We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we have stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Over the years I have stayed in a lot of quality 5 star hotels and Bed and Breakfasts around the world but this was the first time I have found everything perfect.
We stayed in Gelatenheid and from the warm welcome on arrival, through the most beautiful room, garden and terrace to a wonderful fresh breakfast and personal attention from the owners this was a wonderful, romantic experience. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaloverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2008

We have just returned from our 4 week holiday in South Africa staying with Arthur and Katherine for just one week - the best experience from this holiday or our two previous visits to the country.

This is so much more than a B & B. We felt we had our own holiday home with five star service. We stayed in Gelatenheid and could not believe the space available for two of us - a huge bedroom with inside bath and outside bath on the veranda, comfortable chairs in the bedroom with TV and DVD: downstairs a small kitchen, with dining table and more comfortable chairs, along with plenty of lovely books and magazines. We had our own pool situated within a wonderfully kept garden.

The house was spotlessly clean: breakfasts were superb, accompanied by Arthur and Katherine's advice on how to spend our time and a history of Frabschoek told with a wry sense of humour: minutes from the best restaurants in South Africa, enhanced by the advice received from Arthur: total privacy if we wanted it sitting in the wonderful garden in the sunshine, surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery listening to the bird song, the crickets - and some very noisy frogs! When we were sated with the excellent restaurants we could even prepare our own light meals.

We were so sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank holidaymaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We have just returned from three weeks in South Africa staying at this lovely little guest house. Although small, with only 4 rooms/houses, the quality of the rooms and service was as good if not better than I have experienced at many high quality larger hotels with many added extra luxuries such as laundry, mini bar, use of a local mobile provided gratis. Katherine and Arthur the owners could not be friendlier and went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely stay. I could not reccomend this place more.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kendokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We spent two lovely days in Oortuiging Cottage. We felt like we lived in Franschoek, with our door opening onto the street, only two blocks from the main street of town. The owners were very helpful, and the breakfasts were over the top. They even provided a cell phone with the room pre-loaded with local phone numbers! Definitely among our top experiences anywhere in the world, and we travel a great deal and pamper ourselves when necessary.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HamIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Arthur and Katherine are delightful hosts; friendly and kind. They go out of their way to help and advise. We stayed at Vreugde which was very tastefully decorated with lost of nice personal touches.
We really appreciated having our 'own' garden to relax and read in during the afternoon. The breakfast was very good; particularly the vast array of fresh fruit.
Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Rarely does one find such perfection and Akademie Street has that in Spades. Within a short walking distance of two of South Africa's best restaurants and within a less 10 minutes drive of three others, the location could not be better. Each of the guest facilities has its own private garden with pool with plenty of places to sit and relax. The Japanese feel to the garden made it especially tranquil. We stayed in Vreugde (joy) which had a king sized bed and is the smallest of the three cottages but it was plenty big enough. Everything worked - the air onditioning, heating, microwave, kettle, tv and dvd. I was especially pleased to find a wireless broadband connection in the room.The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were emaculately clean. The linen was top quality and the towels of the finest Egyption cotton. Breakfast was truely outstanding and my special needs were catered for without problems. Our hosts Arthur and Katharine were friendly and helpful, full of knowledge about the area even down to being able to advise us on the best place to go birdwatching and where to find a hot glass studio! This place was perfection!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kenbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We stayed at the Akademie street guesthouse (UITSIG) for 2 nights in early November. This place is just amazing and you must stay here. Uitsig is a huge airy light room with a lovely balcony and evrything you could possibly need. From a complementary mini bar, fresh coffee, microwave, toaster, fridge to wonderful toileteries, loads of new magazines, a hole library of films to borrow and watch on a large flat screen and all mod cons. There is not one thing that has not been thought of. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and fantastically presented. Breakfast was just fabulous...freshly made smoothies, home-made muesli, fresh yoghurt, fresh fruit and then whatever you fancied to follow - the best breakfasts we ever ate. The gardens and every nook and cranny and every angle had been thought about and tendered to - so enchanted. This accomodation is a credit to Arthur and Katherine and their staff. 200%. We WILL definately return

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JFDICheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: $318 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing