We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay anywhere but Akademie Guest Houses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere but Akademie Guest Houses”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

This was a simply perfect place to stay in Franschoek -right off the main Road. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else. We nearly did but we are glad this attractive, comfortable place came highly recommended.

Arthur and Katherine extended themselves far beyond the call of duty. They made our stay interesting, fun and relaxing. They are also foodies! My husband and Arthur enjoyed sharing wine knowledge too. Great knowledge of Franshchoek dining.

The accommodation was thoughtfully set out. Nothing had been forgotten - right down to the range of appliance adaptors from nearly every country. That was so typical of their incredible hospitality.

We highly recommend Akademie – Gelatnhied was our choice but based on other Trip Advisor's raves here, I bet each guest house equally has it charms, with quiet and lots of comforts.

We would hurry back in a heartbeat. We suggest you do too.

  • Liked — wonderful beds and great bathroom. Breakfast excellent. Hosts charming.
  • Disliked — What's not to like?
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank decorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
854
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

There's something magical about sitting on a very comfy, leather sofa on your own little verandah in your private garden sipping chilled champagne and watching a brilliant yellow weaver bird make his amazing nest right in front of your eyes!. And all courtesy of the wonderful Akademie Street Guesthouses!

Everything everyone esle has said abouyt this lovely plavce is true. Wonderful, knowledgeable hosts, an incredibly comfortable and well equipped room, imaginative and freshly cooked breakfast - and all in the very attractive little town of Franschhoek. The Guesthouse is only about 5 minutes walk into town which makes it very easy to eat out at one of the huge choice of impressive - and very good value - restaurants.

We stayed two days - but would have loved to stay longer.

  • Liked — Having our own private hideaway
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We stayed in this guesthouse in mid September, for two nights. Simply put, it's the best guesthouse experience in South Africa, and I did stay in beautiful places.

We had reserved one night in UITSIG and one in GELATENHEID. I had asked for GELATENHEID for the two nights but by the time I sent my credit card info (right at the reception of the email in the morning) it wasn't available anymore. So beware, the place fills quickly.

I shouldn't have worried. UITSIG, their latest newcomer, is an amazing place. More modern than any of the other. Great views of the mountain from the balcony, great bathroom. I actually think it's the prettiest of the bunch, except that it doesn't have a pool and a personal yard. But it's a great value and the only affordable cottage in high season for my budget.

GELATENHEID is an incredible place too. I wasn't too crazy about the furnishing, and I think it could use some refreshing, but it is nevertheless an amazing pavilion. If the weather is nice and you can swim (we did) it's an oasis. If traveling through a rainy season I would go with UITSIG. Sorry for the CAPS, I can only copy and paste these unpronounceable names :)

The grounds and the property itself are a heaven. It's a pleasure just to be there, as in the rest of Franschoek. Very nice little town. Great restaurants and wineries.

Katherine is also one of the reasons the place feel so special. She offers a very warm welcome and nothing is too much for her guests. Every pavilion offers a selection of complementary champagne, wine, chocolate, sodas and little things to eat in and next to the fridge. Very nice touch.

So word of advice: go for Akademie street. It definitely deserves its title of best small guesthouse in South Africa 2 years in a row (06 and 07 I think). Actually the owbers are so confident about the value of their property that they offer little cards on how one could write a review on tripadvisor,

Aside from their taste in furnishing and decoration in GELATENHEID that wasn't really my cup of tee (but that has its charm in the context of their cottages), the only real drawback is that the price is doubled in the high season. And it doubles literally, not a figure of speech. But then again, it must be booked solid even then, as their welcome sheet advises travelers to come in the low season when it's half price.

Definitely it is a great experience. You'd be better off with at least two full days (3 nights) to enjoy the area and unwind.

  • Liked — Attention to details, grounds, welcome, value in low season
  • Disliked — Expensive if high season, furnishing in older cottages
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

The place is perfectly taken care by the couple of owners who are very kind. I felt really well, wanting to spend more time at my house/room than on the streets.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fdarcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My daughter (aged 17) and I loved our stay at the Akademie Street Guesthouses. Not only was it a haven of peace and tranquility, but every need was catered to from the moment we arrived, including an umbrella appearing outside our door when it started raining! The room had everything one could possibly need including some thoughtful extras such as a cellphone to contact the main house, fresh milk in the fridge which was stocked with an amazing range of complementary drinks and snacks, a DVD and CD player with a list of discs available to borrow, a vase of flowers and other small things too numerous to mention. The breakfast was sensational and the owners are incredibly attentive and friendly.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank CapeGoddards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hosts at Akademie Street, Aruther and Katherine are lovely people. Their attention to detail in the cottage accomodation and gardens ensured that every need was catered for which made us feel really comfortale and at ease, especially as it was so spottless and peaceful. We particularly enjoyed watching the birdlife whilst sitting in the delightful gardens . The South African 3 course breakfast was truly wonderful. Franscchoek itself has so much interesting history along with many quality restaurants and vineyards that unfortunately our few days there was not enough time to see everything. We hope to see you again soon. C & M Hughes, Hampshire, England. UK.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet and warm
  • Disliked — When we had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fred033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

It was the last week of our 23 day 40th wedding anniversary trip, and we had already stayed at some beautiful places in South Africa. But for the days around the anniversary itself Akademie Guesthouse was a truly magical find.
Quite simply it can not be improved upon. The accommodation is stylish, an eclectic mix of elegant traditional with ultra modern bathroom fittings and every service you could wish for.
Arthur and Katherine are delightful hosts. Helpful in every way, friendly and kind. Giving advice on the best restaurants, wine tastings and places to visit, their local knowledge is inexhaustable.
If you are going anywhere near Franschhoek - stay here. You'll love it. We wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Liked — Stylish and elegant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beefykeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing