on when we asked questions . Enjoyed the sounds of the fountains and the attractive gardens. Breakfasts were super, and special requests were thoughtfully provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first visit to South Africa and we were very fortunate to stay a this great Guest House in beautiful Franschoek.
The accommodation was excellent as was the food and service by staff and hosts.
We Will certainly recommend this Boutique Guest House to our friends and should we be visiting South Africa in the future we would definitely return to Akademie Guest House again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $375 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing