We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
1,249
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,249
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithought of everythingthe main housefruit platterguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barsouth africalittle extrashis team
Filter
Updating list...
1,185 - 1,190 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We checked out tripadvisor when planning our trip to SA in February this year and came across this little guesthouse with rave reviews. As we could not find a single bad one - we thought we'd give it a go. It did not disappoint - its one of the best places we've ever stayed in - worldwide. Katherine & Arthur are the perfect hosts and we could have quite happily moved in if they'd let us!

Fantastic guesthouse, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, scrummy breakfast, and lovely, friendly staff - the whole place is just awesome. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay.
Vicki & Mitch

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Recently returned from a fantastic holiday in South Africa. We spent 7 nights in Vreudge and it was absolutely perfect for us. This is the smallest of the properties and consists of a large living room with a huge very comfortable bed, a couple of comfy chairs, smallish wardrobe, TV, clock, CD/DVD player, mobile phone, quiet and efficient air-con, ceiling fan, kitchenette (fridge stocked with soft drinks and some alcoholic drinks, microwave, kettle and toaster, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, crisp type snacks - all replenished daily), bathroom with separate shower, lovely towels, fresh flowers, safe, hairdryer, bath robes, - it really does have everything you need - you just need to take yourself and some clothes!! Outside is a lovely secluded private garden with a small but perfect plunge pool, (great to dip into at the end of a busy day), sunbeds, pool towels, table, chairs, sofa, patio heater for those cooler evenings, candles, need I say any more, it really is that good!!
The only time you need see any fellow guests is in the morning when breakfast is taken by the main house - and it is a fantastic breakfast - it can really fill you up for the whole day. Katherine and Arthur are always on hand at breakfast time and are happy, willing and helpful. They will answer any questions you have and give advice if needed. All of the staff are friendly and smiling
What suited us so much was the high quality of the accommodation, the privacy we had, the fantastic breakfasts and help on hand if we ever needed anything. I really can't recommend this Guest House highly enough.
As I said we spent 7 days there and found plenty of things to do whilst there, and there were many other things we would have liked to have done if we had more time. My one warning is that although it is only an hour from Cape Town, that time doubles if you need to be in Cape Town during rush hour, but fortunately Arthur was on hand to warn us of that so we just set off an hour earlier on the day in question and everything went smoothly.
Go and enjoy it!!
Oh and I nearly forgot you may also get to meet Chalky who is the most adorable cat - it's worth going for that pleasure alone!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

to the sublime. From Lainsburgh (don't do it!) to Franschhoek. We are now on day 8 of our SA holiday and making our eventual way back to Cape Town with a 4-night stay in the Akademie Street Guest House/s. However, hosts Katherine and Arthur have made sure there is absolutely nothing 'Blackpool B&B' about their rooms. Night 1. was in 'Uitsig', one of the 4 houses in the grounds, accessed by an outside flight of steps. Beautiful, cool, modern, with everything you could possibly need for 2 people Breakfast is served indoors or out, depending on the weather (have to say sometimes pretty grim while we were there but it did not stop us loving every minute). The fresh fruit platter was a work of art ! followed by cereals, home-made meusli, cooked options, bread/toast, preserves and coffee or tea. We had wanted to stay in 'Gelantenheid' for the 4 nights but WHEN we return we will happily stay in Uitsig for the duration. After breakfast we walked into the village centre down the leafy streets - 10 mins stroll - and when we returned our luggage etc had been moved into the detached 2-storey (yes, for 2 people!) 'Gelantenheid' This had much more olde worlde charm about it, lots of space, indoor and outdoor baths, it's own pool and gardens and wraparound balconies up and down. I could wax lyrical about everything for pages but go on line and see for yourselves. In high season it's very difficult to get a table in the up-market restaurants but Arthur kindly booked us in at Reubens the 2nd night and Boulibaisse the last night, although our favourite was the French Connection - excellent food and atmoshpere.Since we've returned to the UK the one question that is repeated is "How safe is SA?". Well, I have to confess that the safety issue was always at the back of my mind B4 we arrived in Cape Town, but in truth never once felt threatened or afraid. Yes, you will be approached by people asking for money but not menacingly (although NOT in Franschhoek as they have a strict policy of not allowing 'car minders' - parking is free 24/7). Notices in shops read "Please do not make beggars of our people". Life's too short not to visit SA.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendybotecumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My wife and I spent the first weekend of March at the Akademie Street Guesthouse. The location was great. Arthur and Kathryn were extremely accomodating. They offered many helpful suggestions for our daily itinerary. We would definitely go back again.
Ken R.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kenmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Over the years I have stayed in a lot of quality 5 star hotels and Bed and Breakfasts around the world but this was the first time I have found everything perfect.
We stayed in Gelatenheid and from the warm welcome on arrival, through the most beautiful room, garden and terrace to a wonderful fresh breakfast and personal attention from the owners this was a wonderful, romantic experience. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaloverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews