We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
1,249
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,249
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithought of everythingthe main housefruit platterguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barsouth africalittle extrashis team
Filter
Updating list...
899 - 904 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had an enormous room that was a wonderful space, quite comfortable bed and a little sitting area with reading chairs and small sofa and another area with a table and chairs… so we had lots of room to spread out! We opened the floor to ceiling shutters every morning to let in the sun. We threw out our touring plans when Arthur gave us more “local” advice on wineries to tour and he was right on the money with his recommendations. Parking at the Akademie Guesthouse was easy and convenient. During our delicious breakfasts every morning in the cozy library we had interesting conversations with Hazel about South Africa (since we’re from the States). She is a wonderful representative for South Africa and we often think of her perspective when SA is in the news. We walked “downtown” to dinner every night with superb recommendations from Arthur. He also helped us with our reservation at LeQuartier Francais where we celebrated a birthday and our 30th anniversary. Just a note, we are just now writing our review for our August 2010 stay because we had some family issues when we returned last fall, but we didn’t want to miss an opportunity to give a “Hip Hip Hooray” to Akademie Guesthouse!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Finding the gabled Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest Lodge tucked a few streets away from the hustle and bustle of the main road was like discovering a hidden gem - it was exactly what we were looking for.
Our accommodation was the two bedroomed cottage which suited us and our teenage daughter perfectly. We wanted to be together under one roof and this fragrant & comfortable, self contained cottage was a dream find.
The dictionary definition of "Bijou" is given as "something smart and delicately worked (as in jewellery); elegant and tasteful" - and for us, this describes the whole Akademie Street experience.
Hosts Katherine and Arthur (a divine couple!) are owners and custodians of this rare gem. Their hospitality exudes a worldly elegance yet engages with South African warmth and gracious charm.
Breakfast is extraordinary, the service special, the environment tranquil and the whole experience not to be missed!
We can't wait to go back...
The Millers, Llandudno Cape Town

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llandudno42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were treated like honoured guests, but also like part of the Family. Akademie Street Guesthouse is beautifully situated. Gardens are lush and everywhere you go you hear water running. One had a feeling of calm and seclusion, yet we were 5 minutes away from the Tourist Center of Franschhoek. I would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Akademie. The owenrs and staff could not have been kinder and friendlier and the accommodation was first class. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I returned to this magnificent guesthouse with many members of my family - and yet again had an amazing time. The rooms were so clean and beautiful with every amenity you could possibly need. The breakfast was superb and delicious - the best breakfast I have ever had at any guesthouse. Every time I go to the wine lands, I will always stay there. Very quiet yet centrally located - a real treat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaeppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews