We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best boutique hotel ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Lutz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best boutique hotel ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Akademie Boutique Hotel,was wonderful and would go back again. We traveled thru South Africa for two weeks and this was by far in all our travels was fabulous. They offered wifi, wonderful breakfasts, laundry service and refreshments in your rooms.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cathybarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
838
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

An oasis of calm... We have just returned from a weekend, and have already booked 'same time, same place' next year. This will be our third return trip, and we love the beds, the linen, the staff, the breakfasts, location and the ultimate privacy that is offered. A beautiful home from home.
Faultless. Kathryn and David Torres

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbtorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

What a find! My husband and I have been lucky to have travelled the world so how lovely to be surprised by the charming Akademie St Hotel. We were welcomed by the owners Arthur and Gorgeous Catherine who have carefully created a very special and unique oasis. Most rooms are located in individual houses with their own secluded garden and plunge pool. they have thought of everything you could possibly require from nibbles to scented candles, champagne to an excellent choice of DVD's and specially compiled CD's. All the staff are charming and the breakfast is quite simply superb. Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

What a special place!
Everything was perfect and beyond all expectations: Oortuiging is very charming, spotlessy clean and extremely comfortable (entrance/living room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette + dining room).
We were a bit worried because Oortuiging faces the street and we feared it would be noisy, but the only noise we heard were the squirrels walking on the roof :-)
Every detail has been carefully thought of: cell phone for guests with all useful numbers, well-stocked fridge, fresh fruit, CDs, DVDs, bathrobes and all possible amenities. Service is just perfect (we even had a shirt washed and ironed in less that 2 hours!), Hazel has an answer to anything you might ask and is extremely wiling to help. And breakfast is served in the main house in individual rooms - really a special way of making you feel pampered!
But the most special thing about this place is its character.
It's like being the guest of honour in a wonderful house which the hosts are proud to show and to share.

Room Tip: We stayed in Oortuiging and warmly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citygirl110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

What a perfect inn in Franschhoek! Arthur and Katherine are wonderful hosts, and the rooms offer plenty of privacy and every possible amenity you could want during your stay. The inn is well situated - just close enough, without being too close, to all the shops and restaurants so that everything is within easy walking distance. We loved our bright and airy room (Uitsig), and the breakfasts were fabulous. Can't wait to make a return visit!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sidsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

No question the staff are very attentive and friendly. The room we had was certainly large, well appointed and scrupulously clean although outside space was limited to a very small balcony. Breakfast was in the small courtyard and was comprehensive and delicious. The place is within easy walking distance of Franschoek's many restaurants. But this is definitely a B&B rather than a hotel and as such not cheap. If that's what you're looking for however, you won't find better in this town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
What’s in a name?

We are sorry we confused this reviewer. As we have guests from all over the world categorising a place such as ours can be tricky.

A “boutique hotel” can be as small as two or three rooms or as big as 200 rooms.

In South Africa a guest house is usually thought of as being up market compared to a B&B. In the U.S.A. and in England a guest house is considered rather more down market from a B&B.

The Portfolio Collection will not allow us into their B&B book because we are too up-market and instead put us in their “Retreats” Collection (another name?) along with many five star hotels.

Trip Advisor ranks us as a hotel as we have a 24/7 front desk and all our bed-rooms are en-suite. The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ranks us as a five star guest house because we normally only offer breakfasts.

We do offer all the other services of a good hotel such as newspapers in the morning, 24 hour concierge service, guest laundry, Wi-Fi throughout all our property, free mini bar and pre-programmed telephones in all rooms, Satellite TV in all rooms, a library and reception rooms and four swimming pools. On the other hand we try to create the personal service and friendliness of a good guest house.

It is precisely because of what different names mean to different people that we call ourselves Boutique Hotel and Guest House. Most important of all we try to make it very clear on our web-site what it is we offer so that there can be no confusion. A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

Perhaps this reviewer booked through some O.T.A. and did not get to see our web-site before booking. What ever the case we sincerely regret the misunderstanding. We will try and add a page to our website, somewhat like this reply, in order to further help clarify to prospective guests what our name actually does stand for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I was not disappointed with this pick. It looked good on website though I think the pics do NOT do this place justice. Really beautiful rooms - feels luxurious with ample space and everything that you need. Breakfasts were fantastic! Not to be missed. Would definately visit again and highly recommend. Really helpful too as they helped us book our wine tour in advance and provided helpful information for restaurants (eg Tasting Room) - all of which we did - and it was great! Only stayed for a couple of days in this location but really could have happilly stayed for longer. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in Twyfeling A - recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing