We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited during our Honeymoon for two nights. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful with advice about local restaurants and wine tours and also booking them for us.
Room was fantastic, and breakfast beats any We've had elsewhere. Highly reommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
846
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived in Franschhoek after driving up from Hermanus. The view as we came over the mountain pass was stunning. The guest house is easy to find and just two blocks back from the top of the main street. We were met with a warm welcome and shown to our rooms which were extremely spacious with huge beds. We walked into town (5 minutes) and felt perfectly safe when returning after dark (there were torches thoughtfully provided). We had a delicious breakfast the next morning and detailed travel directions to our next destination. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest house is tranquil, modern and a well positioned Old Cape farm house just outside the buzz of Franschhoek. No matter what you are looking for, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

One night was not enough. We stayed during the Bastille Day celebrations in July and welcomed the exquisite comfort of ASB after a hard day's wine tasting! It is located in a quiet street only five minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek. The warmth of our arrival, the amazing attention to detail, the incredible rooms, and yes, the breakfast is without doubt the best ever - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Evitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at Akademie following an amazing stay in a cape town guest house which we really didn't think could be matched; this exceeded it. The rooms (we stayed in one of their cheaper rooms so I can only imagine how beautiful the suites must be!!) we're beautiful. Clean, fresh, bright and airy. The beds are huge, the linen smooth and soft. We had a separate bright bathroom area which had a lovely walk in shower and twin sinks all decorated in natural beige stone- very beautiful.
The guest house prides itself on guests having complete privacy, which gives the house more of a hotel feel. In many others you meet other people/eat breakfast together etc, but here you are completely private- which is nice in some ways but gives the house a less friendly/relaxed atmosphere- although the staff and owners are very polite, friendly and chatty.
The location is great and you are completely safe to walk to and from town at night; less than 5 minutes walk. definitely recommend. X

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review.

The reviewer stayed during a quiet period and came for breakfast when everyone else had already eaten

The reviewer is right. We do believe most of our guests want their privacy respected and we try our best to achieve this end. Unfortunately it is not always possible when we are very full and everyone comes for breakfast at the same time. So any future visitor who has read the review, please do not be disappointed when you sit near other guests during breakfast.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had I known how incredilby amazing Akademie Street Hotel is, I would have planned much more than just one night here! I am so upset with myself for not staying longer! The guesthouses are unbelievable, the owners are incredibly friendly, the breakfast was delicious and I can't leave out the not-so-terrorizing guard pup Ana who's the biggest/friendliest ham of a dog ever! All in all, absolutely beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csprague0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at Akademie Guesthouse for two nights in September (winter in South Africa) solo, and chose Akademie based on the great reviews here. I was not disappointed!

The grounds are lovely, and the rooms all well kept with lots of attention to detail - like candles around the bathtub, a DVD library in the main house, umbrellas by the door and complimentary fresh fruit and minibar. The 2 course hot and cold breakfast in the morning with other guests was amazingly delicious and far more than you get at standard B&Bs. The proprietors took good care of me as a woman traveling alone and helped arrange transport to/from Cape Town and recommended activities in around town where transport could be arranged.

The hotel is just 2 blocks from the main drag in Franschhoek, which is full of amazing restaurants (including the incomparable Le Quariter Francais), studios and boutiques. With dozens of vineyards less than 5 minutes away by car there was plenty to keep me occupied for a weekend.

I would strongly recommend Akademie for anyone looking for a cozy stay with wonderful local hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing