We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
1,216
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is for sure the number one place to stay if you are visiting the area.
Location fantastic in charming Franchhoek. We stayed in the small villa with a lovely little garden to our ourselves and a private swimmingpool. The owners, Catherine and Albert, an extremely helpful couple , really did everything to make our stay first class. The whole staff was fantastic and we will definitely come back to stay the next time we visit!

Johanna Fagerlund

Room Tip: Private villa with pool!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

So many fantastic reviews and comments about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel already written and here's more praise to come, (if this is ever possible):
it was our third stay in "Gelatenheid" and indeed "Gelatenheid" enters our mind and body once we stay in this wonderful piece of garden Eden. It feels like "our" place every time and being absorbed by
the absolutely warm and welcoming atmosphere Hazel, Katherine and Arthur and the rest of the team creates, we cannot say more than it is the best place imaginable far away from home. Absolutely tasteful, very personal interior, best breakfast ever... you can pass days simply on the private pool - and the sheer pleasure of food and wine in the vineyards and restaurants in Franschhoek make you feel like king and queen. Once we had to leave after 1 week resp. 2 weeks it felt like "paradise lost", we miss all of it: the team, the house, the Gelatenheid and WE WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK - AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taste115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent two days at Akademie Street and only wish we had booked to stay longer.
Our room Uitsig was a spacious,airy and beautifully decorated suite with the most enormous and comfy double bed. It is housed above the former garage with it's own very private balcony affording stunning views of the mountains beyond.
The breakfasts were' to die for' and Katherine was always on hand to provide suggestions for the days activities, she is such a lovely lady with a very calming demenaour and all the staff we met were delightful.
The pool area is very tranquil too a nice place to relax in the afternoon.
Franschhoek is a lovely town with an abundance of cafes,bars and restaurants but be sure to book tables in advance of your visit for the more popular restaurants.
We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Uitsig is very private and spacious but has a sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from our third annual stay at this lovely boutique hotel which always lives up to expectation. Not sure what we can add to all the previous reviews except to confirm that it lives up to its excellent rating. It is the attention to detail and the warm welcome which feels as if you are returning home that makes this such a special place. Not sure we have ever been to a place where they remember from year to year how strong you like your coffee in the morning! Breakfast is probably the best we ever have in all our travels. We have stayed in the pool room (Twyfeling.A) each year as we liked being able to walk straight out onto the pool and also liked the bathroom in a conservatory - however we have already booked up for next year and will try a different room as Twyfeling.A can get a bit hot with the glass conservatory at the end.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The outside of the property gives only a hint of the enchanted gardens, wonderful amenities, fabulous breakfasts and very warm welcome beyond. We spent 5 nights with Arthur, Katherine, Jessie, Hazel and the delightful staff at Akademie Street, and our biggest problem was motivating ourselves to leave the tranquility and comfort of our room, the pool and gardens, to visit all on offer in the area. When we did, Katherine and Hazel always had wonderful suggestions for visits, near or far - that came with clear, printed directions of how to get there! Likewise, they were spot on with recommendations for eating out - depending on one's mood, needs and whims of the moment! This is a very special place and one we certainly hope to visit again - there cannot be anywhere better in the Franschoek valley!

Room Tip: Over our stay, we had 2 rooms, Uitsig and Twyfeling B - both beautiful and individual. I do not think any room would disappoint
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Supet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews