We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$192
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$278
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$132
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$181
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$90
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$374
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$475
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$734
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveler rating
1,225
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,225
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We absolutely loved this very special place! Service was outstanding , thanks Hazel , Oom Flip and the rest of the staff. Rooms are spotless , warm and just so beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelinejec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A wonderful historic house & experience! We were charmed of the fine design style, warm atmosphere and friendly people (and the housedog) we met there. From the first moment we were welcomed in the house we knew we have to spend at least a few days there, and it felt like we didn’t want to leave it in the end. Every detail is very well taken care of, each room seems to be more beautiful than the other and every room seems to have its own story. Every time we entered the house it seemed we returned home after a long journey. The impeccable service and fresh breakfast are just a detail. Just don’t miss it if you visit Franschhoek! We know for sure we will come back there. Our rating, definitely excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela_1210_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

wonderfully welcoming and personalized stay...katherine and hazel made sure we had everything we could possibly need...Uitsig room was large and well-appointed...we had a really restful stay topped off with a superb breakfast...all the staff were friendly and helpful and the cherry on top was Anna the rescued young black labrador who was irrepressibly friendly! can't recommend this hotel more if you are in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcheong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Gorgeous place; every room/cottage is different, service is friendly but not intrusive. Great breakfast, lots of homemade items. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had an enormous room that was a wonderful space, quite comfortable bed and a little sitting area with reading chairs and small sofa and another area with a table and chairs… so we had lots of room to spread out! We opened the floor to ceiling shutters every morning to let in the sun. We threw out our touring plans when Arthur gave us more “local” advice on wineries to tour and he was right on the money with his recommendations. Parking at the Akademie Guesthouse was easy and convenient. During our delicious breakfasts every morning in the cozy library we had interesting conversations with Hazel about South Africa (since we’re from the States). She is a wonderful representative for South Africa and we often think of her perspective when SA is in the news. We walked “downtown” to dinner every night with superb recommendations from Arthur. He also helped us with our reservation at LeQuartier Francais where we celebrated a birthday and our 30th anniversary. Just a note, we are just now writing our review for our August 2010 stay because we had some family issues when we returned last fall, but we didn’t want to miss an opportunity to give a “Hip Hip Hooray” to Akademie Guesthouse!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews