We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent three nights at this beautiful Hotel. Arthur, Catherine and Hazel cannot do enough to make your stay so memorable. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

We stayed in the Pool Room - huge, spotless with an amazing bathroom. Breakfasts are to die for. Home made meusli, freshly cooked items and a fruit plate that has to be seen to be believed!!

Hazel arranged our two half day trips to the vineyards of Franschoek and Stellanbosch. Our Driver Denver in his BMW was extremely knowledgable and we learnt so much about the beautiful wines of the area.

This hotel is exceptional, service, staff, food, cleanliness and location. If there were six stars this little gem would without doubt be awarded it. If you visit Franschoek this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in the pool room which is situated in the main part of the old Cape Dutch style house (thick walls, high ceilings, spacious). The room had a huge bed, with fantastic bedding, a huge beautiful bathroom with glass ceiling and a little private outside patio. This is a very tranquil place where we felt comfortable and at home. Lots of beautiful nooks and crannies inside and out to relax in. Felt very nice and safe, and quick 3 minute walk to the main street with restaurants and shops. The owner is such a nice lady who made us feel very at home. Staff are friendly and very welcoming, lots of smiles all around. Breakfast is abundant & delicious, we could't eat for the rest of the day!

Room Tip: Each room is unique, but in the main part of the house the pool room was definitely our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent two days touring around the Franschoek and Stellenbosch area which is only hour or two out of Cape Town. The area is famous for wine growing with spectacular mountains and terrific architecture and restaurants. It is well worth hiring a car and spending a few days in this region. The roads and signage are excellent.

The Akademie Guesthouse was really very special. We booked a stand alone Cape Dutch cottage called Oortuiging, an atmospheric Franschhoek cottage built in the 1860's. It has two en-suite bedrooms, a lounge, a kitchen and a dining room. The private plunge pool and gardens that come with the cottage were wonderful.

Snacks and all drinks including spirits, beer soft drinks, tea and coffee are all supplied free. The hot breakfast in the main cottage courtyard is fanastic. We had a terrific stay made even more special because of the weclome we received by the manager. The main street of Franschoek is an easy walk from the guesthouse. There is a large number of cafes and restaurants to choose from.

We booked the guesthouse online through tripadvisor and would definitiely visit the guesthouse and the region again.

Room Tip: Check out their website for the room types available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at Akademie Street. We were impressed from the moment of our arrival by the thoughtful and kind reception received and continued to be impressed throughout our stay. The attention to detail everywhere but especially in our beautiful room, with every convenience and luxury imaginable, even down to the provision of a mobile phone, programmed with local restaurant numbers, was a delight! The service we received from all the staff was exceptional at all times and breakfast, in the garden or indoors, was both delicious and ample. We shall certainly return for a further and longer stay if we have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillnorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Quietly situated, a haven with wonderful artwork. Hazel was brilliant in sorting out the perfect wine-tour experience to meet our specific requirements. Arthur and Catherine were also very attentive and took every trouble to make our stay relaxing. Anna the labrador really helped to create a warm, homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Located very close to the main street of Franschhoek, this is the place to be. It starts with a warm and very friendly welcome in a beautiful typical local house with a nice garden where breakfast is served if weather permits it. We had a big room upstairs, very clean and nicely decorated, lots of space. We would definitely chose the place again. Special thanks to Hazel who gave some excellent recommendations about the region.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wailea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my second stay at Akademie Street, and I was thrilled with the choice of Gelatenheid as a private romantic getaway. We enjoyed our own pool and garden, making lunch one afternoon and eating outside before plunging into the pool to cool off and lie in the sun on the chairs provided. Blissful. The bed was the most comfortable of our stay, and the outdoor bathtub on the second floor balcony was just the last incredible touch. I would easily recommend Akademie Street over any luxury hotel. Katherine and Arthur are personally involved and it shows. The staff is all very attentive and gracious. The breakfasts are delicious, and the house black lab puppy is adorable and well-behaved. I love this place and would come back in a heartbeat. The only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klipspringers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 12 in Franschhoek
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $349 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing