We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
1,249
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,249
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithought of everythingthe main housefruit platterguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barsouth africalittle extrashis team
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

From the moment Hazel opened the door to greet us we knew that this stay was going to be very special. Our small secluded cottage, Vreugde, was delightful in every way. It has an extremely comfortable king-size bed, a fully equipped kitchenette and a lovely veranda overlooking our own private garden complete with plunge pool, things we were expecting from the website information, but the surprise lay in the details: a fully stocked complementary mini-bar including a welcome bottle of sparkling wine and a selection of nibblies, fresh flowers and fruit, bedtime chocolates, and good quality toiletries.

Breakfast is served in the main house, Twyfeling, where we met the owners Katherine and Arthur, who, along with Hazel, took great care to provide us with information about local restaurants and vineyards and other places to visit. The main house is elegantly decorated and is a treasure trove of books, ornaments and paintings. The breakfast itself was ample and impeccably presented – especially memorable was a delicious homemade muesli of cereals and nuts and a plate of no less than sixteen different cut-up fresh seasonal fruits.

The location in Franschhoek, surely one of the world’s loveliest wine villages, is simply outstanding but what singles out the Akademie Street Guesthouses is the wonderful hospitality and attention to detail.

Undoubtedly the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Congratulations. If we ever get the chance to return to South Africa, we’ll be back!

Sandra & John

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra_John_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived, Hazel and Katherine made us feel so welcome. They were always there to help us with our plans and it was them and the incredible hotel staff that made our trip effortless. The room was huge and all the little touches they offer from the free laundry service to the fully stocked free mini bar and snacks. The main house and grounds were beautifully maintained which felt like the perfect romantic getaway. The breakfasts were to die for, everything you wanted was catered for. We have stayed in 5* hotels that failed to meet the standard at Akadamie. This was a special leg of our journey as it was our 9th anaversary and I asked Hazel to organise flowers and chocolates which were beautiful and they went the extra step of making us two lovely cup cakes and a hand made card! Again, nothing was too much for them. We had an incredible 2 night stay and only wished we had stayed longer. We have stayed at many boutique hotels and Akadamie simply understands this concept and takes it to a new level. A very special mention to Anna their lovely dog who was always happy to see us!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwharfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent two nights at Akademie Street Guest House. From the minute we walked in and were greeted by Hazel and Katherine, we felt at home. We had the Uitsig Suite which was not only large with a small patio but it had a beautiful view of the mountains. It was a great place to enjoy their complimentary champagne and snacks. The added features like free laundry service and mobile phone in the room for use in the area were nice touches. It was a short walk to the main street in Franschhoek for shopping, browsing and dining. The breakfasts were very enjoyable. You could eat inside or on the patio by the pool. Arthur was always willing to help and provided great directions for trips to Stellenbosch and then our journey to Cape Town via Hermanus. The great staff was always there to help 24/7.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1NevadaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Having been unable to stay in La Petit Ferme in Franchoek we were at a loss for somewhere to stay. Our travel agent, Ben at Imagine Africa, had heard about this place but was honest enough to say that he had not sent anyone there but had heard extremely good things about it. How right he was. A superb boutique hotel that values privacy and intimacy. Outside bath, champagne on arrival, free mini bar and laundry service, awesome home sourced breakfast, and if you leave early as we did, they will do a pack up for your trip. A cracking spot from which to base yourself for some serious wine tasting.

Room Tip: Ask for the Gelatenhide. It's ace!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I agree with everyone that this is a very special place to stay while in Franschhoek. We stayed in the Gelatenheid cottage and it was lovely and spacious. It was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of touring and dining. The well stocked refrigerator and snacks were a nice touch. The owners are very gracious and fun to talk with. They have done a beautiful job with the gardens and fountains.

The breakfast was delicious .... It is also walking distance to the excellent restaurants and shops on the main street.

We enjoyed it all..wished we could have stayed longer than two nights!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeucadiaLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews